Magic Jack-Linux Mint 10 Julia

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Magic Jack-Linux Mint 10 Julia

Postby killerwolf on Sat Apr 30, 2011 6:15 pm

So, the OS recognizes there is a phone plugged in, I get a dial tone, and everything seems to work until I try to dial out. After that, I get nothing on the line. I can't seem to figure out what I need to do, and I'm a serious Newb (to computers, internet, Linux, Magic Jack, you name it). I don't want Windows anywhere near my PC, as when I tried to install it, it wanted to wipe my PC's hard drive and with it, Linux Mint 10 Julia (which, while more complicated than Windows 7, is far superior and I am kinda growing attached to it). How can I make Magic Jack work in Linux? I will need replys to be stated in Layman's terms. Also, if it makes any difference, I'm running on a Toshiba Satellite L-505, 3 GB RAM, expandable to 8 GB (supposedly), and a 320 GB Hard Drive.

Thanks

WFD
killerwolf
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Magic Jack-Linux Mint 10 Julia

Postby killerwolf on Sat Apr 30, 2011 6:55 pm

I also have no clue how to use virtual software. It is confusing the hell out of me.
killerwolf
Level 1
Level 1

Postby killerwolf on Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:19 pm

Okay...how about if I want to run windows XP virtually, rather than installing windows 7 on my Hard Drive? How would I install a copy of Windows XP on a computer meant for Vista but is running Linux Mint 10 Julia? I have 3 virtual software programs (Wine, VMware, and Virtualbox), and I don't know how to use any of them...any suggestions there?
killerwolf
Level 1
Level 1