Hard disk

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Hard disk

Postby kenwood1995 on Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:44 pm

I have Daryna installed and was using the Gnome desktop and could see my other hard disk (hda1) ,which has XP on it, and it was on my desktop and I could navigate to it. I had a problem with one of my Ham Radio programs, Xastir, and when I asked for help on that forum I was told it looked as though my window manager was causing the problem. I didn't know how to change window managers so I switched to KDE desktop and my Ham Radio software is ok but I no longer see or can not access my other drive, (hda1). My question is how do i get it back, or else how do I switch window managers if I go back to Gnome desktop.
kenwood1995
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:33 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Hard disk

Postby 67GTA on Tue Dec 04, 2007 4:14 am

How did you switch window managers? If you installed KDE from the repos, then uninstall it the same way. When you log in there should be a "sessions" button. Click on it and choose Gnome.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Hard disk

Postby kenwood1995 on Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:17 am

I can get to Gnome at the login as you say, but my question is, how do I change to a different window manager under Gnome?
kenwood1995
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Hard disk

Postby kenwood1995 on Tue Dec 04, 2007 4:39 pm

Let me try it this way.
I have 2 hard drives, one has Linux Mint 4.0 and the other has XP.
In linux I use KDE desktop and I can't see or find my other hard disk.
How?
kenwood1995
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Hard disk

Postby 67GTA on Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:51 pm

I'm confused. Are you talking about viewing mounted hard drives while using KDE?
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Hard disk

Postby kenwood1995 on Tue Dec 04, 2007 9:21 pm

Yes, that's it exactly.
kenwood1995
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Hard disk

Postby 67GTA on Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:16 pm

Is the hard drive listed in /etc/fstab? If so, it should be mounted at boot, and should show up in Storage Media in the menu. You can show mounted drives on the desktop by selecting the options in Kcontrol (control center). Look under DESKTOP>BEHAVIOR> and then under the device tab.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Hard disk

Postby kenwood1995 on Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:18 pm

Not a Linux guru here, having too many problems with different software programs
so have gone back to Celena 3.1 where everything works.
kenwood1995
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:33 am

Re: Hard disk

Postby BakUp on Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:05 am

kenwood1995 wrote:Not a Linux guru here, having too many problems with different software programs so have gone back to Celena 3.1 where everything works.


There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, Celena 3.1 is a great release. Maybe the next release will be more compatible with your hardware/software, and in the mean time, you can enjoy Celena.
My Linux Distros:
sidux - Parsix - DreamLinux - Mint
User avatar
BakUp
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: Hard disk

Postby andyvr4 on Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:27 am

kenwood1995 wrote:Not a Linux guru here, having too many problems with different software programs
so have gone back to Celena 3.1 where everything works.

I've been debating doing that as well. I don't know if anybody else is experiencing problems with Daryna running extremely slow are not, but ever since I did the fresh install of it all of my software seems to be running much slower.
andyvr4
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:00 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], hurtsi and 22 guests