Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detected)

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
jojopumpkin

Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detected)

Post by jojopumpkin »

SOLVED. See my final post below

I have been trying for days to get my nvidia card to display resolutions greater than 1024x768. I have tried numerous avenues to no avail.

My monitor is a generic LCD and I can't find any specs on it (Starlogic M17ANA) It is capable of 1280x1024 as displayed through MS Windows. I get that the card and the hardware detection cannot detect and resolve the specs for this monitor and it just "defaults" me out.

When I try to change the xorg.conf and reboot I either get booted back in and the xorg file has changed back to the default and hashed my changes or I boot in to recovery mode.

here is my etc/X11/xorg.conf

Code: Select all

# xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# Note that some configuration settings that could be done previously
# in this file, now are automatically configured by the server and settings
# here are ignored.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier	"Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier	"Default Screen"
	Monitor		"Configured Monitor"
	Device		"Configured Video Device"
	DefaultDepth	24
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier	"Configured Video Device"
	Driver	"nvidia"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
	Option	"DontZap"	"False"
EndSection
Here is my xorg.conf as displayed through nvidia x server settings

Code: Select all

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Default Layout"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "DontZap" "False"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "NUL"
    HorizSync       31.5 - 54.9
    VertRefresh     60.0 - 68.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Configured Video Device"
    Driver         "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 6200"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Default Screen"
    Device         "Configured Video Device"
    Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
    DefaultDepth    24
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "1024x768 +0+0; nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
After exhaustively searching this and many other forums for a solution, I'm beginning to think I cannot get to the desired resolution.
If there is anything anyone can suggest, have at it. I am not a whiz with linux but can get around ok. Please offer suggestions and queries with some instruction if you can. It really would be appreciated.

Thanks for taking time to read my issue.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
dawgdoc

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by dawgdoc »

First point, did you open the nvidia-settings application as root (administrator)? If not the settings will not be saved after a reboot. To open it as root:

Code: Select all

sudo gksu nvidia-settings
If that does not resolve the issues, then determine what settings your video chip, driver and monitor are capable of:

Code: Select all

xrandr
If more help is needed we will need to know details about your system

Code: Select all

inxi -Gx
jojopumpkin

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by jojopumpkin »

dawgdoc wrote:First point, did you open the nvidia-settings application as root (administrator)?

Code: Select all

sudo gksu nvidia-settings
Yes, I have done that.
dawgdoc wrote:If that does not resolve the issues, then determine what settings your video chip, driver and monitor are capable of:

Code: Select all

xrandr

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       60.0* 
   800x600        60.0  
   640x480        60.0  
   720x400        70.0  
   680x384        60.0  
   576x432        60.0  
   512x384        60.0  
   400x300        60.0  
   320x240        60.0  
Isn't this just telling me what the xrandr THINKS I have due to the xserver's not detecting my monitor?
dawgdoc wrote:If more help is needed we will need to know details about your system

Code: Select all

inxi -Gx

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Card nVidia NV44A [GeForce 6200] X.Org 1.6.0 Res 1024x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer Software Rasterizer GLX Version Yes
Thanks for your thorough reply. I have been using the latest nvidia drivers and have tried the other two available. The driver is currently uninstalled. Attempts to modify my xorg.conf have been WITH the nvidia driver activated. I have made attempts to change the .conf file without the nvidia driver but just get dumped into recovery mode. I have had some success (if you want to call it that) in getting my monitor do display something different but I ended up with a kaleidescope. I think my issue is the refresh rates and the mode lines. I don't think I'm putting in the right data or I'm incorrectly formatting it.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6701
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by AlbertP »

Can you set the resolution through 'Screens' in the menu > Preferences, when the driver is not installed?
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
jojopumpkin

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by jojopumpkin »

The resolutions available to me in the standard settings are the same as xrandr reported.
jojopumpkin

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by jojopumpkin »

Just grabbing at straws here. Anyway, let's see if we can figure out where I'm wrong with this xorg.conf. Have to start somewhere.

