If your scanner doesn't work

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

If your scanner doesn't work

Postby Husse on Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:22 am

Check if your scanner can be found in
/etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rules
If not add an entry like the others in there
Code: Select all
# Brother|DCP 7010
SYSFS{idVendor}=="04f9", SYSFS{idProduct}=="0182", MODE="664", GROUP="scanner"

This does not take effect until after a reboot.
To get the idVendor and idProduct run lsusb and you may get something like

Bus 001 Device 003: ID 04f9:0182 Brother Industries, Ltd

It's easy to see where to put what in the line above

Edit - I suddenly see that the subject line has "broken English"
Edited in this post :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:42 am

This no longer works with Elyssa - the file /etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rules no longer exists
Seems like Hardy is providing libsane 1.0.19.1ubuntu3 which no longer contains the 45-linsane.rules file. libsane 1.0.18.1ubuntu3 seems the last package containing the file.

So we have to find a new way to fix this - but there are many more scanners (including this one) in SANE now
According to this blog
http://www.shallowsky.com/blog/linux/sc ... hardy.html
scanners are moved from udev to hal, which does not work for a lot of people.
All you have to do is to copy your Daryna/Gutsy /etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rules to Elyssa/Hardy
Or - of course - make a new /etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rules in Elyssa
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby syafthegeek on Sat Aug 23, 2008 1:38 am

All you have to do is to copy your Daryna/Gutsy /etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rules to Elyssa/Hardy
Or - of course - make a new /etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rules in Elyssa


How can I make a new /etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rules in Elyssa?
I just download the 45-libsane.rules file from the link above and I can't move it into /etc/udev/rules.d/ folder because it is a root folder.
How can I do that?
syafthegeek
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:31 am

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:45 am

Become root - right click in the destination folder > Open as root
Or
Code: Select all
sudo cp 45-libsane.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rules
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby kanzibonobo on Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:27 pm

In my case, Reboot wasn't necessary. It worked straight after applying.
kanzibonobo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:14 pm

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby qbicdesign on Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:10 am

default install on Mint actually gives you NO clues at all as to whether your scanner is installed and working or not.
scanner has no config icon in Control Center, and Gimp showed nothing under the "acquire " dialog.
There's also no indication or instruction that you have to install XSane to use your scanner.
qbicdesign
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:51 am
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:15 am

Hey - you have a point
It's been there right in front of my eyes and I have not thought of it
Let's hope there's time for Clem to make something nice for Felicia
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Sun Nov 02, 2008 8:10 am

Some more info
Brother has released a workaround for their scanners, but I have a feeling this may work for any scanner that can only be used in root.
http://solutions.brother.com/linux/sol/ ... faq.html#9
If that does not help here is a link for a /etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rule from Gutsy
http://launchpadlibrarian.net/14664165/45-libsane.rules
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Pierre on Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:26 am

was it fixed in Felicia ?.
Image
User avatar
Pierre
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1691
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:30 am

I have a Brother scanner working - I realise I should have made a follow up. This will come later - no time now
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby hotweiss on Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:14 pm

My Canon scanner is collecting dust thanks to the fact that Canon doesn't think that 30 million Linux users are not important...
hotweiss
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:12 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:47 pm

hotweiss wrote:My Canon scanner is collecting dust thanks to the fact that Canon doesn't think that 30 million Linux users are not important...

One not too many :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Tue Jan 06, 2009 6:05 pm

Pierre wrote:was it fixed in Felicia ?.

I don't think you need to use a workaround in Felicia
I just installed the drivers and made a change to /etc/udev/rules.d/40-basic-permissions.rules
The lines for USB should (probably) be changed to
# USB devices (usbfs replacement)
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ENV{DEVTYPE}=="usb_device", MODE="0666"
SUBSYSTEM=="usb_device", MODE="0666"

They are 0664 by default, denying write for "the world"
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Dogs1985 on Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:54 am

if have problem with flegita.
i can go in the flegita, but if i press scan. directly stop the application. why?
Code: Select all
(flegita:6813): GnomeScan-DEBUG: Setting option brother2:bus2;dev1 source = NULL
Segmentation fault


what i'm missing? but i can use scanimage to scan my work.
Dogs1985
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 4:46 am

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:45 am

As long as you can scan you're fine
It seems that flegita does not use USB the right way and the result is a segfault (which means "illegal memory use")
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Dogs1985 on Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:34 pm

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/164122

is that any upgrade patch to flegita? and is that new version really is 0.6?

http://ftp.gnome.org/pub/GNOME/sources/gnome-scan/0.6/

is that links for upgrade flegita new version?
Dogs1985
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 4:46 am

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:50 pm

Seems to be the latest version
You have to compile it - not user friendly and if you do remember to install build essential first
There should be a read me in the tarball
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Dogs1985 on Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:17 pm

Husse wrote:Seems to be the latest version
You have to compile it - not user friendly and if you do remember to install build essential first
There should be a read me in the tarball


can youu compile it become deb files? and make it easy to mintupdate?
Dogs1985
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 4:46 am

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby David Brown on Sat May 02, 2009 3:26 pm

Hamrick VueScan supports many, many scanners (including the two I have, Epson and Canon) and comes in versions for Linux, MacOS and Windows. It's not free, but worth what it costs.
David Brown
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:35 am

I see that I had not added the solution for Gloria as I thought I had
This is taken from the Brother support site
1. Open "/lib/udev/rules.d/50-udev-default.rules" file.
2. Edit "0664" to "0666" in "libusb device nodes" section.

Before the edit---------------------------------

# libusb device nodes
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ENV{DEVTYPE}=="usb_device", ... , MODE="0664"


After the edit----------------------------------

# libusb device nodes
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ENV{DEVTYPE}=="usb_device", ... , MODE="0666"


3. Restart the OS.

This provides read and write for "all"
I have seen someone recommend 0660 for this - I don't think it's right but worth a try if you cant get it to work
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests