screen resolution changed

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

screen resolution changed

Postby jerrybee on Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:46 am

My screen resolution changed by itself and I can't get it to change back using the Control Center. Which file can I edit to force it to what I want?
jerrybee
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:50 am
Location: GA USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: screen resolution changed

Postby linuxviolin on Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:47 am

/etc/X11/xorg.conf

Sections "Monitor" (put your screen settings in the lines 'HorizSync' and 'VertRefresh') and "Screen" (for the resolutions)

P.S.= Make a backup before...
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Re: screen resolution changed

Postby jerrybee on Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:32 pm

And tonight, magically, the process of changing screen resolution using the Control Center works. And the lines in the Monitor section of /etc/X11/xorg.conf that had previously been suggested still aren't there.
jerrybee
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:50 am
Location: GA USA

Re: screen resolution changed

Postby linuxviolin on Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:08 am

jerrybee wrote:And the lines in the Monitor section of /etc/X11/xorg.conf that had previously been suggested still aren't there.


? This section should be informed with various resolutions, e.g 1024x768 or 1600x1200 or........

In the section "Screen" you must fill the lines 'HorizSync' and 'VertRefresh' with the specifications on your screen.

Maybe you can post your xorg.conf...

P.S.= you must use 'sudo' to edit xorg.conf
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Re: screen resolution changed

Postby jerrybee on Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:54 pm

Code: Select all
   # xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Generic Keyboard"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "CoreKeyboard"
   Option      "XkbRules"   "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel"   "pc105"
   Option      "XkbLayout"   "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Configured Mouse"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option      "CorePointer"
   Option      "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
   Option      "Protocol"      "ImPS/2"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping"      "4 5"
   Option      "Emulate3Buttons"   "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Driver      "wacom"
   Identifier   "stylus"
   Option      "Device"   "/dev/input/wacom"
   Option      "Type"      "stylus"
   Option      "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"      # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Driver      "wacom"
   Identifier   "eraser"
   Option      "Device"   "/dev/input/wacom"
   Option      "Type"      "eraser"
   Option      "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"      # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Driver      "wacom"
   Identifier   "cursor"
   Option      "Device"   "/dev/input/wacom"
   Option      "Type"      "cursor"
   Option      "ForceDevice"   "ISDV4"      # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier   "VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 [S3 UniChrome] Integrated Video"
   Driver      "via"
   BusID      "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Q19wb"
   Option      "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Device      "VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 [S3 UniChrome] Integrated Video"
   Monitor      "Q19wb"
   DefaultDepth   24
   SubSection "Display"
      Modes      "1440x1440" "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier   "Default Layout"
   Screen      "Default Screen"
   InputDevice   "Generic Keyboard"
   InputDevice   "Configured Mouse"

# Uncomment if you have a wacom tablet
#   InputDevice     "stylus"   "SendCoreEvents"
#   InputDevice     "cursor"   "SendCoreEvents"
#   InputDevice     "eraser"   "SendCoreEvents"
EndSection 




Well, there's my xorg.conf file, in its entirety, as I find it today. I haven't edited it, so I assume it's in its "as installed" layout. I still don't see any lines about monitor settings and no list of various Depths with the screen resolutions available with each -- I do see all that info in the xorg.conf file in my Debian installation. So, I guess that means that my hardware is being "seen" in one Linux distro and not in another.

I posted somewhere that my desired screen resolution was finally able to be set up in the Control Center -- for several boots, it wouldn't work, and finally it did work. I hope someone can help me sort this out -- intermittent gremlins tend to chip away at what little is left of my sanity.
jerrybee
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:50 am
Location: GA USA

Re: screen resolution changed

Postby jerrybee on Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:41 pm

And now tonight, the screen resolution has once again changed to the 1280x1024 (?) by itself and cannot be changed back to 1024x768 via the Control Center.
jerrybee
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:50 am
Location: GA USA

Re: screen resolution changed

Postby linuxviolin on Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:43 am

I guess that "1440x900" is the maximum resolution for the Viewsonic Q19wb monitor.

I am surprised that you did not lines: 'HorizSync' and 'VertRefresh' in the "Monitor" section. Maybe try to add them with the specifications of you screen: 'VertRefresh' 56~75 Hz- 'HorizSync' 30~82 KHz like this:

Code: Select all
Section "Monitor"
   Identifier "Generic Monitor"
   HorizSync 30~82
   VertRefresh 56~75 
   Option "DPMS"
EndSection

For the "Screen" section try to make it appear as
Code: Select all
SubSection "Display"
      Depth 24
      Modes "1440x1440" "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Also your section "Files" is empty and you have not a "Module" section :roll:

Here is my xorg.conf (but for Cassandra, I don't use Daryna yet):

Code: Select all
Section "Files"

   FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
   FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
   FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
   FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
   FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
   FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
   FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
        # path to defoma fonts
   FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load "i2c"
   Load "bitmap"
   Load "ddc"
        Load "dri"
   Load "extmod"
   Load "freetype"
   Load "glx"
   Load "int10"
   Load "vbe"
 EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
   Driver "kbd"
   Option "CoreKeyboard"
   Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
   Option "XkbLayout" "fr"
 EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "Configured Mouse"
   Driver "mouse"
   Option "CorePointer"
   Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
   Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
   Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
 EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "stylus"
   Driver "wacom"
   Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
   Option "Type" "stylus"
   Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
 EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "eraser"
   Driver "wacom"
   Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
   Option "Type" "eraser"
   Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
 EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "cursor"
   Driver "wacom"
   Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
   Option "Type" "cursor"
   Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
 EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier "nVidia Corporation GeForce 7300 SE"
   Driver     "nv"
        BusID      "PCI:1:0:0"
 EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier "Generic Monitor"
   HorizSync 30 - 140
   VertRefresh 50 - 180
   Option "DPMS"
 EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Default Screen"
   Device "nVidia Corporation GeForce 7300 SE"
   Monitor "Generic Monitor"
   DefaultDepth 24
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth 1
      Modes "1600x1280" "1600x1200" "1480x1024" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth 4
      Modes "1600x1280" "1600x1200" "1480x1024" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth 8
      Modes "1600x1280" "1600x1200" "1480x1024" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth 15
      Modes "1600x1280" "1600x1200" "1480x1024" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth 16
      Modes "1600x1280" "1600x1200" "1480x1024" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Depth 24
      Modes "1600x1280" "1600x1200" "1480x1024" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
   EndSubSection
 EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier "Default Layout"
   Screen "Default Screen"
   InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
   InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
   InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
   InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
   InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
 EndSection

Section "DRI"
   Mode   0666
 EndSection

jerrybee wrote:I still don't see any lines about monitor settings and no list of various Depths with the screen resolutions available with each -- I do see all that info in the xorg.conf file in my Debian installation. So, I guess that means that my hardware is being "seen" in one Linux distro and not in another.

You have also Debian on this computer? And your resolution in Debian works properly? Then you can try to copy 'these missing lines' from Debian xorg.conf to Mint xorg.conf (Mint is based on Ubuntu and Ubuntu on Debian so... :D )

You can also just try to type the command
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
in a console to try automatically update this file.

jerrybee wrote:intermittent gremlins tend to chip away at what little is left of my sanity.

Gremlins? Fight! :lol:
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], telmo and 15 guests