little questions about mint os

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

little questions about mint os

Postby fleamailman on Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:46 am

coming from kubuntu, things are different and done differently too on mint so here are my questions



first off, I need japanese fonts
next, do I only have one desktop
third, how to upgrade
forth, if I put mint on my daughters machine as dual boot with XP, are drives ready mounted

I think this has been the easiest distro to date, and all my wifi USB keys that worked for kubuntu work for mint so I am really pleased
everyday is a gift
fleamailman
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:53 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: little questions about mint os

Postby Fred on Sat Feb 09, 2008 3:27 am

fleamailman,

Greetings

First, If you are coming from Kubuntu, ie you prefer KDE, you might want to try Mint 4 kde Community Edition, beta 044. Even though it is still in beta it is pretty stable.

To answer your questions:

If the fonts you want are available for kubuntu, they can be used on Mint 4. Mint 4 uses the Ubuntu repositories.

No, you can have up to 16, I think it is, desktops. I am going to wing it a bit here because I don't have a copy of Mint 4 Gnome on my computer to look at right now. But I believe you can right click on the menu bar and select to add the desktop applet. Poke around, you will find it.

Not sure I understand the context here. Mint doesn't have an auto update routine like (K)ubuntu does. Actually, my personal opinion is that this might be a good thing. Things always seem to be slower, buggier, or just plain broken after an upgrade in (K)ubuntu. I usually recommend that when you install you use a separate partition for your /home directory. Then when you upgrade to the next version all your desktop settings and personal data structures will still be in tact. This makes for a more trouble free upgrade method. Of course that still doesn't mean you shouldn't maintain backups.

Yes all the drives and partitions should be auto mounted on startup by default.

Hope this answers your questions.

Enjoy, :-)

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: little questions about mint os

Postby MagnusB on Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:17 am

fleamailman wrote:coming from kubuntu, things are different and done differently too on mint so here are my questions



first off, I need japanese fonts
next, do I only have one desktop
third, how to upgrade
forth, if I put mint on my daughters machine as dual boot with XP, are drives ready mounted

I think this has been the easiest distro to date, and all my wifi USB keys that worked for kubuntu work for mint so I am really pleased

2. No, right click on the panel, click on Add to panel and select workspace switcher (I think it is called, I am using the norwegian translation ATM). By default you have 4 virtual desktops, use Ctrl+Alt+Left/Right key to switch between them.
3. If you mean upgrade to a newer version, Clem usually put out release notes on the Main edition on how to use a dist upgrade, but like Fred pointed out, a clean install is much better, but contrary to him, I find it better to not keep the home folder on a separate partition, as all the settings stored there can cause a conflict when you upgrade the system (my opinion, though, but I usually keep backup of my data anyways, so it is not an issue for me).
4. Linux mounts ntfs disks, XP can not read ext3 disk without installing ext drivers. FAT32 partitions could sometimes be problematic, but usually they mount just fine :)
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Dirkoir, pskingston, Terje and 29 guests