Q about XFCE and Synaptic

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Q about XFCE and Synaptic

Postby Bloodcrow on Thu Jan 17, 2008 4:19 pm

Hi all,

As of yesterday, i installed Mint with XFCE on a beater notebook (Dell 600, P3/ 700mHz). So far so good but as people are known to do, i thought i'd add a diversion or two. The reason was twofold- to have a diversion (in this case, chess) and to become more familiar with Synaptic under XFCE.

I have another box that runs Ubuntu with Gnome so when i install something, Synaptic will put the program somewhere and make a shortcut to it so i simply go to the top of the screen, select whatever directory the program should be under, Apps, Games, Utilities, etc... and presto, the app is there.

So i found a version of Chess that i thought might work (via Synaptic). Downloaded it, installed it but cannot find it.

So the questions are:
1) What am i missing ? and
2) What's the best way to add/ modify the contextual menus that XFCE uses?

Thank you,
Bloodcrow
Bloodcrow
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 3:53 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Q about XFCE and Synaptic

Postby MagnusB on Thu Jan 17, 2008 7:36 pm

What is the name of the chess game?
Try in a terminal window:
Code: Select all
% sudo updatedb
% locate nameofchessgame

Then copy paste into the forum. You might need to add a launcher yourself...
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Q about XFCE and Synaptic

Postby billy8580 on Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:09 pm

I've used the new Darnya XFCE beta. I know that adding a launcher to a panel is trickier in XFCE than the simple drag method you can do in gnome. It involves getting the command in, proper icon etc. Adding it to the desktop is a snap though. Just right click. Maybe that was something that you found out already however. Also, to give you confidence in Mint XFCE on an older laptop....i have run Xubuntu on a 333 Celeron and it works just fine. Im sure Mint XFCE would be great as well.
billy8580
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:00 pm
Location: Rock Falls

Re: Q about XFCE and Synaptic

Postby MagnusB on Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:28 pm

billy8580 wrote:I've used the new Darnya XFCE beta. I know that adding a launcher to a panel is trickier in XFCE than the simple drag method you can do in gnome. It involves getting the command in, proper icon etc. Adding it to the desktop is a snap though. Just right click. Maybe that was something that you found out already however. Also, to give you confidence in Mint XFCE on an older laptop....i have run Xubuntu on a 333 Celeron and it works just fine. Im sure Mint XFCE would be great as well.

Finding the right command is effortless, us locate or whereis.
Let us say I have installed Xmoto (which I have), but it does not appear in the menu and I want to locate the command for it:
locate xmoto wrote:/usr/share/games/xmoto
/usr/share/games/xmoto/xmoto_icone_x.ico
/usr/share/games/xmoto/xmoto.bin
/usr/share/games/xmoto/Textures
/usr/share/games/xmoto/Textures/Musics
/usr/share/games/xmoto/Textures/Musics/legolodio.ogg
/usr/share/games/xmoto/Textures/Musics/ridealong.ogg
/usr/share/games/xmoto/Textures/Musics/menu.ogg
/usr/share/games/xmoto/Textures/Musics/batcave.ogg
/usr/share/games/xmoto/Textures/Fonts
/usr/share/games/xmoto/Textures/Fonts/DejaVuSans.ttf
/usr/share/games/locale/de_DE/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/ru_RU/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/pl_PL/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/cs_CZ/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/it_IT/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/lv_LV/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/nb_NO/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/nn_NO/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/fi_FI/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/fr_FR/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/sv_SE/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/no_NO/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/es_ES/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/pt_BR/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/sk_SK/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/games/locale/ca_ES/LC_MESSAGES/xmoto.mo
/usr/share/applications/xmoto.desktop
/usr/share/man/man6/xmoto.6.gz
/usr/share/menu/xmoto
/usr/share/doc/xmoto-data
/usr/share/doc/xmoto-data/changelog.Debian.gz
/usr/share/doc/xmoto-data/copyright
/usr/share/doc/xmoto-data/changelog.gz
/usr/share/doc/xmoto-data/NEWS.Debian.gz
/usr/share/doc/xmoto
/usr/share/doc/xmoto/changelog.Debian.gz
/usr/share/doc/xmoto/copyright
/usr/share/doc/xmoto/changelog.gz
/usr/share/doc/xmoto/README.gz
/usr/share/doc/xmoto/NEWS.Debian.gz
/usr/share/pixmaps/xmoto.xpm
/usr/games/xmoto
/var/lib/dpkg/info/xmoto.postrm
/var/lib/dpkg/info/xmoto.postinst
/var/lib/dpkg/info/xmoto.md5sums
/var/lib/dpkg/info/xmoto-data.list
/var/lib/dpkg/info/xmoto.list
/var/lib/dpkg/info/xmoto-data.md5sums

The bold line told me the executable, then I can check the command:
whereis xmoto wrote:xmoto: /usr/games/xmoto /usr/share/man/man6/xmoto.6.gz

That did not bring anything new to the picture, as locate had already found the command (xmoto), but anyway, I now know the exact command to launch xmoto and where that is placed. I could first try to launch by just typing xmoto, if that fails I would use the full adress (/usr/games/xmoto)
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Q about XFCE and Synaptic

Postby be80be on Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:32 am

you can try update-menus it works for most apps all you do is open a term and type sudo update-menus and it should add it
be80be
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:48 pm

Re: Q about XFCE and Synaptic

Postby Bloodcrow on Sun Jan 20, 2008 9:53 pm

Dear all,

I kind of answered my own question. This may or may not be of use to new users but here goes.

I followed the advice of update-menus which was fine. It found the Chess program (btw, apparently you have to find and download an engine to make the chess program go). Horray. The problem was it was tucked away in an odd part of the contextual tree- right click, auto generated menu, chess.

Not quite was i was looking for, but getting there.

Well, exploring around the xfce tools, i came across Fluxbox Tools>Fluxmenu. Fluxmenu is relatively simple and straightforward and it allows me to customize the menu however i see fit.

I hope this is of help to someone.

-shelly
Bloodcrow
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 3:53 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cammo, Google Adsense [Bot], MrCoolMan and 47 guests