[SOLVED] Can you move a HDD from one machine to another...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[SOLVED] Can you move a HDD from one machine to another...

Postby chowanec on Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:17 pm

Ok... My other thread must have scared folk away (viewtopic.php?f=90&t=7838)

That said, here's my new idea -- and it may be flawed... so...

Can I install Mint on one PC (different motherboard, video card, processor) and then move that hard drive to a different PC? Will the install hold up? I'm assuming not, but you guys (and gals) all know a truckload more about linux than I do. I'm assuming it is like XP in the sense that it is establishing a hardware set that, if messed with, will cause weird things?

-Chow
Last edited by chowanec on Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
chowanec
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can you move a HDD from one machine to another...

Postby The Darkone on Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:29 pm

Yes, definitely yes.

Don't forget set your videocard into vesa-mode. But it is possible.
I've made this at my school the performance ist not 100%, but it is ok.

Only the HDD was orginal. Under Debian 3 unstable with Xfce 4.4
User avatar
The Darkone
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:16 am
Location: Germany

Re: Can you move a HDD from one machine to another...

Postby Acid7711 on Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:04 pm

It's kinda a mixed answer, yes in something like XP it can be done, but how many old driver's are still hanging around?

On a default install of something such as Mint, you'll have no problems, but if you get into more advanced things such as kernel compilation/optimization, setting modules by hand, etc, putting that into another random machine might not yield the results you're looking for. If it's a base install of Mint, you'll have no problems most likely.
User avatar
Acid7711
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:06 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Can you move a HDD from one machine to another...

Postby chowanec on Fri Dec 21, 2007 2:16 am

So...

No dice. I gave this a shot tonight -- installed from my desktop PC, using my mini-ITX's HDD as the system drive. Then I plugged THAT drive into the mini-ITX and it fails to find /dev/sda1 and drops me into busybox. From there, I have no idea what to do...

Is it possible on the install machine it is seen as SDA1 and on the mini-ITX it would be seen as something else?

Any help at all and I will preach to others how wonderful this forum is. :) Please help. I really don't want to use a different Distro... :(
chowanec
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:59 am

Re: Can you move a HDD from one machine to another...

Postby Acid7711 on Fri Dec 21, 2007 2:34 am

Ahh yeah, I forgot about that all together. The harddrive controler might register under a different /dev location, so...grub might be off as well as the fstab entries.

Best bet would be booting from the live-cd and comparing your /dev locations. Not exactly the most fun, but not really that difficult. There are probably better ways of doing this, but it's late and I'm not thinking properly. :)
User avatar
Acid7711
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:06 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Can you move a HDD from one machine to another...

Postby chowanec on Fri Dec 21, 2007 2:41 am

Heh. Problem is, I can't boot the LIVE CD when I do the install from the Mini-ITX system. It won't start X for me to actually do the install. I was hoping to just get to a cli in Mint and I'd install OpenChrome. Ah well... I'm SO bummed... I want to run Mint, damnit.
chowanec
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:59 am

Re: Can you move a HDD from one machine to another...

Postby chowanec on Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:12 am

Finally got it all working via the OpenChrome drivers. If anyone does a search later and is having the same issues as me, here's the link to that one: http://linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=7838

Ah... happiness again.
chowanec
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:59 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 20 guests