winmodem

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
nick
Level 5
Level 5

Post by nick »

Hi

What is the make of your modem?

Any serial port modem (except Hayes) will work fine, they are very cheap now.

Nick
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Robfuscate
Level 1
Level 1

Re: winmodem

Post by Robfuscate »

Well, I'm a definite newbie, but this was my first test and I achieved it.

So here's what I did.

First off go here - http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/#scanModem and down load scanModem on another computer (and yes I know what a pain that is!).

Then move it to your home folder on your Mint Linux machine with a USB stick, or whatever.
Right click on the file and select 'Open with Archive Manager'
Then select 'Extract'

Once you have extracted the file then right click on it to 'Open' and select 'Run in Terminal'.

This will analyse your Win Modem and put a new folder called 'Modem' whereever you ran it.
Inside that is a file called 'ModemData.txt'. In my case, this told me precisely which driver to download and install. Hopefully it will do the same for you - but if not, there are instructions in that folder about what to do next.

Finally, to all those gurus who think this should be done completely in the Terminal - coming straight from a Windows environment I took the easy root first.