If your scanner doesn't work

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby gogoejoe@gmail.com on Mon Oct 05, 2009 8:25 am

Someone took away my computer and put in a new motherboard, power supply,
fan, and case. I kept the same hard drives. Now my scanner and printer
have stopped working. I tried re-installing, but it hasn't worked. They're
both parallel port connections, the scanner into the computer, and the
printer goes into the back of the scanner. It just doesn't recognize that
the scanner or printer are there. Can anyone help me? Are there settings
somewhere that I need to change because of the new motherboard? I checked the BIOS settings, apparently they're set to what they're supposed to be. Is there somewhere else I should be changing settings? If
possible, small words are appreciated... I've worn out my brain trying to
fix this. I'm really hoping it's something simple...
"We Make A Living By What We Get And We Make A Life By What We Give"
gogoejoe@gmail.com
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 8:16 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby jaqian on Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:53 am

My HP 5530C Scanjet doesn't work (has never worked under Linux) I'll eventually be replacing it as the glass has gone a bit foggy. What would be a good modern replacement that will work with Linux without messing about.

Cheers,
Rob
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7
jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:00 am

I would say HP or Brother
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby jaqian on Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:13 am

Do HP have good Linux support now?
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7
jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:18 am

The support for HP printers is excellent, but the support for scanners somewhat lacking, but I think it works
Try to check the compatibility before you buy
Remember that many scanners don't really work well under Windows either
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby jaqian on Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:02 am

Husse wrote:Remember that many scanners don't really work well under Windows either


Thats a new one on me. I've seen crappy scanners and good scanners come with crappy software but they always work under Windows. I'd love to see Ubuntu work on getting support built into hardware (printers & scanners) for Ubuntu. Don't really care if support is proprietry or free as long as it works.
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7
jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby Husse on Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:29 am

OK many scanners have crappy drivers ....
Was a while since I experimented with this but loads of different scanners would not work in XP (hands on experience)
Don't ask me for details - it was when I had my computer business and I do my best to forget it :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby jaqian on Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:43 am

Husse wrote:OK many scanners have crappy drivers ....
Was a while since I experimented with this but loads of different scanners would not work in XP (hands on experience)
Don't ask me for details - it was when I had my computer business and I do my best to forget it :)


Fair enough. I won't try and torture you :) When I get the funds for a new scanner I will check to see if its Linux friendly. My scanner, printer and external harddrive support were the main reason I hadn't switched fully to Linux, now that Mint has solved all other problems, its only the scanner thats holding me back.
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7
jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby Eesaurus on Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:09 am

I solved my scanner problem (Canon Pixma MX300) by installing both, XP and Linux (Mint). Well, i had to install XP anyway because of my atk -studies, but... When i need to scan, which is rare, i boot to XP. Mint is (of course :)) my main os.

This doesn't solve the original problem, i know, but it is one way to go around it.

By the way, my Canon Pixma MX300 scanner works in Ubuntu 9.10. Maybe some other scanners work in it too. 9.10 is still beta, but the final version comes out october 29. I guess the next version of Mint is also better with scanners.

EDIT:
Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby cato40 on Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:06 pm

Hi:
I also, do the same with my Brother DCP-115C ;use the WinXP for scanning and Mint foe Printing.
cheers,
cato40
cato40
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:49 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby Husse on Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:58 am

Brother has excellent support for Linux printers and scanners, but you have to do a bit of tinkering
The Brother Solution Center has drivers for Linux
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby cato40 on Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:19 am

Hi Husse,
Thanks for that. Since I posted, last, I have installed Mint 7 on my Main Tower, and only Mint 7 ,no XP .
I had no trouble installing the Brother DCP-115C as MFC -210C ;I am still trying to find time to enable the Scanner side of it.
My adjacent tower has Mint 7 XFCE ,tad slow , but it works, with an Epson Colorstylus 740, very good.
This tower I call my Test tower, because I use it to try different Distros, and the first thing that I try on any distro is,
Printer compatibility; if it works, good ,if not Well, NEXT. I find the any KDE Distros are not very Epson 740- compatible.
Hope this helps all.
cato40 :D
cato40
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:49 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby Victor on Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:25 am

Your help is sought: How to install or add the scanner part of HP deskjet F2480 All-In-One printer in Helena?

Good day to all,

As a brand new convert to Mint, my first impression for the installation of Hele na is GREAT! Thank you for making this as seamless as possible for naive users.

