Package won't install

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Package won't install

Postby T J Tulley on Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:30 pm

I have just downloaded a package to install gramps and placed it in my Home/Downloads - after meeting various objections from the terminal by cd et c., here is the latest extract copied from my terminal record.

theo@TJT5Daryna:~/Downloads$ ls -a
. .. gramps_2.2.10-1_all.deb
theo@TJT5Daryna:~/Downloads$
theo@TJT5Daryna:~/Downloads$ sudo apt-get install gramps_2.2.10-1_all.deb
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package gramps_2.2.10-1_all.deb
theo@TJT5Daryna:~/Downloads$

This shows, first, that gramps is in the working directory, and that apt-get install looks for it there and can't find it.
Why?
I shall be most grateful for help and advice.
Yours hopefully -

Theo Tulley.
Using a PC with 2GB RAM, 3 hdds and a 1.7 GHz Celeron cpu.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Package won't install

Postby alvaro.sim on Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:32 pm

the command you need is
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg -i xxxxx.deb

:)
alvaro.sim
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:46 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Package won't install

Postby Sunny Rabbiera on Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:41 pm

or try a graphical approach like synaptic.
Sunny Rabbiera
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:42 pm

Re: Package won't install

Postby T J Tulley on Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:51 pm

Many thanks to you both - sudo dpkg -i worked!
Yours hopefully -

Theo Tulley.
Using a PC with 2GB RAM, 3 hdds and a 1.7 GHz Celeron cpu.
User avatar
T J Tulley
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:18 am
Location: Hull, England


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], jollyjack, Pastcal and 28 guests

cron