How to find a programs name?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Class--

How to find a programs name?

Post by Class-- »

Hi Folks,
So I'm a noob at linux and I'm finding the small things difficult at the moment. Simple things like working out how to find the name of a program to use a command on it in the cli.
I found a "way" but it seems like the long way round as it means the program has to be running for me to see its name ie using the command

Code: Select all

So what is the easiest method? My windows background would be to look at the properties of the shortcut and see the file name there but in gnome3 the only thing that happens on a shortcut is the option to open in new window or add shortcut to the side bar thingy.

Thanks for any input

Class--
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8

Re: How to find a programs name?

Post by MALsPa »

Yeah, in KDE or Xfce, I'd just right-click on the app's icon on the panel to find the command that runs the application.

In GNOME 3, you can open Nautilus and go to /usr/share/applications, find the app, right-click > Properties. There you'll find the actual command that runs the application.
kyphi
Level 9
Level 9

Post by kyphi »

I suppose that what you really meant to ask was "how to find the path statement to a program".