Mounted Volumes

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Mounted Volumes

Postby wjwheels on Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:38 pm

I like to show the mounted volumes on my desktop. When I insert a CD I like to see it show up. However, my drive containing my windows system (dual-boot) shows up on the desktop when I boot. There is nothing in that folder that I use in Linux. I can unmount it with the terminal command "sudo umount /dev/hdb1", but the next time I boot, it shows up again. How can I make the unmount command permanent?

TIA
Wheels
Quit your princess!
98% of the world doesn't care about your problems.
The other 2% are happy you have them.
User avatar
wjwheels
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Paradise

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mounted Volumes

Postby Zwopper on Wed Feb 20, 2008 6:23 pm

Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/fstab

and comment it out.
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Mounted Volumes

Postby wjwheels on Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:24 pm

That did it. You came through again. I just put a little "#" in front of the only line where I saw it mentioned. I still see it in "Computer", but it's not mounted.
Quit your princess!
98% of the world doesn't care about your problems.
The other 2% are happy you have them.
User avatar
wjwheels
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Paradise

Re: Mounted Volumes

Postby Zwopper on Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:41 am

wjwheels wrote:That did it. You came through again. I just put a little "#" in front of the only line where I saw it mentioned. I still see it in "Computer", but it's not mounted.

Glad I could help! :D
Image
My artwork at deviantART | My Tweet
CREA DIEM!
Lenovo E320 | 8GB | 512GB Samsung 840 PRO - SSD | Ubuntu 14.04
User avatar
Zwopper
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Mounted Volumes

Postby derekr44 on Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:42 pm

You can also use /etc/fstab to permanently mount USB drives if you leave them plugged in (like a WD MyBook).
derekr44
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:30 pm
Location: Arizona, USA


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Janus12th and 28 guests