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Card nVidia NV44A [GeForce 6200] X.Org 1.6.0 Res 1024x768@51.0hz
           GLX Renderer GeForce 6200/AGP/SSE2 GLX Version 2.1.2 NVIDIA 180.44
xorg.conf

Code: Select all

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Default Layout"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "DontZap" "False"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "NUL"
    HorizSync       31.5 - 54.9
    VertRefresh     60.0 - 68.0
    ModeLine       "1280x1024" 151.83 1280 1360 1544 1888 1024 1024 1027 1072
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Configured Video Device"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Option         "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 6200"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Default Screen"
    Device         "Configured Video Device"
    Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
    DefaultDepth    24
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "1024x768 +0+0; nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "1280x1024_75 +0+0; 1024x768 +0+0; nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "1024x768 +0+0; nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
I added this line
ModeLine "1280x1024" 151.83 1280 1360 1544 1888 1024 1024 1027 1072

in the Monitor0 section

and this line

Option "1280x1024_75 +0+0"

in the Screen section. nvidia added all that follows on that line.

The result was: defaulted to 1027x768 @ 60hz

Is there a way to force a "metamode"?
In the settings gui there is an option to ADD a metamode but when clicked, it only duplicates the selected mode.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6701
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by AlbertP »

The proprietary driver does not use 'Monitor' sections. You should put such things in the 'Screen' section at the bottom of the file.

Code: Select all

Option         "1280x1024_75 +0+0; 1024x768 +0+0; nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
should be:

Code: Select all

Option         "1280x1024 +0+0; nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
jojopumpkin

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by jojopumpkin »

jojopumpkin wrote: I added this line
ModeLine "1280x1024" 151.83 1280 1360 1544 1888 1024 1024 1027 1072

in the Monitor0 section


and this line

Option "1280x1024_75 +0+0"

in the Screen section.
Sorry for the poor formatting on my post. still defaulting.

There are a great deal of people having this issue or have had this issue. I'm willing to accept defeat.

What is leading me to believe that this is just not possible is the fact that Windows doesn't readily detect this monitor's capability @ 1280x1024 @ 75hz. I have to select the advance options and lie to the the system to offer it. I was hoping I could do that here. It displays nicely @ 1280x1024. I have been able to get it to display this resolution with older distributions (excluding Mint and Ubuntu) but not with the nvidia driver. I think I'm in a "square peg - round hole" situation here.

If anyone wants to add to this with suggestions feel free. I'll keep trying. Even if I break the monitor trying. :) So long as there are no fires of course.

Thanks to you both for chiming in and offering suggestions.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6701
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by AlbertP »

If your monitor is not yet very old you could bring it back to the shop because 1280x1024 is not working.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
jojopumpkin

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by jojopumpkin »

Ok, I tweaked my xorg.conf and managed to "unlock" a few more resolutions. and xranr sees them. So what I think I've learned is that xrandr is dependent of the "Hsync and Vrefresh"

xrandr reads

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       50.0*    52.0  
   800x600        51.0     55.0     56.0     57.0  
   840x525        53.0  
   832x624        54.0  
   800x512        58.0  
   720x450        59.0  
   680x384        60.0     61.0  
   640x512        62.0  
   640x480        63.0     64.0     65.0     66.0  
   576x432        67.0     68.0     69.0     70.0  
   512x384        71.0     72.0     73.0  
   416x312        74.0  
   400x300        75.0     76.0     77.0     78.0  
   320x240        79.0     80.0     81.0  
My previous xrandr

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       60.0*
   800x600        60.0 
   640x480        60.0 
   720x400        70.0 
   680x384        60.0 
   576x432        60.0 
   512x384        60.0 
   400x300        60.0 
   320x240        60.0  
xorg.conf is now as follows

Code: Select all

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (buildd@palmer)  Sun Feb  1 20:21:04 UTC 2009

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder63)  Mon Mar 23 15:33:27 PST 2009

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    Option         "DontZap" "False"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

	# generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "NUL"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 85.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "HorizSync" "CRT-0: 30.0 - 85.0"
    Option         "VertRefresh" "CRT-0: 56.0 - 75.0"
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 6200"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "1024x768 +0+0; 1024x768_60 +0+0; 800x600 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Still can't get the 1280x1024 to stick in the .conf nor will it show up in my choices but I think I've made some progress.
jojopumpkin

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by jojopumpkin »

