[SOLVED] How to open Rdesktop?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] How to open Rdesktop?

Postby spoonman on Thu May 26, 2011 6:56 pm

Hi, I'm newbie :) so I don't even know how to open this program (Rdesktop)?
Mint 11 have it by default in if I search in package manager I can see that it's installed.
But if I go to Menu--> Search (I can't find or open them) even Alt+F2 is useless :oops:
Last edited by spoonman on Thu May 26, 2011 8:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
spoonman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:52 am
Location: Slovenia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to open Rdesktop?

Postby wyrdoak on Thu May 26, 2011 7:25 pm

It might be a command line program. Try opening your terminal and type sudo rdesktop
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: How to open Rdesktop?

Postby SimonTS on Thu May 26, 2011 7:30 pm

Try typing 'rdesktop' at the command line and look at the options, or go to the website - http://www.rdesktop.org/
User avatar
SimonTS
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom

Re: How to open Rdesktop?

Postby Habitual on Thu May 26, 2011 7:52 pm

wyrdoak wrote:It might be a command line program. Try opening your terminal and type sudo rdesktop


sudo is not necessary.
Code: Select all
rdesktop $remotehost -u $userID -p $password -r clipboard:PRIMARYCLIPBOARD -g 80% &


$remotehost can be hostname (if it resolves) but I mostly use IPs myself
$userID is the LoginID on the target system
$password is your Windows password on target system.
-r is remote clipboard enabled (trust me, you want it)
-g is 80% of your computer's display
& forks it in the background (I use shell a LOT)
or you can use
Alt+F2 and run
Code: Select all
rdesktop $remotehost -u $userID -p $password -r clipboard:PRIMARYCLIPBOARD -g 80%
What's a landing but a take off in reverse?
My DorkBlog
User avatar
Habitual
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Slackware

Re: How to open Rdesktop?

Postby spoonman on Thu May 26, 2011 8:18 pm

You don't know how much you help me - now works fine :D
Thank you :)
spoonman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 10:52 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: [SOLVED] How to open Rdesktop?

Postby Habitual on Thu May 26, 2011 9:58 pm

Finally. all my ramblings actually made sense to someone else! :)

Glad it worked out.
What's a landing but a take off in reverse?
My DorkBlog
User avatar
Habitual
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Slackware


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], coolmanoh, Google [Bot], jack0987, Mute Ant, niowluka, Wirezfree and 48 guests