A few Questions

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

A few Questions

Postby Deomedes on Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:46 pm

Hey guys,
I'm brand new to linux, infact the only reason i have it is because the guy that built my laptop put mint on it. I'm likin it so far, but i'm tryin to find out some information so here goes some questions, hopefully you guys can help me with them. My first question is when i first got my laptop I was able to look at some pretty cool screen savers that came with linux. however, at the time, i was unable to use compiz fuzion (still cant), and thought it was due to a driver issue, so i had the guy take a look at the laptop, and he installed an experimental driver, now i cannot do either the special desktop effects, (i'm assuming thats compiz fuzion) and i cannot see those cool screen savers any more. is there a specific driver i need? (total noob to computers.) How do i even see what video card i have in my machine? My last question relates to the first. I've been menu scrolling and found what looks like instructions on how to enable certain video effects, but its requireing key combinations and button presses, what are the buttons they are refering to (it says button 1, button 2, etc. in the options for advanced desktop effects.) If anyone out there can help me with these problems, i would greatly appreciate it. Thank you so much for your time

- Deomedes
Deomedes
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: A few Questions

Postby BlahBlah_X on Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:00 pm

I don't fully understand your second question, but let me answer the first.