If your scanner doesn't work

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby dwflo on Fri Jan 21, 2011 4:31 pm

Anyone get a Microtek ScanMaster 4900 working?

dwflo
User avatar
dwflo
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:32 am
Location: The Land Of Enchantment

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby SeaJulien on Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:26 am

Hi,
I have a Brother DCP-130C multifunction printer, and just installed it on my new LMDE install.
It works fine except I need to be root to scan...
I know the instructions of editing a udev rule, but nor of the ones mentioned in the Brother documentation are on my /etc/udev/rules.d/
So does anybody knows what to change to make it working ?
Thanks...
SeaJulien
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:13 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby allypink on Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:24 am

Ok folks. Here's your chance. I need to get myself a photo scanner to scan old family photos for future security. What's the best scanner for Linux Mint 10?
I would like something that works out of the box and does good quality scans. There has to be one. I await your collective advise. :wink:
Desktop; DELL Optiplex Core 2 Quad 8GB RAM
Run Mint 17, 1TB WD black 7200 and Win 7 320GB WD black 7200 (gotta for work)
Also run other distros from a dock swaping out older HDDs for PLAY!!
A happy donor to the effort. If you use it...... DONATE!
User avatar
allypink
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: Nambour Australia

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby Elisa on Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:51 am

Try to check this too, if u mean hw:

http://www.sane-project.org/sane-supported-devices.html
http://wize.com/reviews/best-scanner-linux

In generally, most HPs are ok.

If sw, 'simple scan' does its job however I always make other corrections/optimizations in Gimp ;)
Linux/Unix is about freedom, Windows about slavery.

md5 / sha1 check [how-to for NEWBIES] :idea:

Image
Score: 43 I have some hippie in me. Cool, man 8)
Take the elitemrp.net "Are you a Hippie?" Test
User avatar
Elisa
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:46 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby allypink on Sat Feb 12, 2011 7:10 am

Elisa wrote:Try to check this too, if u mean hw:

http://www.sane-project.org/sane-supported-devices.html
http://wize.com/reviews/best-scanner-linux

In generally, most HPs are ok.

If sw, 'simple scan' does its job however I always make other corrections/optimizations in Gimp ;)

Thanks Elisa. Plenty of examples on the supported devices page. I will check and see what's available in my area.
Al.
Desktop; DELL Optiplex Core 2 Quad 8GB RAM
Run Mint 17, 1TB WD black 7200 and Win 7 320GB WD black 7200 (gotta for work)
Also run other distros from a dock swaping out older HDDs for PLAY!!
A happy donor to the effort. If you use it...... DONATE!
User avatar
allypink
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: Nambour Australia

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby MyR on Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:38 pm

I have an all-in-one printer (Deskjet F4280); It scans OK with sane.
However pressing the scan button on the printer doesn't do anything. I was wondering if anyone here could help with this?

Thanks
Please share your Linux printer experience!
MyR
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:33 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby snapman on Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:27 am

I've installed a Brother printer/scanner DCP-135C in Linux Mint 9 but I can only scan as root.

I've read through this thread but can't work out what might solve the problem in Isadora. Any advice would be much appreciated.
snapman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:37 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby snapman on Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:59 am

snapman wrote:I've installed a Brother printer/scanner DCP-135C in Linux Mint 9 but I can only scan as root.

I've read through this thread but can't work out what might solve the problem in Isadora. Any advice would be much appreciated.


Answering my own question...

Installed sane, libsane and libsane-extras. One of those did the trick and Xsane now works with the Brother DCP-135C.
snapman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:37 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby Yeticannotski on Sun Apr 03, 2011 6:48 am

Dear All,

I was able to print out-of-the-box with a Lexmark X203n on my LMDE system, but I am not able to scan. Lexmark seems to have a Network Scan function, but I cannot connect the printer to the router. In the geography of my tiny apartment, is either USB or nothing.

I have followed the instructions in the thread, including creating the file "/etc/udev/rules.d/45-libsane.rules" and adding the following line to it:

Code: Select all
# Lexmark X203n
SYSFS{idVendor}=="043d", SYSFS{idProduct}=="0149", MODE="666", GROUP="scanner"


When I try "sudo-sane-find-scanner" I get the following output:

Code: Select all
# sane-find-scanner will now attempt to detect your scanner. If the
  # result is different from what you expected, first make sure your
  # scanner is powered up and properly connected to your computer.

