Vertical scrolling for a Synaptics Touchpad?

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Vertical scrolling for a Synaptics Touchpad?

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

I installed gsynaptics, and that lets me turn on the feature, but it doesn't do anything...there should be a way to just add code to xorg.conf, right?

This is what I have so far for the synaptics touchpad:

Code: Select all

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier      "Synaptics Touchpad"
        Driver          "synaptics"
        Option          "SendCoreEvents"        "true"
        Option          "Device"        "/dev/psaux"
        Option          "Protocol"      "auto-dev"
        Option          "HorizScrollDelta"      "0"
        Option          "SHMConfig"     "true"
EndSection
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Husse

Post by Husse »

The search is useful :)
In your case search for touchpad and you will find....
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... pad&t=2723
The first four posts has the solution I think - install gsynaptics....
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

It seems I was a step ahead :)...I've already installed gsynaptics. It doesn't do anything
Husse

Post by Husse »

OK :)
Study the link and you'll see that in there it is
Option "SHMConfig" "on"
not Option "SHMConfig" "true" as you have. I have honestly no idea if that solves it but there's a difference :)
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

Ok, i'll change it and see what happens; Gsynaptics itself is what said to put it on true :o

Ok, so I changed it to "on", but that doesn't help: changing options in gsynaptics still does not change actual touchpad performance
Husse

Post by Husse »

OK the first attempt failed :(
Give us some more information, such as the model of your laptop. As the "giants" reuse names the year it was made would also be helpful
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

I have an HP Compaq Presario V4000T from hmm...I dunno...2005? Yeah, that's the year I don't have any specific info on the touchpad though...
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

gcc wrote:...

Another question may be the maker of the touchpad. I believe that on my old laptop I had to set the value of the "Device" "/dev/psaux" line to:

Code: Select all

     Option         "Device" "/dev/input/<event>"
where <event> is the code corresponding to the touchpad from the output of:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/bus/input/devices
Ill add more later as it occurs to me. Hope it helps.
This was the only major thing that I could find was different...so I tried changing it. It didn't help, but helped me find more information about the model of the touchpad.

Code: Select all

I: Bus=0011 Vendor=0002 Product=0008 Version=7321
N: Name="AlpsPS/2 ALPS GlidePoint"
P: Phys=isa0060/serio4/input0
S: Sysfs=/class/input/input4
H: Handlers=mouse3 event4 ts3 
B: EV=f
B: KEY=420 0 70000 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
B: REL=3
B: ABS=1000003
is the specific information
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

yes, making it event4 didn't do anything; that's what I had tested.

let me check the site though...
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

And....the site doesn't help.

Adding a section for Alps (with all the options) as well as redoing ServerLayout to use that new section gives me nothing new. I'm not breaking anything...but I'm not fixing anything either.

:/ When I used to use Mandriva, it would automatically set up vertical scrolling...but I didn't save the xorg.conf from mandriva and never figured out how to get vertical scrolling working in gentoo either.
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

The problem is solved. I don't know what was the solution that finally worked, but when I restarted twice, the scrolling started working.

:/ these things are so fickle.
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

OK, after having messed up my xorg.conf (it seems it resets every time you get change drivers via envy or restricted package manager,) and having to get support again, I realized that what actually fixed it was actually putting these lines in:

Code: Select all

        Option "LeftEdge" "120"
        Option "RightEdge" "830"
        Option "TopEdge" "120"
        Option "BottomEdge" "650"
        Option "FingerLow" "14"
        Option "FingerHigh" "15"
        Option "MaxTapTime" "180"
        Option "MaxTapMove" "110"
        Option "ClickTime" "0"
        Option "EmulateMidButtonTime" "75"
        Option "VertScrollDelta" "10"
        Option "HorizScrollDelta" "0"
        Option "MinSpeed" "0.45"
        Option "MaxSpeed" "0.75"
        Option "AccelFactor" "0.020"
        Option "EdgeMotionMinSpeed" "200"
        Option "EdgeMotionMaxSpeed" "200"
        Option "UpDownScrolling" "1"
        Option "CircularScrolling" "0"
        Option "CircScrollDelta" "0.1"
        Option "CircScrollTrigger" "2"
        Option "SHMConfig" "true"
the gsynaptics and qsynaptics both don't do anything, so just putting Option "SHMConfig" "true" OR "on" does not do anything.
User avatar
subversiveasset2.0
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm

Post by subversiveasset2.0 »

:/ doesn't work with another restart.

I really don't know what the problem is...now editing xorg.conf or using gsynaptics, qsynaptics, or ksynaptics does nothing.
xaser
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 5:02 pm

Post by xaser »

hi!

I have an similar issue, so may be help to read this topic...

http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... 3419#33419

by the way, may You try to boot RECOVERY mode and then normal in order to see if it resets your issue too...

best regards!
Locked

Return to “Hardware Support”