Software manager not working

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Software manager not working

Postby kruz on Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:48 pm

i am very new to Linux, i just downloaded and installed linux mint KDE version, i opened up software manager to do the obvious of installing new software, but the application exits/closes on its own within seconds, i dont know why, kindly help..

-Krupakar, from India
kruz
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Software manager not working

Postby RETNUH on Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:16 pm

Open a terminal and input
Code: Select all
mintinstall

After it closes give us the errors the terminal gives.
We all know that light travels faster than sound. That's why certain people appear bright until you hear them speak. -Albert Einstein

Formerly known as Luckydog.

Looking for me? Check the IRC I've been hanging out there.
RETNUH
Level 4
Level 4

Postby chris0161 on Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:29 pm

Having same problem and also with Synaptic.
Re installed Synaptic and it stopped auto closing but no joy with Mint Install.

Here is the output :

/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintInstall/mintinstall.py:252: SyntaxWarning: import * only allowed at module level
def get_status_description(self, transaction):
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintInstall/mintinstall.py:260: SyntaxWarning: import * only allowed at module level
def get_role_description(self, transaction):
add_categories took 1.522 ms
build_matched_packages took 0.247 ms
add_packages took 1794.381 ms
add_reviews took 0.028 ms

(mintinstall.py:4284): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_set_qdata: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed