How I got hibernate to work

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How I got hibernate to work

Postby disko on Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:26 am

The is how I got install to resume from hibernate (LDME, but should work still).

use blkid to get the UUID number of your swap partition and make sure this number matches the one in /etc/fstab.

got to /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d check the UUID in the resume file in this DIR matches the one you got from BLKID

run update-initramfs -u

reboot, ensure you system is set to hibernate, pop open a few programs to test and try to hibernate and resume.

Hope that helps, worked for me..
disko
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:14 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby BrunoMiranda on Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:02 pm

I had the same problem, and this fixed it!
Don't know why but the UUIDs in fstab, both for swap and / were all wrong; and also in the resume file.

Hibernating in now nativelly working fine.


That's a bullseye, thanks a lot!
Bruno
Bye for now,
Bruno


(Always backup before you fvckup :mrgreen: )
BrunoMiranda
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 2:22 pm

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby Mozenrath on Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:30 pm

Could you be more specific? When I try using blkid, nothing happens. I do have it installed.
Mozenrath
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:41 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby disko on Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:22 am

Mozenrath

Try "blkid -c /dev/null"
disko
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:14 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby Mozenrath on Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:03 pm

disko wrote:Mozenrath

Try "blkid -c /dev/null"


Doesn't seem to make a difference. Is blkid supposed to print the UUID in the terminal when I execute it? I know that I have blkid installed because when I type "blkid -help", it shows the command options for it. It's just when I do anything else, nothing happens.
Mozenrath
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:41 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby elvenic on Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:30 am

Mozenrath wrote:Doesn't seem to make a difference. Is blkid supposed to print the UUID in the terminal when I execute it? I know that I have blkid installed because when I type "blkid -help", it shows the command options for it. It's just when I do anything else, nothing happens.


Try to run blkid as root user, for example via sudo:
Code: Select all
sudo blkid


On my machine sudo as a regular user only outputs swap's partition uuid, but when I run it as root, it outputs uuids of all partitions in the system.
elvenic
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:27 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby marlar on Mon Jan 17, 2011 5:19 am

Thanks disko! That worked for me too.

Note: this thread should be sticky
marlar
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:30 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby RavanH on Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:00 am

marlar wrote:Thanks disko! That worked for me too.

Note: this thread should be sticky


+1
RavanH
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:24 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby shurguywutt on Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:06 pm

I have an interesting situation. I have a hardware RAID that my system is installed on. Here is my setup:

/boot 512 usb drive w/ swap

/ RAID Array 1 w/ swap

/home RAID Array 2 w/ swap

I pull up my blkid and everything is perfect except my usb swap is not listed (I added it later in Gparted). So I added a listing for it. I am going to run the updates and see if this fixes the issue.

In order for my RAID to start up correctly from hibernate I need to make sure the drivers get loaded back up from the usb.

Just my 2 cents.
ASUS M4A78T-E
AMD X4 965 BE 3.86GHz
8GB Mushkin DDR3
ASUS EAH4890
Corsair 512mb /boot grub usb drive
2 WD Raptor 150GB (RAID1)
2 WD 1TB (RAID1)
Seagate 1.5TB
HighPoint RocketRAID 2640X4
LM10x64 2.6.35-22
shurguywutt
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:47 pm

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby shurguywutt on Fri Jan 21, 2011 10:49 pm

Speaking of which, is there somewhere I can edit what I want to do in order to wake the computer up? Is this a MB BIOS setting?
ASUS M4A78T-E
AMD X4 965 BE 3.86GHz
8GB Mushkin DDR3
ASUS EAH4890
Corsair 512mb /boot grub usb drive
2 WD Raptor 150GB (RAID1)
2 WD 1TB (RAID1)
Seagate 1.5TB
HighPoint RocketRAID 2640X4
LM10x64 2.6.35-22
shurguywutt
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:47 pm

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby artz on Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:28 am

I use mint 10. Swap is right size (2,2 GB), ram 1024, Pentium 4.
First I did not had hibernate installed - I installed it. Second I had error while:

sudo update-initramfs -u

update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-24-generic
cryptsetup: WARNING: found more than one resume device candidate:
/dev/sdc5
UUID=8f7961e1-3069-48f4-85f8-9d8ebee84a28
Warning: No support for locale: et_EE.utf8

