Can not get Wired Connection to work Laptop, LMDE

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Can not get Wired Connection to work Laptop, LMDE

Postby shikmehmet on Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:28 am

Hello All

*NOTE soryy guys, i mixed this up before, saying i had no WIF, I meant i have no Wired LAN , wifi is fine

I have a dell 600 M laptop

I have perfectly normal working wifi but no wired connection, I have used lmde for a half year now, and only recently tried to connect with the lan and nothing happened. I have tried for about 2 weeks to solve this myself and have come to the conclusion that i can not and therefore will ask for your help and also thank you in advance.



a word of warning - i know how to copy and paste commands , i don't really understand what most of them do, I know how to open files and edit them, the commands below are what i have found and looked for myself on the net, but still no luck.

i really thank you guys for helping,

here is some info i have know

==============================================
sudo ifconfig -a

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0e:35:16:3d:88
inet addr:10.0.1.8 Bcast:10.0.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20e:35ff:fe16:3d88/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:5795 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5521 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:5595057 (5.3 MiB) TX bytes:902330 (881.1 KiB)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xc000 Memory:fafef000-fafeffff

eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:1f:a5:ec:e9
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:11

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1136 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1136 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:95444 (93.2 KiB) TX bytes:95444 (93.2 KiB)


========================================================================

cat /etc/network/interfaces

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
#NetworkManager#iface eth0 inet dhcp

========================================================================

sudo ifconfig eth0 up

eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device

========================================================================

sudo cat /var/log/dmesg | grep -i eth

[ 2.964011] tg3 0000:02:00.0: eth0: Tigon3 [partno(BCM95705A50) rev 3001] (PCI:33MHz:32-bit) MAC address 00:0f:1f:a5:ec:e9
[ 2.964011] tg3 0000:02:00.0: eth0: attached PHY is 5705 (10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet) (WireSpeed[1], EEE[0])
[ 2.964011] tg3 0000:02:00.0: eth0: RXcsums[1] LinkChgREG[0] MIirq[0] ASF[0] TSOcap[1]
[ 2.964011] tg3 0000:02:00.0: eth0: dma_rwctrl[763f0000] dma_mask[64-bit]
[ 7.548012] udevd[280]: renamed network interface eth0 to eth2
[ 8.239212] udevd[282]: renamed network interface eth0 to eth1
[ 15.400689] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth2: link is not ready

===============================================================================

lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to I/O Controller (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 81)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 01)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV250 [Mobility FireGL 9000] (rev 02)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5705M Gigabit Ethernet (rev ff)
02:01.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711EC1 SmartCardBus Controller (rev 20)
02:01.1 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711EC1 SmartCardBus Controller (rev 20)
02:03.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection (rev 05)
Last edited by shikmehmet on Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
shikmehmet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No wireless AT ALL EVER Laptop, LMDE

Postby terdon on Tue Nov 08, 2011 1:04 pm

Hi, well first of all, what do you mean by "working wifi" and "no wireless"? The two seem mutually exclusive.

In any case, please post the output of this command:
Code: Select all
iwconfig


Just so you know, the command
Code: Select all
ifconfig eth0 up

tells your system to activate eth0. You get an error because there is no such card in your system. You can see that by looking at the output of ifconfig where you only have eth1 and eth2.

From the output of your ifconfig, my guess is that your wireless card is eth2, and that eth1 (that is actually connected) is the ethernet, wired, card. So, I assume that your actual situation is that the wired connection works but wifi (otherwise known as wireless) does not.