I have one problem still: I do not know how to install and/or add the scanner part of my All-In-One HP Deskjet F2480 multifunction pronter.

Thru the web, i gathered the following:
- F2480 needs the HPLIP "something" (excuse my ignorance) version 3.9.10 which is not yet "in" Helena.
- you can define the device as an F735. This is what I did and the printer works fine, at least with a very simple tests.
- Il also understand from this thread that any scanners seems to be problematic?

Could you help? This would be much appreciated.

Victor
Victor
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:47 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby Husse on Sat Dec 12, 2009 6:33 pm

The version of hplip in Helena is 3.9.8
You can find the latest hplip here
It's very simple to run the installer - quoted from the hplip page
To use the Automatic Installer, follow these steps:

1. Download the file to a convenient location (e.g., home directory or desktop, etc).
2. Open a console/terminal and cd to the location where the installer was downloaded. (e.g., cd ~/Desktop)
3. Type in and run this command: 'sh hplip-3.9.10.run'


And please note that in Mint you can right click and open a terminal and that the terminal has autocomplete - you probably only have to type sh hp + Tab
I mention this because sometimes it seems like an unsurmountable obstacle as son as the terminal is mentioned
If the built in scanner utility doesn't work please try Xsane - you can install it from the software manager
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby georgeg on Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:03 pm

Husse wrote:If the built in scanner utility doesn't work please try Xsane - you can install it from the software manager


And if that doesn't work, try Vuescan. Its a commercial application that has a linux version that I have used before and it worked quite well with my old HP 5370c. I haven't tried it yet on Helena but will be trying it tonight.
georgeg
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:59 am

Re: If your scanner don't work

Postby ipernar on Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:54 pm

hotweiss wrote:My Canon scanner is collecting dust thanks to the fact that Canon doesn't think that 30 million Linux users are not important...


Is it that huge community :D?
"Chicks come and go but you will always have your PS3. "
User avatar
ipernar
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:08 pm
Location: Zagreb Croatia

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby harrylin on Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:01 am

Well my scanner Canon Lide 50 doesn't work with Mint 8. :(

What happens is that the scanner is recognized but when I want a preview or scan (with the scanner utility or with Xsane which I also installed by now), the waiting time is infinite. Sometimes (usually not) there is a sound from the scanner motor for 1 second. That's all...

However, it DID work with Mint 6. :x
So I tried the suggestions of this thread as well as other suggestions that I found on Internet - no result. I also tried without result putting an override file that I called 45-basic-permissions.rules in etc/udev/rules.d; but as I didn't really know what I did, it may have been just a long shot in the right direction.

I still hope that someone has a good idea.
Anyone? Somehow it seems that not many people have such problems...
harrylin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:45 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby mr.magoo on Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:21 pm

I still have my Brother MFC-490CW and I tried to scan something yesterday and it wouldn't connect to the computer. All the info on my computer and the stuff on getting the printer to work are here. I went to Brother and downloaded from here the brscan 32bit and the scan-key-tool 32bit. installed them with the GDebi Package Installer and still no connection. The scanner doesn't even scan (didn't before, either). Went back and tried to follow the Terminal instructions and kept getting thwarted.

So, what am I doing wrong, pray tell? I'm getting this little bit by little bit and I'm hoping to invest in some professional help once my situation improves. Until then, what specific commands do I need to enter into the Terminal to get this puppy to work?

Thanks.
User avatar
mr.magoo
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:17 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby mr.magoo on Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:55 pm

I have some things going on and I'd really like to be able to use the scan function on my printer. I'd create a new topic for it, but I don't want to clutter up the forums. I have enough trouble with this silly-assed machine as it is. Please, take a look at the preceding post and kindly lend a hand to a broken-down old idiot. :roll:

Thank y'all.
User avatar
mr.magoo
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:17 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby dizmoduck on Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:11 am

i'm thinking of buy a EPSON Perfection V500 but Epson lick to support linux driver but i found
that Avasys make some iscan driver for Epson

On the website they have 32/64 bit driver
http://www.avasys.jp/lx-bin2/linux_e/scan/DL2.do

but but in the doc.
http://linux.avasys.jp/drivers/testresu ... oslist.pdf

they have not test the driver

I'm a bit confused

any advised
---
Venlig Hilsen / Kind Regards
/dizmoduck

- live your dreams, don't dream your life
dizmoduck
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:40 am
Location: København M(almö) AKA Malmö Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: commandrix and 19 guests