newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby MALsPa on Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:51 pm

Probably a valid assumption. Or else folks aren't reading thru the thread before posting.
User avatar
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2030
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: albuquerque

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby Anthrogue on Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:14 pm

OMG... it worked :D

Should not be necessary to reboot, just run

Code: Select all
killall gnome-panel

from a terminal to reload the panel and menu, and the entries should show up.

^^^ I saw but assumed that would happen auto on reboot (but I guess not). Now if the mintInstall could do that after it finished.....
Anthrogue
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby sam500 on Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:51 am

MALsPa wrote:For me, if a newly installed application is not showing up in the menu, most of the time I can simply log out and then log back in and it will be there.

If you want to find where the files for a particular application are located it's really very easy to do. Open Synaptic, find the application, click on the "Installed Files" tab down there in the bottom right section of the screen. All of the files are listed right there. You can find out where the binary is, where the icons are, everything.


Good advice thank you. I am trying to find Gzip on my system.

Below are the file locations I found via Synaptic. Which one of these is the icon that I can use to launch the program?

/.
/bin
/bin/gzip
/bin/gunzip
/bin/gzexe
/bin/zcat
/bin/zcmp
/bin/zdiff
/bin/zegrep
/bin/zfgrep
/bin/zforce
/bin/zgrep
/bin/zless
/bin/zmore
/bin/znew
/bin/uncompress
/usr
/usr/share
/usr/share/info
/usr/share/info/gzip.info.gz
/usr/share/lintian
/usr/share/lintian/overrides
/usr/share/lintian/overrides/gzip
/usr/share/man
/usr/share/man/man1
/usr/share/man/man1/zdiff.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/zgrep.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/zless.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/zmore.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/znew.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/gzexe.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/gzip.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/zforce.1.gz
/usr/share/doc
/usr/share/doc/gzip
/usr/share/doc/gzip/README-alpha
/usr/share/doc/gzip/TODO
/usr/share/doc/gzip/copyright
/usr/share/doc/gzip/changelog.gz
/usr/share/doc/gzip/README.gz
/usr/share/doc/gzip/changelog.Debian.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/zcat.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/zcmp.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/gunzip.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/uncompress.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/zegrep.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/zfgrep.1.gz
LMDE
sam500
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:19 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby MALsPa on Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:13 pm

Someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but I think that gzip is a command line tool and it isn't an app that would show up in your menu.

Kind of a long manpage: man gzip


Also see the gzip home page: http://www.gzip.org/
User avatar
MALsPa
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2030
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Location: albuquerque

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby Midnighter on Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:54 pm

MALsPa wrote:Someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but I think that gzip is a command line tool and it isn't an app that would show up in your menu.



This. ^
User avatar
Midnighter
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Western Australia

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby Anthrogue on Sat Feb 06, 2010 4:33 pm

Should not be necessary to reboot, just run

Code: Select all
killall gnome-panel

from a terminal to reload the panel and menu, and the entries should show up.


How utterly strange. I did this and GnomeBaker and K3b showed up on the menu. However, later on after a reboot the items are not on the menu. and that terminal code then does not work again.
Anthrogue
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby sam500 on Sun Feb 07, 2010 10:31 am

MALsPa wrote:Someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but I think that gzip is a command line tool and it isn't an app that would show up in your menu.

Kind of a long manpage: man gzip


Also see the gzip home page: http://www.gzip.org/


Thanks for your help. As a newbie, gzip might be a little advanced for me.
LMDE
sam500
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:19 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby guns90 on Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:16 am

Hello everyone. I've tried everything listed in this thread, and I'm still not having any luck. I'm trying to get gphoto2 up and running so that I can upload photos from my Canon SD1200. I have installed gphoto2 (and uninstalled it each time, twice) using Synaptic and Apt-get in the terminal. Each time gphoto2 will show up as being installed in synaptic, but I can't find it anywhere in my filesystem to try and get it listed (somehow) in my menu/control center. I have Helena only recently installed on this computer. I'm only just beginning to set this computer up. The only changes I have made since my install of Helena are an apt-get install of gparted, and following these instructions to set up my music on a secondary hdd ( viewtopic.php?f=47&t=44756 ). I would appreciate any assistance. Thanks. Gary
guns90
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby Midnighter on Fri Mar 26, 2010 6:56 pm

