Synaptic stopped working

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Synaptic stopped working

Postby ductape on Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:44 am

I was trying to install Java plugin for firefox, and I used the terminal apt-get stuff. I think the install crashed or something.

After that, anything i tried to install with Synaptic would stall and say, "waiting for lock".

I restarted my computer and and now when i click INSTALL in synaptic, the button goes away and nothing at all happens.

How do I get back to happy again?
ductape
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:37 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Synaptic stopped working

Postby ductape on Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:04 am

i messed around with my software sources list, and when closing it asked to reload so i said yes.

it told me i had to manually do a:
sudo dpkg --configure -a

so I did that, im all fixed now. Why does this happen and why cant Synaptic recover on its own? I guess I got lucky and found my own answer but I was kinda bummed.

EDIT:
NOPE! not all fixed. When i click INSTALL it starts up, and then it says its is committing. Then instantly, the download flashed out and Synaptic has 0 ongoing actions. What gives?
ductape
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: Synaptic stopped working

Postby ductape on Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:17 am

OK so i found out the Java install was broken, i tried to remove it by teh package manager, and it said it was in a very bad state and should be reinstall before deleting, so ok. I try that.

sudo apt-get install sun-java6-jdk

and i get errors:

E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11: Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?

whats going on?
ductape
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: Synaptic stopped working

Postby ductape on Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:35 am

OK i worked through it, Ill say here just in case this ever comes up for anyone.

The Java install failing was the culprit. I had a screen at the end where you had to select OK to accept the license and stuff. I couldnt figure out how to highlight the OK "button" so i exited, and that how the install failed.

you must use the TAB key and then enter, duh. ok i got it now

repaired the install with some help from other forum threads and I am truly up and running again.
ductape
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: Synaptic stopped working

Postby MKRD.info on Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:31 pm

ductape wrote:repaired the install with some help from other forum threads and I am truly up and running again.


What exactly did you do to repair your installation?
MKRD.info
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:59 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Printerman and 18 guests