Response Time

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Response Time

Postby Hannibal-King on Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:05 am

Is it possible to change the menu response time in Daryna Gnome?

It's really frustrating because when I hover my over accessories it takes 2-3 seconds before something happens.
Also when I hover my mouse over "All" it takes 8 seconds to respond. So if I just accidently hover over it, it takes 8 seconds before I can do anything else.

When I move my mouse over "Places" - Computer, Homefolder, etc. etc... It reacts instantly, but if I keep my mouse over some of the menu's, a popup bubble appears, that tells you some info about that menu.
If I then change menu again, it takes 1-2 seconds before the bubble disappears and I can click something else.

This is really frustrating for me.. I tried KDE, and there's no problem with the start menu there... But in Gnome.. It just lacks a fast response time in the menu..

Is there anything I can do about this?
Hannibal-King
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:35 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Response Time

Postby BlahBlah_X on Sun Feb 24, 2008 8:25 am

User avatar
BlahBlah_X
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Walrus Teeth

Re: Response Time

Postby Hannibal-King on Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:36 pm

No that didn't help a bit..

Anyone else??
Hannibal-King
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:35 pm

Re: Response Time

Postby MagnusB on Sun Feb 24, 2008 5:46 pm

Could you post some computer specs? Are you running Mint on an old system? Have you checked how your RAM is used (top or htop in terminal)?
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Response Time

Postby Hannibal-King on Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:12 am

Thinkpad T60 SXGA+, Model: 2007-FUG

1,83 Ghz Core duo T5600
3GB Ram 667 Mhz
ATI Mobility RADEON x1400 128 MB ram

Did HTOP:

Aprox, 200 MB being used out of my 3042 MB.
nothing in Swap.

So it seems like it's not my system.
Hannibal-King
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:35 pm

Re: Response Time

Postby MagnusB on Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:16 am

Did you get heavy CPU usage with HTOP? Your computer should run Mint just fine, I have it on a laptop with 1.80 GHz AMD Athlon X2 and 2 GB RAM, nothing like that for me. And is it just mintMenu? Are you using the beta (newest) or the one that came bundled with Mint?
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Response Time

Postby clem on Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:05 am

Hi,

This is a known problem with mintMenu, I'm trying to fix it in the upcoming 3.2 version.

Clem
PS: It's driving me crazy as well by the way :)
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Re: Response Time

Postby Hannibal-King on Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:57 pm

Okay. Thanks for the reply Clem :D
It actually annoys me so much that I switched to KDE.. But.. you know.. I didn't really feel the love..

So I'll just stick to Mint Gnome, and wait for the upcoming release :D
Hannibal-King
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:35 pm

Re: Response Time

Postby kaos13 on Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:32 pm

Would this be the same as when I hit quit the computer freezes for about 30 seconds?
kaos13
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:28 pm

Re: Response Time

Postby Hannibal-King on Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:20 pm

kaos13 wrote:Would this be the same as when I hit quit the computer freezes for about 30 seconds?


Nope.. Not at all.

So guys.. Actually what I was looking for was the old gnome menu.. I found it by right clicking on my panelbar, -> Add to panel -> And just added Main Menu instead of Mintmenu.
And now it's response time got so much better.

So now my question is... How to I turn the little info popups, off that appears when you hover your mouse over a menu?
Example: When hover over Firefow it sais: "Browse the world wide web"

It's not a speed issue here.. just that when the popup appears and I decide to choose another menu, it takes a little while for the blue flash button to follow my mouse again.

So how do I turn the little popups off...?
Hannibal-King
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:35 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mute Ant and 24 guests