More dramas with mintinstall

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

More dramas with mintinstall

Postby allypink on Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:59 pm

Since Tuesday and an update of mintinstall that came through I am now having more troubles with mintinstall. Running from terminal I get the following errors in the mintinstall.py script

/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintInstall/mintinstall.py:240: SyntaxWarning: import * only allowed at module level
def get_status_description(self, transaction):
/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintInstall/mintinstall.py:248: SyntaxWarning: import * only allowed at module level
def get_role_description(self, transaction):
add_categories took 1.241 ms
build_matched_packages took 0.184 ms
add_packages took 1756.230 ms
add_reviews took 153.078 ms
__init__ took 2150.002 ms

No other errors noted in the terminal. I just sits there greyed out and stays there until I kill it. Then is just says "killed".

This is something new. Everything was working fine before. Now after asking for authority mintinstall greys out and hangs. Gotta kill it. I have purged and reinstalled but still get the troublesome script with the errors. I have an earlier installation of isadora on another drive and I have checked and the script is fairly different. We seem to have a bad regression happing here. Thank God for synaptic!
Any chance to get this one fixed Clem? :wink:
Al. :
Desktop; DELL Optiplex Core 2 Quad 8GB RAM
Run Mint 17.1, 1TB WD black 7200 and Win 7 320GB WD black 7200 (gotta for work)
A happy donor to the effort. If you use it...... DONATE!
User avatar
allypink
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: Nambour Australia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: More dramas with mintinstall

Postby vincent on Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:51 am

The latest blog entry addresses this issue: http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1595
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: More dramas with mintinstall

Postby allypink on Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:02 am

vincent wrote:The latest blog entry addresses this issue: http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1595


Yep for LMDE. Nowet to do with my post. I use Mint 10 and the problem is with mintinstall the package installer not the desktop.
Thanks anyway.
Desktop; DELL Optiplex Core 2 Quad 8GB RAM
Run Mint 17.1, 1TB WD black 7200 and Win 7 320GB WD black 7200 (gotta for work)
A happy donor to the effort. If you use it...... DONATE!
User avatar
allypink
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: Nambour Australia

Re: More dramas with mintinstall

Postby BostonPeng on Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:09 am

I've also gotten that error this week on Mint 9 KDE. Should we apply the fix in that blog post for non-LMDE installs, vincent?

ETA: I found this on another thread that may help: viewtopic.php?f=141&t=61063

Although today I seem to be able to check updates without a problem. Weird.
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: More dramas with mintinstall

Postby allypink on Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:40 am

BostonPeng wrote:I've also gotten that error this week on Mint 9 KDE. Should we apply the fix in that blog post for non-LMDE installs, vincent?

ETA: I found this on another thread that may help: viewtopic.php?f=141&t=61063

Although today I seem to be able to check updates without a problem. Weird.

I managed to nuke my installation when trying to set up samba. Ended up trying to use a program "gadmin samba". Boy need to read the man before touching this one. Changed all my users permissions...... not much would work (this was after the mintinstall probs).
So done a bare install on my second disk that I had Mint 9 running on. Spent a couple of hours setting up (gnome commander) is just marvelous for this and coping files and package setups to the new installation. Everything running fine now.
You know what we Linux folk are like. "if it ain't broken..... break it" :lol:
Al.
Desktop; DELL Optiplex Core 2 Quad 8GB RAM
Run Mint 17.1, 1TB WD black 7200 and Win 7 320GB WD black 7200 (gotta for work)
A happy donor to the effort. If you use it...... DONATE!
User avatar
allypink
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: Nambour Australia


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: UgoRipley, WinterTroubles and 16 guests