LMDE-Install-Update-Problem

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

LMDE-Install-Update-Problem

Postby J23 on Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:57 am

Hi :)

since the last days, I have got Problems with LMDE-Installation.
(The other LMDEs, I have installed, when LMDE came out in Sept.10, are running perfectly.)
This means only a new LMDE-Installation .. http://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=66

After Ground-Installation of LMDE .. the System works perfect, but:

After Installation of First-627-Updates, there is a Problem: LMDE doesnt boot again: "Warnins" & "Failed" ...
I Know the bug of Mint-deskop viewtopic.php?f=141&t=61063
Before updating this 627 upps, I do
Code: Select all
apt update
sudo rm /var/lib/dpkg/info/mintdesktop.prerm
apt install mintdesktop

but when the first 627 upps are finished,
there is a Mistake-Warning .. ".. can not be read .." or ".. can not be unlocked.." and so on ..
(sry, I dont know the exact words of the Warning-Windows)
.. and LMDE freezes and the Update-Program doesnt close automatically.

The System must be tilted with power-button on the PC.
Is there anybody, who can help?

Sry about my English!! Greetings from Germany :)
Thx a lot & bye , J .
Image
J23
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 5:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE-Install-Update-Problem

Postby vincent on Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:53 pm

Instead of using mintUpdate, open up a terminal and paste the following commands:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade


Paste back here with the exact error message(s) you get after running an apt-get dist-upgrade.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests