LMDE doesn't see 2nd SATA hard drive [SOLVED]

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
runbei

LMDE doesn't see 2nd SATA hard drive [SOLVED]

Post by runbei »

sudo fdisk -l finds my second SATA hard disk ok:

Code: Select all

l): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x91f72d24

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdc1   *           1         984     7897056    b  W95 FAT32
Partition 1 has different physical/logical endings:
     phys=(982, 254, 63) logical=(983, 36, 12)

But it isn't mounted at startup. I've used LM for 3 years but am not terribly savvy under the hood. Here's my fstab file. Any way to get sdb to mount at startup? (Worked fine in main edition.) Thanks!

Code: Select all

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
# for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
# devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
# / was on /dev/sda2 during installation
UUID=d970ccc1-40a1-4aed-bc41-0eb3dd61c3d7 /               ext3    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# /home was on /dev/sda4 during installation
UUID=de840bed-f8a0-4eb2-87b9-f9f262dbf257 /home           ext3    defaults        0       2
/dev/sda3       none            swap    sw              0       0
# swap was on /dev/sdb2 during installation
UUID=2cd9eab5-036c-49c9-8a63-25dc9cfc7ec5 none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/fd0        /media/floppy0  auto    rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0       0
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1916
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: Argyll and Bute

Re: LMDE doesn't see my second SATA hard drive

Post by caf4926 »

Is that the full fdisk result?
Where is the partition info
Linux Mint 21.1 Cinnamon
runbei

Re: LMDE doesn't see my second SATA hard drive

Post by runbei »

caf4926 wrote:Is that the full fdisk result?
Where is the partition info
Thanks for the reply - I corrected the listing to include the full fdisk result. Would be grateful for any help, as I keep all data on that drive.
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1916
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: Argyll and Bute

Re: LMDE doesn't see my second SATA hard drive

Post by caf4926 »

The way Mint handles disks where no fstab entry exists is the user manually calls the mount at access.

You could do this:

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /STORE
where STORE is the name of the directory you want to mount to, call it what you like. This will create a directory at /

I make an assumption that your login/user name is runbei,so replace as required for the next bit

Code: Select all

sudo chown -R runbei /STORE
Now add a line to fstab

Code: Select all

/dev/sdc1 /STORE vfat users,gid=users,umask=0002,utf8 0 0
reboot
Linux Mint 21.1 Cinnamon
altair4
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11458
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LMDE doesn't see my second SATA hard drive

Post by altair4 »

Now add a line to fstab

Code: Select all
/dev/sdc1 /STORE vfat users,gid=users,umask=0002,utf8 0 0
In order for that to actually work in LMDE ( or in standard Mint ) you are going to have to include yourself in the "users" group ( the "gid=users" option in fstab ). To add yourself in the users group:

Code: Select all

sudo gpasswd -a runbei users
Then logout and login again.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
runbei

Re: LMDE doesn't see my second SATA hard drive

Post by runbei »

Thanks a bunch - won't be able to try these suggestions until tonight, but will post results and mark "solved" if it works. Appreciate the help!
runbei

Re: LMDE doesn't see my second SATA hard drive

Post by runbei »

runbei wrote:Thanks a bunch - won't be able to try these suggestions until tonight, but will post results and mark "solved" if it works. Appreciate the help!
It worked - thanks a bunch.
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”