I've managed to get xrandr to see my desired resolution but I'm getting and error when I attempt to apply it. I have un-installed my nvidia driver for the time being to see if I can get this straight.

i defaulted everything before I got started

Code: Select all

xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       60.0* 
   800x600        60.0  
   640x480        60.0  
   720x400        70.0  
   680x384        60.0  
   576x432        60.0  
   512x384        60.0  
   400x300        60.0  
   320x240        60.0  
I then added this in the terminal

Code: Select all

cvt 1280 1024
and got this

Code: Select all

# 1280x1024 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.31M4) hsync: 63.67 kHz; pclk: 109.00 MHz
Modeline "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
]
added this

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
then this

Code: Select all

xrandr --addmode default 1280x1024_60.00
xrandr now reads

Code: Select all

xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       60.0* 
   800x600        60.0  
   640x480        60.0  
   720x400        70.0  
   680x384        60.0  
   576x432        60.0  
   512x384        60.0  
   400x300        60.0  
   320x240        60.0  
   1280x1024_60.00   59.9  
now this

Code: Select all

xrandr --output default --mode 1280x1024_60.00
and get this

Code: Select all

xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed
I've tried this with 1280x1024_75.00 also and got the same results.

Any idea where that "crtc 0 failed" is coming from? I thought I had it but then got that. GRRRR!

To those reading this looking for similar answers, this may work for you, though these changes aren't permanent. To do that you need to add some lines to /etc/gdm/Init/Default or /etc/gdm/PreSession/Default to make it stick. I haven't done that yet so I don't know which one to modify so you may have to seek answers on that elsewhere.
DrHu

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by DrHu »

I think you are trying the hard way too fast
--try nvidia-settings utility, which you usually/sometimes have to install, and see if that allows more resolutions selections
  • Remembering that you need to start it with sudo, as in gksudo nvidia-settings, in order to enable that utility to rewrite the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file
http://linux.die.net/man/1/nvidia-settings
nvidia GUI application/utility to setup the X-server display(s)
http://linux.die.net/man/1/nvidia-xconfig
nvidia x-server basic control..

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=3908
--some Mint forums data on that utility
jojopumpkin

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by jojopumpkin »

Thanks for making a suggestion DrHu.

I've been through the nvidia-settings GUI, it comes with the installation of the nvidia driver (see second post). As for the nvidia-xconfig there is not much there in the way of adding modes aside from me just adding them directly to the xorg.conf directly which has proven fruitless.

Xrandr seemed to be the right track for my situation but that crtc 0 failed error is standing between me and my goal. crtc 0 translates through google searches as a DEAD END which for me means it cannot be done.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6701
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by AlbertP »

Warning: Xrandr displays modes that aren't possible when using the Nvidia proprietary driver. Xrandr + Nvidia proprietary does not work well.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
dawgdoc

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by dawgdoc »

@jojo

Sorry there has been nothing from me. I have been away from the forums for 4-5 days. I would think that you are being limited by your monitor. If I understand the xrandr command, the output is based on the resolutions possible with your combination of graphics chipset, video driver and monitor. Change any one of the three and the output may change.

I have not used the 180.xx series drivers, but with the 176.xx (?) driver and an Nvidia Geforce Go 6150 I was able to get 1280x800 resolution. I have had the same resolution with the 190.xx and 260.xx series drivers. I am using a laptop and the screens native resolution is 1280x800.

Code: Select all

dawgdoc-lmd@dv6000-laptop-lmd ~ $ inxi -Gx
Graphics:  Card nVidia C51 [Geforce Go 6150] X.Org 1.9.5 Res: 1280x800@50.0hz 
           GLX Renderer GeForce Go 6150/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW! GLX Version 2.1.2 NVIDIA 260.19.44 Direct Rendering Yes
I will not post the xrandr output, but it topped out at 1280x800 50.0. No tweaking has been required on my part.

