How to upgrade light to standard

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

How to upgrade light to standard

Postby Winterborn on Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:20 am

My ISP has Linux Mint-Light hosted so I downloaded it vie them as that content is unmetered for me, however I have no real reason to use light. Once I've installed it and set up what's the easiest way to get the missing stuff(I'm fairly keen on the codecs and flash, but all of it would be fine if it can be done easily)?

Thanks.
Winterborn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to upgrade light to standard

Postby linuxviolin on Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:37 am

Look here
The following components are not present in this Light Edition:

* Macromedia Flash
* Support for encrypted DVDs
* Windows codecs
* Support for restricted multimedia formats
* Unrar
* Sun Java (replaced by GIJ)

So just open Synaptic and add these components (Flash, libdvdcss, w32codecs, unrar, Java...) :wink:

More easy? hmm Synaptic is easy and fast, no? :lol:
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Re: How to upgrade light to standard

Postby Winterborn on Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:06 am

Danke linuxviolin. Seems simple enough. Once my housemate goes to bed and no longer needs the network I'll install and do as you said.
Winterborn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:15 am

Re: How to upgrade light to standard

Postby linuxviolin on Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:12 am

As I said you must add codecs and firefox plugins: Java, Flash, DVD and mp3 support, Win32 codecs...etc

With Cassandra and Celena you could use the mint file here but I guess for Daryna you must add them 'by hand'... :cry:

Maybe someone could do a such Mint file? :roll:
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 38 guests