Hibernate does not work. It just locks screen. One time worked, but not booted up. Suspend is working fine. What could be the issue?
artz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:57 am
Location: Estonia

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby Greydog56 on Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:52 pm

I spent days learning new commands and following suggestions such as above. I really appreciate the willingness of people to share their knowledge. I've a new build with Asus M4A88TD-V EVO MB/Phenom II X4 840 and 16 gig ram. What made suspend/hibernate work for me was taken from anthers advice to disable USB3 and SATA6 in the bios. Now my suspend and hibernate work without any issues. I'm running Mint10 64bit.
Greydog56
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:39 pm

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby krustybaguette on Sun Apr 10, 2011 10:46 am

marlar wrote:Thanks disko! That worked for me too.

Note: this thread should be sticky


Don't know if thread is "sticky". I'm guessing that means permanent? Anyway, all my UUID's matched and here's what happens at last step:

kenneth@kenneth-ThinkPad-X60 ~ $ sudo update-initramfs /u
Invalid argument for option -k.
Usage: /usr/sbin/update-initramfs [OPTION]...

Options:
-k [version] Specify kernel version or 'all'
-c Create a new initramfs
-u Update an existing initramfs
-d Remove an existing initramfs
-t Take over a custom initramfs with this one
-b Set alternate boot directory
-v Be verbose
-h This message

Since I didn't specify option /k what gives?

Edit added a few hours later:

After doing the above I rebooted and ran notepad under wine, a game or two, Open Office Writer, and closed my lid (set to suspend) after a wait I reopened the lid and after entering my password previously open program remained open. That is a step in the right direction. Still waiting to get hibernate to work.
krustybaguette
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:24 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby mintuser on Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:13 am

Hi,

I have a similiar problem with resuming from hibernation using uswsusp. The system freezes while showing the boot screen "resuming from /dev/disk/by-uuid/..."

I followed the instructions above but I have no clue why it still doesn't work.

/etc/uswsusp.conf

Code: Select all
# /etc/uswsusp.conf(8) -- Configuration file for s2disk/s2both
resume device = /dev/disk/by-uuid/799e7fec-75d7-48ba-846e-0e3843455027
splash = y
compress = y
early writeout = y
# image size = 1439618826
image size = 0
RSA key file = /etc/uswsusp.key
shutdown method = platform
# threads = y


/etc/fstab
Code: Select all
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
# for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
# devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
# Commented out by Dropbox
# /dev/sda1       /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=799e7fec-75d7-48ba-846e-0e3843455027 none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/sda1 / ext4 errors=remount-ro,user_xattr 0 1


/etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume
Code: Select all
#RESUME=UUID=799e7fec-75d7-48ba-846e-0e3843455027
RESUME=/dev/disk/by-uuid/799e7fec-75d7-48ba-846e-0e3843455027
mintuser
 

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby mintuser on Wed Apr 27, 2011 1:32 am

Bump
mintuser
 

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby mintuser on Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:39 am

Anybody?
mintuser
 

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby likenatural on Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:58 am

I got it to work by simply doing this change. Then Reume worked fine.
commented the earlier line and added the current syntax. It worked , i dont know whats missing in debian/LMDE to recognise the first commented syntax.

/etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume:

#RESUME=UUID=xxxxxxxx
RESUME=/dev/disk/by-uuid/xxxxxxxx




Previously, the below error is happening in /var/log/dmesg.

PM: Hibernation image not present or could not be loaded.
likenatural
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:52 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby atupmok on Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:33 am

When I run the command sudo
Code: Select all
update-initramfs -u
I get the following messages.

update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.38-8-generic-pae
cryptsetup: WARNING: failed to detect canonical device of /dev/sda6
Warning: No support for locale: en_US.utf8
atupmok
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:30 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby den@shibuya on Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:35 pm

marlar wrote:Thanks disko! That worked for me too.

Note: this thread should be sticky


Worked for me as well. Fixed my hibernate problem in LMDE. Many thanks.
den@shibuya
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:43 am

Re: How I got hibernate to work

Postby Matt267 on Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:12 pm

Thanks to disko! It also worked for me. (I was surprised to see Grub load when coming out of hibernate though)

Matt
Matt267
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Other Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest