Hello, new to linux and need some guidance

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
elajas82

Hello, new to linux and need some guidance

Post by elajas82 »

Hi.

I'm new to linux. The reason, why i'm tring to switch over to linux, is because i'm getting sick and tired of windows (XP) problems ... There is always something wrong and in the end i haveto format and start clean again ... average windows life time is ~80 days in my PC :roll:
Anyway i'm looking alternative OS and it seems linux is right now the only answer. I have tested mint Celena (beta) and ubuntu. My goal is to run linux and windows in my PC (the only reason why i need windows, is because i love games).

Here is my PC hdd layout (in case you wanto know):
80GB primary hdd (for os)
160GB for arhives (backups, personal stuff and so on)
160GB for other stuff (temporaly things, games and so on)

So my questions are:

1. How can i install linux and windows in the same hdd? I have tried before and i failed :(
2. Is there any way to assign root privileges to normal user? The last time i was messing with linux, i managed to install ubuntu (no windows) and i had some problems installing or editing some files/apps using my main acc. That acc was admin but still it was missing some privileges ....
3. is there any good "noob friendly" guides for linux. Overall the linux is easy and simple, but i get really confused about the console ... :(

Like i said, i'm a total noob to linux ... i have used Windows all my life, so please be gentle :oops:

Thank You