[SOLVED] How to open Rdesktop?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[SOLVED] How to open Rdesktop?

Postby spoonman on Thu May 26, 2011 6:56 pm

Hi, I'm newbie :) so I don't even know how to open this program (Rdesktop)?
Mint 11 have it by default in if I search in package manager I can see that it's installed.
But if I go to Menu--> Search (I can't find or open them) even Alt+F2 is useless :oops:
Last edited by spoonman on Thu May 26, 2011 8:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
spoonman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:52 am
Location: Slovenia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to open Rdesktop?

Postby wyrdoak on Thu May 26, 2011 7:25 pm

It might be a command line program. Try opening your terminal and type sudo rdesktop
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: How to open Rdesktop?

Postby SimonTS on Thu May 26, 2011 7:30 pm

Try typing 'rdesktop' at the command line and look at the options, or go to the website - http://www.rdesktop.org/
User avatar
SimonTS
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom

Re: How to open Rdesktop?

Postby Habitual on Thu May 26, 2011 7:52 pm

wyrdoak wrote:It might be a command line program. Try opening your terminal and type sudo rdesktop


sudo is not necessary.
Code: Select all
rdesktop $remotehost -u $userID -p $password -r clipboard:PRIMARYCLIPBOARD -g 80% &


$remotehost can be hostname (if it resolves) but I mostly use IPs myself
$userID is the LoginID on the target system
$password is your Windows password on target system.
-r is remote clipboard enabled (trust me, you want it)
-g is 80% of your computer's display
& forks it in the background (I use shell a LOT)
or you can use
Alt+F2 and run
Code: Select all
rdesktop $remotehost -u $userID -p $password -r clipboard:PRIMARYCLIPBOARD -g 80%
What's a landing but a take off in reverse?
User avatar
Habitual
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2274
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: LM17Q-Xfce

Re: How to open Rdesktop?

Postby spoonman on Thu May 26, 2011 8:18 pm

You don't know how much you help me - now works fine :D
Thank you :)
spoonman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:52 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: [SOLVED] How to open Rdesktop?

Postby Habitual on Thu May 26, 2011 9:58 pm

Finally. all my ramblings actually made sense to someone else! :)

Glad it worked out.
What's a landing but a take off in reverse?
User avatar
Habitual
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2274
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: LM17Q-Xfce


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adf2000, Google [Bot], lewtwo, Tenandra, WharfRat and 29 guests