Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

Postby andre2p on Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:13 am

Hello,

I am a new Mint user. Installation worked fine. Only problem so far is that I cannot logout (most of time). For the most part, when I go to the menu and select Quit... nothing happens.

I found out that if I press the On/Off button on the computer CPU, the logout/shutdown/etc display comes up, so now I can at least logout and shutdown.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
AC
andre2p
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:08 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

Postby Husse on Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:22 am

Do you mean shut down or log out and back in?
In the log out/in case did you install ccsm (the Compiz config manager)?
ccsm gives log out/in problems
As for shut down no ideas - only I've noticed that now and then you get the "shut down menu" first after a little while (a few minutes)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

Postby andre2p on Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:30 am

Husse wrote:Do you mean shut down or log out and back in?
In the log out/in case did you install ccsm (the Compiz config manager)?
ccsm gives log out/in problems


Hello:

I mean the menu screen with the choices to Logout and restart and shutdown, etc., doesn't appear. I select Daryna, then click on Quit... and nothing comes up.

I believe I didn't install ccsm. I just did a regular install.

Thanks!
AC
andre2p
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:08 am

Re: Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

Postby MagnusB on Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:06 pm

Does it not come at all? With me it has a delay of up to 20 seconds before appearing, but I use the newest mintMenu from Romeo (unstable).
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

Postby andre2p on Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:09 pm

MagnusB wrote:Does it not come at all? With me it has a delay of up to 20 seconds before appearing, but I use the newest mintMenu from Romeo (unstable).


Doesn't come up at all. Not even after many minutes. I just use the CPU off button, and that brings up the pop-up menu.
andre2p
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:08 am

Re: Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

Postby MagnusB on Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:23 pm

I would recommend removing mintMenu from the panel, then 'cleaning up' mintMenu, and re add it to the panel, but I was not able to download the userguide right now, so I have to come back to you.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

Postby Husse on Sat Mar 01, 2008 4:48 pm

Forget about cleaning up...
First right click on the menu > Reload plugins
second right click on the menu > Remove from panel
right click on the panel > Add to panel > Mintmenu
This usually does it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

Postby BAD on Sat Mar 01, 2008 10:08 pm

If you are clicking on Daryna and Quit then trying to log out that is slow. Best thin to do is to right click the menu-add to panel-Quit and add the Quit icon to your desktop bar. That works much better.
We are the LinuxMint. You will be assimilated. Resistance is futile.
User avatar
BAD
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:55 am

Re: Menu selection Quit... doesn't work

Postby eeezzzeee on Sat Mar 01, 2008 10:51 pm

I too have had this happen to me. I just used ctrl + alt + backsapce to restart X and I was logged out. I restarted my computer from the log in screen, and the problem went away. Haven't had it happen again. Also I noticed that when the problem happened I also lost my wallpaper, but after the restart the wallpaper was back. I don't know if that means anything or helps narrow down what could be causing the problem.
"If it's stupid and it works.... it's not stupid"
User avatar
eeezzzeee
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:28 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests