installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby saxoli on Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:52 am

Hello everyone,

I've tried to install several programs at same time with mintinstall, everything looked good,I got progressbars.

Then in the middle of install and download, I get a forced close of mintinstall.

After this I looked for what packages were installed and which not. A few were installed so I begin to download and install the other ones again.

But no progressbars anymore and mintinstall it's getting "black".

At first I waited a while, maybe it's because of bad internet connection or heavy cpu load, or something else.
Then after minutes I closed mintinstall.

Again I looked for packages... all programs I selected were installed !!

Tried again with one package, the same, no progressbars, "black" mintinstall .... but installed package.

So I reinstalled mintinstall ... but all the same.

Then I removed mintinstall and replaced it with mintinstall 7.2.7 from Julia.

A little bit better now.

Again, no progressbars, but no "black" Window anymore !

Please give me back my progressbars, what did went wrong ?

Thank you !

Greetings

Oliver
saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:40 pm

Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby saxoli on Sat Jan 08, 2011 3:02 pm

Sorry ... I don't understand ????

I've got no problems with mintupdate, I don't want to hold back any package ...

I'm just missing the progressbar when I install new software with mintinstall.

... maybe I get something wrong ???

Greetings,

Oliver
saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 08, 2011 3:23 pm

try this

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update



see if you get any errors

actually post output here
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby saxoli on Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:28 pm

Thank you for your answer ...

I think it looks good ?!

Code: Select all
Ign file: binary/ Release.gpg
Ign file:/usr/share/local-repository/ binary/ Translation-de                   
Ign file: binary/ Release                                                     
Ign file: binary/ Packages                                                     
Ign file: binary/ Packages                                                     
OK   http://packages.medibuntu.org lucid Release.gpg                           
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release.gpg                               
Ign http://ppa.launchpad.net/bisigi/ppa/ubuntu/ lucid/main Translation-de     
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release.gpg                               
Hole:1 http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora Release.gpg [198B]               
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com/ isadora/main Translation-de                 
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com/ isadora/upstream Translation-de             
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com/ isadora/import Translation-de               
OK   http://archive.canonical.com lucid Release.gpg                           
Ign http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ lucid/partner Translation-de         
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid Release.gpg                               
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid/main Translation-de               
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid/restricted Translation-de         
OK   http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security Release.gpg                     
Ign http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/main Translation-de     
Ign http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/restricted Translation-de
Ign http://ppa.launchpad.net/cyfex/ppa/ubuntu/ lucid/main Translation-de       
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release.gpg                               
Ign http://ppa.launchpad.net/elegant-gnome/ppa/ubuntu/ lucid/main Translation-de
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release.gpg                               
Ign http://ppa.launchpad.net/mactel-support/ppa/ubuntu/ lucid/main Translation-de
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release.gpg                               
Ign http://ppa.launchpad.net/tualatrix/ppa/ubuntu/ lucid/main Translation-de   
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release                                   
Hole:2 http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora Release [7.235B]                 
OK   http://archive.canonical.com lucid Release                               
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid/universe Translation-de           
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid/multiverse Translation-de         
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid-updates Release.gpg                       
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-updates/main Translation-de       
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-updates/restricted Translation-de 
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-updates/universe Translation-de   
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-updates/multiverse Translation-de 
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid Release                                   
Ign http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/universe Translation-de 
Ign http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ lucid-security/multiverse Translation-de
OK   http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security Release                         
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release                                   
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release                                   
Ign http://packages.medibuntu.org/ lucid/free Translation-de                   
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release                                   
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid Release                                   
OK   http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/main Packages                   
OK   http://archive.canonical.com lucid/partner Packages                       
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid-updates Release                           
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora/main Packages                       
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid/main Packages                             
OK   http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/restricted Packages             
OK   http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/universe Packages               
OK   http://security.ubuntu.com lucid-security/multiverse Packages             
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid/main Packages                             
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid/restricted Packages                       
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid/universe Packages                         
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid/multiverse Packages                       
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora/upstream Packages                   
Ign http://packages.medibuntu.org/ lucid/non-free Translation-de               
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid/main Packages                             
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid-updates/main Packages                     
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora/import Packages                     
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid/main Packages                             
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid/main Packages                             
OK   http://ppa.launchpad.net lucid/main Packages                             
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid-updates/restricted Packages               
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid-updates/universe Packages                 
OK   http://archive.ubuntu.com lucid-updates/multiverse Packages               
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora/main Packages                       
OK   http://packages.medibuntu.org lucid Release                               
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora/upstream Packages                   
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora/import Packages                     
OK   http://packages.medibuntu.org lucid/free Packages                         
OK   http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora/main Packages                       
OK   http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora/upstream Packages                   
OK   http://packages.medibuntu.org lucid/non-free Packages                     
OK   http://packages.linuxmint.com isadora/import Packages                     
Es wurden 7.433B in 9s geholt (779B/s)                                         
Paketlisten werden gelesen... Fertig



Greetings,

Oliver
saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:54 pm

try installing 1 at a time I am still looking
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 08, 2011 7:01 pm

try this

first lets look for Broken Packages
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install -F


you can try this too

Code: Select all
sudo dpkg --configure -a


then try to install your packages
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby saxoli on Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:31 pm

... again thank you very much !

sudo apt-get install -f .... one broken package was found ... I did apt-get autoremove.

After autoremove I tried to download a package in mintinstall ... again download and install works, but no progressbar in mintinstall.

Then I tried ... sudo dpkg --configure -a (don't know what this means) .... same result, no change, no progressbar while installing.

And I have to close and reopen mintinstall to find my new installed packages as "installed" or to get the button to "uninstall".

Again installing works, but I didn't get an indicator what is mintinstall doing, what's the download status, install status.

Greetings,

Oliver
saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:33 pm

well I will keep looking maybe just maybe one of the Gurus online will be able to help out on this one.
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby willie42 on Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:41 pm

If you can open your package manager and search for mintinstall and make sure its on your system.
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby saxoli on Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:21 am

YES !!

I've got mintinstall !!

I even tried two versions, 7.1.7 the original from isadora and 7.2.7 from julia.

In my first post I wrote that 7.2.7 works a little bit better, because it didn't get "black" while downloading / installing packages.

But no progressbar and indicators if download and install is working.


Oliver
saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: installing but no progressbars and freeze on isadora

Postby tronotron on Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:02 am

Hi, (why is everyone referring to mintinstall, which is the command-line name for Software Manager? Not very helpful to newbies, is it?)

Anyway I had the same issue with Software Manager, i mean mintinstall, :o , on Mint 10.10 32bit. Worked slow but OK after installation , but this problem appeared after installing some more stuff. Ubuntu-tweak is the main suspect.
It was a GUI issue. The window would crash but the installation would complete in the background.

After a tedious system re-install preserving the home folder, I found the problem persisted, so I concluded it was a user setting. I trashed any invisible folders in the home folder that could have been related and it was fixed. I had to re-set some stuff like Startup Applications to get my sound card to work, but it was otherwise OK.

So the problem is in the user settings, not a system file .
tronotron
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests