[Solved] MintMenu needs TWO clicks after a fresh login?!

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[Solved] MintMenu needs TWO clicks after a fresh login?!

Postby RavanH on Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:03 pm

Hi,

I noticed the weirdest thing: Each time I start my laptop and login, the first time I want to open the menu, I need to click it twice before it opens. After that, it will open immediately after the first click...

Maybe it is not really "not opening" as it does show the drop shadow that should be surrounding the menu. As a sort of ghost-menu, with the actual content being completely transparent.

Wonder if anyone else sees this behaviour. Might it be related to my graphics card? It's an ATI Radeon Xpress 200M onboard card with (currently) 128Mb shared memory using the radeon kernel driver. I can not enable Desktop Effects / Compiz (disabled in LMDE for this particular card/driver?) but I did set Gnome-composite (metacity composite) in Desktop settings...

Thanks for any thoughts :)
Last edited by RavanH on Mon Jan 17, 2011 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
RavanH
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:24 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: MintMenu needs TWO clicks after a fresh login?!

Postby Aging Technogeek on Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:58 pm

This has been posted before. The immediate work around until a permanent fix is found is to right click the menu icon, select Preferences, open the Options tab and set menu opacity to 100%. This seems to work for most users.
Image

Registered Linux User 483387
User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4604
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: MintMenu needs TWO clicks after a fresh login?!

Postby RavanH on Sat Jan 08, 2011 7:24 pm

Aging Technogeek wrote:This has been posted before. The immediate work around until a permanent fix is found is to right click the menu icon, select Preferences, open the Options tab and set menu opacity to 100%. This seems to work for most users.


Thanks Aging,

I had searched for mintmenu in the Debian specific forum but did not find that solution. Maybe it's in another forum then? I supposed it was LMDE specific because I have not seen it happen on any of the Mint installs I did before...

Will try it immediately!

EDIT: Yep, that solves it... Thanks ! :)
RavanH
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:24 am

Re: [Solved] MintMenu needs TWO clicks after a fresh login?!

Postby danger89 on Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:02 pm

Lol I got exactly the same issue. Strange fix however, hopefully it works fine here.

I was because of something I installed. I tried mac4lin and removed it again, after that I got this 2x click on Linux Mint menu problem. The rest seems to work normally again. It's GTK related.
9 years Linux experience, and still counting
User avatar
danger89
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 9:25 am
Location: The Netherlans

Re: [Solved] MintMenu needs TWO clicks after a fresh login?!

Postby Art1 on Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:20 am

This problem with Mintmenu is still here (I tried the Mint 14 MATE edition), so probably it isn't easy to repair it. That's why I wonder if it is possible to set the default opacity to 100% in the next Mint Mate release (and maybe remove the opacity option). It will be less confusing and Mint will look better for the people which don't like to search the solution on the internet.
Art1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 3:31 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest