Getting hibernate to work

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Getting hibernate to work

Postby enchance on Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:41 pm

I can't seem to get hibernate to work. My screen turns black but the light on my laptop says it's still running. Did I miss something here?
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image
User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby Husse on Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:12 pm

Will it boot from that state?
I think thats the most important part...
Check if the disk is running. I know some computers does not turn off the light when going to hibernate
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby antiquexray on Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:25 pm

I too have had problems with the hibernate/sleep mode. I get an error message that tell me it's not working properly (duh) and to check the Help File.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby enchance on Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:16 am

Husse wrote:Will it boot from that state?
I think thats the most important part...
Check if the disk is running. I know some computers does not turn off the light when going to hibernate

Okay, when I hibernate the screen then proceeds to go blank but it doesn't shutdown since my screen is still a bit lighter than it should be than when it's off. Also, the light on my notebook is still on. Once, I'm in this state, when I press the power button, nothing happens so I have to do a forced shutdown to get my system back up.

Why doesn't it work? Back when I was still using xp, it hibernated ok.
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image
User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby carlos on Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:47 am

I also have the same issue I have a dell d800. It seems that gutsy is using a different method for hibernating and it seems alot of people are having issues. Do a search on the ubuntu forums. I'm hoping when I have a bit more time to see if here is a solution.
____________ ________ ______ ____ ___ __ __ _
http://www.designdrifter.com
The Purpose of Life is for DNA to reproduce.
User avatar
carlos
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby constantine768 on Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:31 pm

You might need to check if the drivers for the display card are installed correctly since I am also not able to put my lappy to hibernate.
constantine768
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:37 am

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby antiquexray on Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:39 pm

constantine768 wrote:You might need to check if the drivers for the display card are installed correctly since I am also not able to put my lappy to hibernate.

This has never been a problem with previous releases. Also, please tell the noob here how to check the drives.
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby Husse on Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:40 am

Also, please tell the noob here how to check the drives.

Drivers my friend not drives :)
This makes me wonder - do you have ATI or nvidia
I have a feeling the answer will be ATI
If so try to install the very latest driver 7.11 I'm not quite sure if Envy has it yet but I think so
Not all ATI cards (but most) will use this.
And yes - something seems to have happened.....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby antiquexray on Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:04 am

Husse wrote:
Also, please tell the noob here how to check the drives.

Drivers my friend not drives :)
This makes me wonder - do you have ATI or nvidia
I have a feeling the answer will be ATI
If so try to install the very latest driver 7.11 I'm not quite sure if Envy has it yet but I think so
Not all ATI cards (but most) will use this.
And yes - something seems to have happened.....

Yes drivers not drives (I so embarrassed)...but the noobie question just keep on keeping on. I too think it's ATI, but how do I check for sure. I used the Control Center to check my hardware, but I don't see anything:(

ps thanks for you help.

***edit***

BTW, I ran Envy for grins and it indeed says some dependencies are missing. However, the above question is still valid, ATI or nvidia...I don't know. After all, I don't want to screw this up or break something. I do that too much as it is:(
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby enchance on Sun Dec 09, 2007 3:15 am

Mine isn't working. I'm using ATI. Is there a fix for this?
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image
User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby newW2 on Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:07 am

I think Husse may have posted about this one already:
http://www.linux.com/feature/114220
Improved ways to suspend and hibernate a laptop under Linux

5th paragraph:
"The good news is that uswsusp is now stable, well integrated with kernel versions 2.6.17 onwards, and supported by most major Linux distributions. Debian (Etch and Sid) and Ubuntu (Edgy Eft and Feisty Fawn) users can install the uswusp package, enter their swap space partition when asked by the package manager, and then run s2disk to hibernate their laptop, as long as they run the stock kernel provided by their distribution."

Yes it is in synaptic. .
User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby cool_arrow on Tue Jan 29, 2008 4:24 pm

Thought I'd post this here in the event someone might find it helpful. I wanted to try LinuxMint 4.0 (gnome i386) on my dell vostro laptop w/ integrated ATI graphics. Did the install and using the "restricted drivers" utility I installed the proprietary drivers for my wireless chipset (Broadcom) and my ATI graphics card. All went well but the machine would not suspend or hibernate correctly. Did some reading on the forums and tried various workarounds to no avail. I then uninstalled the proprietary drivers and installed the open-source drivers. Still no hibernate or suspend. Decided to try a couple of other distros and they were the about the same or worse. Decided to go back to linux mint 4.0 and just live with not having suspend or hibernate. After this second install (note: I did not install the proprietary ATI graphics driver this time) I tried suspend and hibernate and both worked flawlessly. My guess is there are some changes made when installing the proprietary driver that are not returned to their original state even if the driver is uninstalled.
cool_arrow
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:36 am

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby Husse on Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:37 pm

Thanks for the input
You may be right
If you use Synaptic there's an alternative to completely remove (apt-get --purge remove)
This removes config files as well. Maybe some left over config file was used....
This is motsly an educated guess
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Getting hibernate to work

Postby enchance on Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:14 am

Husse wrote:Thanks for the input
You may be right
If you use Synaptic there's an alternative to completely remove (apt-get --purge remove)
This removes config files as well. Maybe some left over config file was used....
This is motsly an educated guess

So, to summarize: Don't install uswsusp in Synaptic (or usw, susp for that matter). Am I right?
It's not that hard to train a pengiun to do stunts. Just say, sudo roll-over or sudo play-dead.
Caffeine-induced designs by http://www.johnimbong.com


Image
User avatar
enchance
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:36 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot], Bing [Bot], CtrlAltDel, Google [Bot], niowluka and 30 guests