I don't curently have it installed, but prety sure gphoto2 is a command-line app, hence no menu entry.
User avatar
Midnighter
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Western Australia

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby guns90 on Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:44 pm

Okay, I learned something. I reinstalled gphoto2 in the terminal and this time I paid a little more attention to the feedback I got in terminal. I had not installed gtkam or gthumb. DUH! I installed gthumb in the terminal, and now when I turn on the camera, I get the option of how I want to open it. For some reason it wont open in gthumb. (It says "An error occurred in the io-library ('Could not lock the device'): Camera is already in use.") I open the camera in a folder and drag the photos into my pictures folder. Anyone have a clue how to fix the gthumb error?
guns90
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby Midnighter on Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:59 pm

Sorry, don't currently have a camera to test with. I used to just let it mount/open the memory and allow me to browse the filesystem like any other, nothing else was necessary. That, and I also used Picasa at times, and it offered to grab the pics for me. But I lost that camera, and don't currently have one.
User avatar
Midnighter
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 1:52 pm
Location: Western Australia

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby parangles on Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:19 pm

Cant find streamripper controls/gui in Exaile

I installed Streamripper from the synaptic package manager,
and also downloaded and installed it from their website.
It shows with green box in the package manager and when I enter 'streamripper' in the terminal,
a bunch of options show up.... so presumably its installed... but I see no red recording button
or any controls/options for Streamripper at all in Exaile where they are supposed to be....
How do I run it/record streaming radio ???

Thanks lots !!
parangles
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 8:39 am

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby nixnine on Thu May 06, 2010 7:27 pm

I am having a problem with POV-Ray on Mint 8. I cannot seem to find a way to start the program after install. In terminal during install I did a test and an image rendered just like in the windows version -- though the user interface cannot be found.

Anyone help n that?
nixnine
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 9:02 pm

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby Timmi on Sat Jun 12, 2010 6:43 pm

Guys, stop looking at the apps... this is definitely a bug.
I've been using Mint for a while now (since version 5), and I have never seen anything like this...
there are more apps not showing up in the menu than are showing up.
This first started in version 8, but a reboot would resolve it.
It seems to have gotten much more frequent in version 9.
This is definitely a bug that needs to be addressed.
Timmi
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:04 pm

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby Elisa on Mon Oct 04, 2010 8:31 am

All of u who is looking 4 a missing but installed app:
did u try to type the name of the app after clicking on the Menu ?
Or did u try to press left Alt + F2 ?
Linux/Unix is about freedom, Windows about slavery.

md5 / sha1 check [how-to for NEWBIES] :idea:

Image
Score: 43 I have some hippie in me. Cool, man 8)
Take the elitemrp.net "Are you a Hippie?" Test
User avatar
Elisa
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:46 am

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby kws48 on Fri Nov 19, 2010 1:05 pm

I am having the same problem, a problem I may add that I have had ever since trying out Linux over three years ago!

I am not a computer geek! That said, I can follow some simple instructions when they are spelled out.

I have used terminal commands when they were explained to me. I also know some of the basics, but when it gets involved such as compiling and building, I am lost! I realize Linux if for people who understand computers. I try very hard, but this 62 year old simply is not a genius. Sometimes the answers on these forums simply assume you already understand everything. For many of us, that is not the case. I know many of you have no empathy toward those of us, who are not all that into computer speak. However there are more of us out there, than there are you guys! Now that I have made my rant, here is my problem.