  # No SCSI scanners found. If you expected something different, make sure that
  # you have loaded a kernel SCSI driver for your SCSI adapter.

found USB scanner (vendor=0x0483 [STMicroelectronics], product=0x2016 [Biometric Coprocessor]) at libusb:007:002
found USB scanner (vendor=0x043d [Lexmark International], product=0x0149 [Lexmark X203n]) at libusb:002:004
  # Your USB scanner was (probably) detected. It may or may not be supported by
  # SANE. Try scanimage -L and read the backend's manpage.

  # Not checking for parallel port scanners.

  # Most Scanners connected to the parallel port or other proprietary ports
  # can't be detected by this program.


However, neither Xsane nor Simple Scan are able to communicate with the scanner. Any ideas?

This is particularly frustrating because this multifunctional was expressly indicated as linux-supported (they even printed a Tux in the side of the box!!!).
Yeticannotski
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:34 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby donec on Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:42 pm

I have an HP Photosmart_Plus_B209a-m. It prints via the wireless just fine. It is seen by Simple Scan and in GIMP. When I try and scan with Simple Scan "Failed to scan unable to connect to scanner. When I click on change scanner it shows HP Photosmart_Plus_B209a-m. In reading this thread I found some lines to run via terminal and here is the results...
don@NV53A-MINT ~ $ uname -a
Linux NV53A-MINT 2.6.35-22-generic #33-Ubuntu SMP Sun Sep 19 20:32:27 UTC 2010 x86_64 GNU/Linux
don@NV53A-MINT ~ $ sane-config --version
The program 'sane-config' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
sudo apt-get install libsane-dev
don@NV53A-MINT ~ $ sane-find-scanner

# sane-find-scanner will now attempt to detect your scanner. If the
# result is different from what you expected, first make sure your
# scanner is powered up and properly connected to your computer.

# No SCSI scanners found. If you expected something different, make sure that
# you have loaded a kernel SCSI driver for your SCSI adapter.

# No USB scanners found. If you expected something different, make sure that
# you have loaded a kernel driver for your USB host controller and have setup
# the USB system correctly. See man sane-usb for details.

# Not checking for parallel port scanners.

# Most Scanners connected to the parallel port or other proprietary ports
# can't be detected by this program.

# You may want to run this program as root to find all devices. Once you
# found the scanner devices, be sure to adjust access permissions as
# necessary.
don@NV53A-MINT ~ $ scanimage -V
scanimage (sane-backends) 1.0.21; backend version 1.0.21
don@NV53A-MINT ~ $ scanimage -L
device `hpaio:/net/Photosmart_Plus_B209a-m?ip=192.168.1.17' is a Hewlett-Packard Photosmart_Plus_B209a-m all-in-one
don@NV53A-MINT ~ $

I also ran sudo apt-get install libsane-dev via terminal and it installed without error.
Any help in getting my scanner to work via wireless would be appreciated.
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM17 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby jp734 on Wed Apr 27, 2011 7:10 pm

I have a usb flatbed scanner. Not the printer/fax/scanner type. All I had to do was download the .BIN file for the scanner, saved it somewhere in my harddrive and edit the snapscan.conf file under /etc/sane.d.

# Change to the fully qualified filename of your firmware file, if firmware upload is needed by the scanner
firmware /usr/share/sane/snapscan/your-firmwarefile.bin #EDIT THIS PART AND TYPE THE DIRECTORY AND FILENAME FOR YOUR SCANNER.

That's all I had to do and reboot was not needed.
IBM-X41 1.5GHz 1GB 32Gb - Lubuntu 12.10
---
Custom PC: Core2Quad 2.83GHz - 4GB - (3) Dell E197FP, (2) Radeon HD 5450
--- Linux Mint 15 Mate - Lubuntu 13.04 - CrunchBang Waldorf


Image
jp734
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:18 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby kingsthane on Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:11 pm

For those with Brother scanners I just solved my DCP7030 problem. The solution was on their website, but took just a little rooting around to find it. Here's the Linux Mint post:

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=92593&p=531351#p531351

Hope this helps, cheers
kingsthane
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 1:38 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby OldgitTom on Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:21 am

Noob query;

can I get a ten-year old Canon Lide 20 scanner working in Linux Mint 12?

I am not optimistic. Even trying to update the old Wins XP driver, from the Canon site, was a futile exercise. So now, can it be used with Linux? I have the OE Canon disk, but the driver unloads with the Wins scanning software. AFA I can see, no separate driver on the CD, not that I would have much idea where to put it.