Since I have used nvidia drivers newer and older than the one you posted about using and since I am using an older chipset, I think your monitor is your shortfall. I believe you already seem to be headed to that conclusion. Again I wish I could offer a useful solution.
Sevalecan

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by Sevalecan »

OK, it's been what, half a year since this thread was started? Longer? Yeah, it's sad. Yes, I'm reviving a really old thread, and as my first post here. No, I don't use Mint Linux. Actually, I run straight Debian. So, I'll cut to the chase:

I came upon this thread looking for answers to getting the Craplogic.. Excuse me, Starlogic M17ANA monitor working at its proper resolution in Linux. Clearly, this thread was a dead end, so I ended up finding the solution for myself, and am apparently the only one to do so any ever mention how. This monitor is a real piece of junk in the sense of how the operating systems detect the available modes. Windows provides me with an ability to "list all modes", and somehow I'm able to get a full 1280x1024 resolution and everything. Linux does not provide me that luxury, and it's kind of disturbing to me. So what did I do? I searched for a program that would find the mode that Windows had currently set and was working, and give me a modeline for Linux. This program is called "Powerstrip". Am I suggesting you install it? No. Now it starts up with windows and forces me to stare at a TIP window for 60 seconds or so before it lets me close it. It's not even an advertisement, but it'll let me get rid of the forced tips if I register it.. I'm just going to uninstall it.

Now, the whole point of this post: I found that this Modeline works for reaching a 1280x1024 resolution in 24-bit depth on Linux with the Starlogic M17ANA monitor.

Code: Select all

ModeLine    "1280x1024" 108.000 1280 1336 1448 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
Here's the whole Screen/Monitor setup:

Code: Select all

Section "Monitor"
    Option      "DPMS"  "true"
    Identifier  "Monitor0"
    Option      "IgnoreEDID" "true"
    ModeLine    "1280x1024" 108.000 1280 1336 1448 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen0"
    Monitor     "Monitor0"
    Device      "Radeon0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth 24
        Modes "1280x1024"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

It works for me, maybe it'll work for you (assuming that the person who posted this thread ever sees my reply 6 months later). That would thrill me. If not, you know what you can try(Powerstrip). Or maybe some poor soul with this monitor and issues will come here and find a solution.
jojopumpkin

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by jojopumpkin »

@Sevalecan; Thanks for the update. Hopefully this helps others. When I get some free time, I will attempt your solution. I've since had a new addition to the family so my "me" time has been non-existent.
jojopumpkin

Re: Nvidia Resolution Issues (monitor capabilities not detec

Post by jojopumpkin »

A few Linux Mint Versions and a few years later and it is DONE!

The answer:

http://unix.stackexchange.com/a/67716
First just try setting the resolution:

xrandr --output VGA-2 --size 1920x1200

If that doesn't work (which I think it won't as 1920x1200 isn't a mode) then do the following:

cvt 1920 1200

Copy and paste the full modeline information e.g. for me I get:

Modeline "1920x1200_60.00" 193.25 1920 2056 2256 2592 1200 1203 1209 1245 -hsync +vsync

What we want to copy is what is after Modeline e.g. "1920x1200_60.00" 193.25 1920 2056 2256 2592 1200 1203 1209 1245 -hsync +vsync

Now do the following:

xrandr --newmode <WHAT_WE_COPIED_FROM_MODELINE>
xrandr --addmode VGA-2 1920x1200_60.00

e.g. in the second command after the VGA-2 we put the bit in quotes from modeline

Finally:

xrandr --output VGA-2 --mode 1920x1200_60.00

The same descriptor for the mode.

This should create a new mode of 1920x1200, assign that mode for VGA-2 and then set VGA-2 to use that mode.
You'll want to change the monitor name and resolution in the example to the one that suits your needs. Then you'll want to make this change persistent so you don't have to go through this EVERY TIME you reboot. For that I went [url=http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=59&p=648288]here[/url] and found the following which works for me and Linux Mint KDE (Olivia).
asobczak wrote:Hi,
In my case it works this way:
I create a file 91_custom_xrandr and place it in directory /etc/X11/Xsession.d
Be carefull about names in this directory, since they have to follow the rules described in man Xsessions
file content:
xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_60.00" 173.00 1920 2048 2248 2576 1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode HDMI1 1920x1080_60.00
...again, you'll want to change the monitor name and resolution in the example to the one that suits your needs.

If there is a better way to achieve xrandr persistence in KDE or any other version please continue this thread. Thanks.

I'm amazed this monitor still works considering it's a cheapo oddball and I don't even know when I bought it. I know it was a few years before the original post.
Locked

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”