I had installed and used very happily, DVD Backup in Ubuntu for some time. I recently installed Linux Mint ( Julia ) after having some mike problems in Ubuntu. Mint installed flawlessly and is working the same. However for whatever reason I can't find DVD Backup in my menu anywhere. I installed it, with Synaptic. It shows as being installed there, but when I try to use it NADA! Can someone please help this idiot? It's there, so how do I get it to work, or even show in my applications menu? :oops:
kws48
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:34 am

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby Elisa on Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:51 pm

kws48 wrote:...
I've never heard about DVD backup so I've installed it too :D And it seems to be a CLI app - command line, therefore open terminal and type there:

dvdbackup

Then you see some switches how to use it. also additional info you can get when type in terminal

man dvdbackup

Other helpful infos :idea:
http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/lucid/man1/dvdbackup.1.html
http://flavor8.com/index.php/2006/03/26 ... in-ubuntu/
(just general info + cool comments)
http://ohioloco.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=812330
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=470018
Linux/Unix is about freedom, Windows about slavery.

md5 / sha1 check [how-to for NEWBIES] :idea:

Image
Score: 43 I have some hippie in me. Cool, man 8)
Take the elitemrp.net "Are you a Hippie?" Test
User avatar
Elisa
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:46 am

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby 4Foot on Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:28 pm

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby kws48 on Fri Nov 19, 2010 1:05 pm
I am having the same problem, a problem I may add that I have had ever since trying out Linux over three years ago!

I am not a computer geek! That said, I can follow some simple instructions when they are spelled out.

I have used terminal commands when they were explained to me. I also know some of the basics, but when it gets involved such as compiling and building, I am lost! I realize Linux if for people who understand computers. I try very hard, but this 62 year old simply is not a genius. Sometimes the answers on these forums simply assume you already understand everything. For many of us, that is not the case. I know many of you have no empathy toward those of us, who are not all that into computer speak. However there are more of us out there, than there are you guys! Now that I have made my rant, here is my problem.

I had installed and used very happily, DVD Backup in Ubuntu for some time. I recently installed Linux Mint ( Julia ) after having some mike problems in Ubuntu. Mint installed flawlessly and is working the same. However for whatever reason I can't find DVD Backup in my menu anywhere. I installed it, with Synaptic. It shows as being installed there, but when I try to use it NADA! Can someone please help this idiot? It's there, so how do I get it to work, or even show in my applications menu? :oops:


Kws48: I am a little bit older then you, and likely not as bright, but I share your frustration with the seemingly unintelligible instructions that we sometimes get as an answer to our one or two syllable questions.

I have been having the same problem as you have with the absent menu items for programs that I know I have installed. I also agree with some here who have suggested that it is a growing bug and have faith that someone will address it soon. However, until they do, I have found that while the one program that I want to use most often, K3b (a media burning program) is NOT shown in the menu, if I right click on an image file that I want to burn, eq" secretariat.iso, that K3b will be one of the options offered in the context menu for me to use to open the program.

Once open, you can use it at will. This also works with other programs that are missing from the menu.

I know this is not a solution to your problem, it is not even a very good kluge to allow you to get by. But it may just help you until a better solution comes along.

Happy trails old timer.

4Foot
4Foot
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:20 pm

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby iani on Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:07 pm

I have a similar problem with Spicebird (excellent app though!).

I can create a desktop launcher for it, launch it from terminal, or via Alt+F2 (@ Elisa - it comes up in the list of installed apps, but typing in the menu search box produces zilch), I can even change the properties of an existing menu entry and launch it that way. I think that means I've tried everything in this thread and more, but after 3 hours of messing about I still can not get it to appear on the Main Menu.

Is there a file somewhere that I can edit manually (i.e. for the menu) to add an entry for this app?

TIA.
It may be my fault I broke it, but it ain't my fault its breakable...
iani
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 8:47 pm

Re: newly installed apps not showing up in the menu

Postby Maghdalena on Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:47 am

qbicdesign wrote:I have noticed this too - but I'm convinced its only since Mint 6
I never had this problem in Mint 5.
My hunch is that apps installed using the Mint Install program are fine, but if i install using Synaptic or the deb installer they simply don't appear...
Anyone else able to verify this?


I'm new to Mint too. I'm on Mint 9, and Clam isn't showing up in the menu, and I installed that with the Software Manager. Where do I find it to run a scan? Anyone know for this Newbie?
Maghdalena
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:50 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fumblejack, LordingMike and 20 guests