If so, next step will be asking if it will scan into Libre Writer. I managed that on Wins XP, scanning direct into Word 2007, but it was not easy. But first things first, like Simple Scan.

Any suggestions received with thanks, especially if they are simplified for the nearly clueless.
OldgitTom
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:25 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby OldgitTom on Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:49 am

Solved: searching the net, read that my battered old Canon Lide 20 scanner does indeed work in Linux. All that was required was installing SANE, from Software Manager. That done, off it goes. Well, early days yet. Picture crop in Simple Scan allows me to select, but not cut. Clicked Help box, but that file is apparently missing.

But lovely! Libre Writer has direct scan-in of images. Terrific stuff, or will be when I work out how to do it properly. All I usually did with pix in Wins was crop & resize. The Msoft Word image-edit widgets for that were very good & quick. Could/should have been the basic image-editing tool, except you could not 'Save as' jpeg file, only Word format. Good old Bill; a free fly in every ointment!
OldgitTom
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:25 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby ashjeny on Wed Mar 14, 2012 2:33 am

Please give me more details this topic.because my scanner not work properly.
ashjeny
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:16 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby OldgitTom on Tue May 08, 2012 4:05 am

ashjany,

sorry, I just noted your enquiry. I'm afraid I have very little experience, so can add little to above posts, except as said - download SANE scanner with SOFTWARE MANAGER (s/where on your desktop). If that doesn't work, for any problems with particular scanners, you may have to post another query.
OldgitTom
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:25 am

I'm going insane with SANE on my scanner

Postby R9Devyatka on Thu May 10, 2012 9:46 pm

Greetings. I'm trying to use a 12 yr old Genius Color-page vivid III EPP model.

The fact is than i tried to move the files suggested in the first threads but i have no results.

My system is a Lisa (mint 12) 64bit edition.

i'm not sure if this scanner definitively doesnt work on a 64 bit system (since i tried on windows with no result).

Thanks for your answers.
R9Devyatka
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 11:48 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby hcmonteiro on Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:51 pm

Hi guys,

Just solved another problem in my linux mint 13 mate. I've got a Canon Lide 100 that wasn't working folowed the instrutions that i've read here:


Installed sane, libsane and libsane-extras. One of those did the trick and Xsane now works with Canon Lide 100.

Thanks Guys. More and more this is becoming a perfect system. Fast and reliable.
Thks

Hugo Monteiro
hcmonteiro
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:11 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby businessmik on Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:04 am

OldgitTom, interesting that you can get your 10 years old Canon scanner to work...

I've tried what you did with my brand new (2012) Canon all-in-one printer/scanner i-Sensys MF4430 and it is impossible.

(Linux 13, Mate, 32-bit, Asus Laptop + sane, libs and simplescan).

There is an official PRINTER DRIVER on Canon website, but no SCANNER DRIVER.

I've sent a mail to Canon support, asking whether there might be a scanner driver somewhere, or a driver for another model but similar to mine.

Answer: "no, sorry".

So my all-in-one machine can only print under Linux. When I bought it 6 months ago, I was still under Windows and did not plan to move to Linux. But after an ultimate crash and many hours wasted, I've moved all my business to Linux, and now I would like to be able to do everything on Linux.

Sadly... it seems that I'll have to make a dual boot and reinstall Vista... JUST for scanning!

Well in fact, from a business perspective (and from a profit perspective), it would probably be cheaper to buy a basic scanner compatible with Linux and forget about my Canon printer scanning feature. If I take into account the number of hours required to install Windows, updates, etc... It will cost much more $$$ (or euros) than a new scanner.

But it is very annoying not to be able to use my beautiful machine. Moreover, I've spent a long time to choose it among other models because I especially wanted an all-in-one to gain space in my office...

Canon, never again.
businessmik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:39 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Postby fbockstael on Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:18 am

Hello to all users,

I have a Canon MX515 (MX510 series).
After installing drivers from Canon website I can scan with GIMP but scanner is not recognized in sane/xsane.
When I unistall libsane I get a correct output with:

$ scanimage -L
device `pixma:MX510_192.168.1.16' is a CANON Canon PIXMA MX510 Series multi-function peripheral

When I install libsane I get an error:

$ scanimage -L
No scanners were identified. If you were expecting something different,
check that the scanner is plugged in, turned on and detected by the
sane-find-scanner tool (if appropriate). Please read the documentation
which came with this software (README, FAQ, manpages).

Does someone now what is wrong, or what I do wrong?

Thanks in advance.
fbockstael
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 10:13 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Hardware Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 19 guests