Linux n00b...just lost "start" menu...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Linux n00b...just lost "start" menu...

Postby goombakid on Mon Feb 18, 2008 3:24 am

I've been experimenting with Linux Mint for a while, I have the latest Mint distro on my notebook and I use it primarily for internet and disc burning.

Anyway, I just started up today, and after having hda1 (if I read the screen correctly) checked, it started up ok, but an error popped up in terms of a menu of some sort, that it cannot start it or something. I don't know exactly what the error said, I hit delete the app by mistake, and now I have no start menu.

I can't access any of my apps other than what I have in the panel. Anyway I can get that back? If I can get it back via terminal, can anyone help me getting it back? I'm feeling a little helpless here. Would it be better just to reinstall Mint? Thanks!
goombakid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:35 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux n00b...just lost "start" menu...

Postby Arv3n on Mon Feb 18, 2008 3:38 am

Right click the panel --> Add to Panel --> A new window pops up --> Select Mint Menu --> Click Add.
Arv3n
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: North Carolina, United States

Re: Linux n00b...just lost "start" menu...

Postby goombakid on Mon Feb 18, 2008 1:57 pm

Thanks. That worked, but I am unable to use the Mint Menu. The following error pops up when I try to add it to the panel

Error
The Panel encountered a problem while loading
"OAFIID:Gnome_mintMenu"

Then it asks if I want to delete it or not.

I have just the standard Gnome menu on now, and that seems to work just fine. Is there any way to get the Mint Menu back? Thanks!
goombakid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:35 am

Re: Linux n00b...just lost "start" menu...

Postby goombakid on Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:34 pm

*bump*

Sorry. Is there any way to solve the error that I'm getting. I don't mind the Gnome menu, but I'd rather have my Mint Menu back. Thanks!
goombakid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:35 am

Re: Linux n00b...just lost "start" menu...

Postby midknight on Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:38 pm

If you really like the vista start menu, there's a panel applet that looks much like that:
http://www.gnome-look.org/content/show. ... tent=71425

PS: please don't stone me to death for mentioning vista :| It isn't that bad of an OS...

ok, maybe it is...

but still!
From elegance came chicken!
User avatar
midknight
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:03 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ahz, all41, Google [Bot] and 22 guests