The problem in cases like this is usually identifying the right module (the equivalent of window's driver) for your card. From the output of lspci, you can identify your wireless card as
"Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG ". A google search for "LMDE Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG" returned this forum post where someone else has managed to make it work. Try it and post back here if you are still having problems.
User avatar
terdon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:52 pm
Location: Marseille

Re: Can not get Wired Connection to work Laptop, LMDE

Postby shikmehmet on Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:34 pm

Thanks for your reply, and sorry i had it the wrong way around before, i hope that i cleared it up for you. WIFI is working but wired is not working

sudo iwconfig


lo no wireless extensions.

eth2 no wireless extensions.

eth1 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"Castle"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:1F:F3:F4:B7:B1
Bit Rate:11 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm Sensitivity=8/0
Retry limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:EF2B-189B-14DB-CFAE-246C-0888-3D41-E934 Security mode:open
Power Management:off
Link Quality=53/100 Signal level=-69 dBm Noise level=-89 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:13
shikmehmet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:58 pm

Re: Can not get Wired Connection to work Laptop, LMDE

Postby DrHu on Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:04 pm

You have a lot of errors coming from a DHCP server
    First question, is it your DHCP or is it an internet service providers DHCP, that is their router/ISP connection ?
    2nd question, why do you use hotplug assignment for the ethernet card
    --it will come up automatically when the system boots, provided the correct device module is being loaded for it
http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.linux.d ... ser/415005
http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/setting-up ... aces-file/
Code: Select all
Setup interface to dhcp
To setup eth0 to dhcp, enter:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp


You also seem to have two ethernet cards (network devices: eth0 and eth1)
--one option, if you can do it and assuming you didn't need two cards enabled is to disable one of them (eth2 for example) in the bios of the notebook, and auto activate it on startup
    Does that work ?

Dell 620 M platform, check its functions and network setups/drivers..
http://guilds.net/machines/600m/
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1488006
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/HardwareSupport ... aptopsDell
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6694
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Can not get Wired Connection to work Laptop, LMDE

Postby Oscar799 on Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:11 am

Moved here from the main forum
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8826
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Can not get Wired Connection to work Laptop, LMDE

Postby shikmehmet on Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:34 am

Hey Oscar, thanks for the help so far.

I'm at a loss.

This computer has lived off an ethernet cable in the past quite happily with a diferent OS.

I booted it up (via a USB LIVE key ) with Linux Mint Gnome, LMDE and something called WATT0S to see if it was my OS. WattOS used WCID as a network manager.

None of them Worked with the cable. I then tried a friends computer with WattOS, it found the WIFI , but also did not work with the lan cable.

This is the set up where i live.

There is a cable modem, Coaxial cable coming in, a phone and an ethernet comming out. The Ethernet plugs into a wireless router.

I assumed if you can get the WIFI no worries, then unplugging the router, and putting that cable directly into the computer would also work. I'm at a dead loss.

At a friends house, He only has a cable, no wifi, and that works fine for him, I will try it again at his house, (that is where i discovered my Lan does not work ), I will try it with the USB live key with the other operating systems on my laptop, and if it does not work, for a control i will try it on his laptop too. I know it used to work right out of the box with my connection i had (in another country ) > unplug the router, put the cable directly into the computer, and hey presto. But no luck at the moment.

--------------------------------

Thank you for the responses so far.
I do not know why i have eth1 and eth2, i thought the lan was eth0 and the wifi was eth1, but i'm at a loss. In the bios I can only disable the modem, i also no nothing about DHCP settings you mentioned.

My computer has a fault also in that i have to push down hard to get it to turn on, otherwise the lights blink a little and nothing happens, Sometimes on skype, my mic dropes out and pushing down hard fixes it. LOOSE connection somewhere. It is possible this is contributing to the LAN RJ45 jack not working properly.

-----------------------------------

Over the next few days i will try it with different connections and see what i can make of it. I will post back after that.

Thank you so far!
shikmehmet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:58 pm

Re: Can not get Wired Connection to work Laptop, LMDE

Postby terdon on Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:35 am

I wouldn't disable anything. eth2 is your wireless card and eth1 is your wired card. What happens when you try this:
Code: Select all
sudo ifconfig eth2 up


If that fixes it then everything was set up correctly but for some reason your card was not being activated. However, since your system can recognize your cards, my guess is that you just need to load the right module. I think (based on a google search) that the module for your card is called tg3, so try this:
Code: Select all
 sudo modprobe tg3
User avatar
terdon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:52 pm
Location: Marseille

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Ethernet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests