What hardware ya using??

Chat about just about anything else

What hardware ya using??

Postby Sammaul on Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:44 pm

Hi all, was browsing through some threads and decided to start this thread. What hardware are ya using and how do you like it with Linux, Mint or Other?

For myself I'm running a Gateway laptop, with a i3-370 processor, 4 gig 1066 RAM, and a 320 gig 5400 rpm hdd...graphics are intel integrated, so no real gaming, though that is not much of a problem for me laptop wise. This was definately a budget model, though my only real complaint it the casing feels cheap. And I still can't figure out how to get video output from my Hmdi lol Gotta say though I miss my old laptop, a toshiba 17.3 with AMD turion 64, 3 gigs of DDR2 ram, and 250 gig hdd...forget what graphics card I had lol Sold that puppy when I bought this one, trying to save costs, and I still think about what Linux OS I would run on that, distro hopping...I lean toward the new Mint LDE, figure it would look absolutely awesome on that 17 inch screen. What about you? Any old hardware you got rid of that you wished you hadn't, even just to see what distro would work best on it?
Sammaul
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby xenopeek on Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:25 am

Also check the hardware compatibility reviews over at the community website: http://community.linuxmint.com/hardware/welcome

Review how Linux Mint is working with your hardware :wink:
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14509
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby Sammaul on Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:55 pm

Actually wasnt my intention with this thread, was trying to start a simple hardware discussion, though re-reading my orig post I think maybe could have phrased it better
Sammaul
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48 pm

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby outfieldgrass on Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:27 pm

I just picked up an Asus u56e to replace my previous laptop.

Intel Core i5 2.5GHz
6GB DDR3
750GB HD 5400RPM

Its got integrated graphics but to be honest I don't play any games on here other than my text baseball simulator. For what I need its an amazing computer. Love the keyboard as well. Asus did a great job with that. Never did boot into Windows. Threw in the Linux Mint 12 DVD from the start and its been Linux ever since.
''Any time you have an opportunity to make a difference in this world and you don't, then you are wasting your time on Earth.''
~ Roberto Clemente
User avatar
outfieldgrass
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:56 pm
Location: Port Angeles, WA

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby Sammaul on Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Nice :) That a Sandy Bridge processor? Gotta love the fact Intel is now providing such support for the Linux kernel...maybe they see which way the wind is blowing for desktop computing? lol That DDR3 1066 mhz or 1333?

And what do ya think of the new trend with both AMD and Intel moving toward coprocessors? Its exciting on the surface, but I wonder if that will make future AMD chipsets almost unusable in Linux
Sammaul
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48 pm

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby outfieldgrass on Sun Feb 12, 2012 5:32 am

Sammaul wrote:Nice :) That a Sandy Bridge processor? Gotta love the fact Intel is now providing such support for the Linux kernel...maybe they see which way the wind is blowing for desktop computing? lol That DDR3 1066 mhz or 1333?

And what do ya think of the new trend with both AMD and Intel moving toward coprocessors? Its exciting on the surface, but I wonder if that will make future AMD chipsets almost unusable in Linux


To be honest im not sure on the specifics of my laptop. I could tell you everything about my desktop, which I built lol. Im guessing its 1066 though.

Ive always been a huge AMD supporter and I still think they make a great product but my last two laptops have had Intel CPU's and I have to say they have served me well. Still expensive when building your own computer though.
''Any time you have an opportunity to make a difference in this world and you don't, then you are wasting your time on Earth.''
~ Roberto Clemente
User avatar
outfieldgrass
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:56 pm
Location: Port Angeles, WA

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby Sammaul on Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:12 pm

Oh I agree completely, especially for day to day tasks, and gaming, AMD processors are an excellent choice. Linux driver support is terrible however. But If I was running a gaming rig, AMD would be my choice for processing power. Intel is still a generation or so ahead of AMD however, and for a number of programs or for multitasking needs, I would bite the proverbial bullet and get an Intel.
Sammaul
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48 pm

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby Xourii on Sun Feb 12, 2012 7:08 pm

My laptop's a bit ancient, haha.

2.1 GHz dual core Intel Celeron
Intel Integrated Graphics (Chipset family or something like that)
2GB DDR2 RAM
160GB SSD
Xourii
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 7:01 pm

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby Sammaul on Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:34 am

haha With that ssd though your speed must be impressive with a number of programs.
Sammaul
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48 pm

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby Lumikki on Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:41 am

Self build computer in Fractal design R2 case, Asus P7P55D motherboard, i5 750 2.6GHz CPU, 4GB DDR3, AMD radeon 5770 GPU, 80GB Intel SSD.
Asus P7P55D, i5 750 2.6Ghz, 4GB DDR3, radeon 6540 (Gallium 0.4), 80GB Intel SSD, Dell 1920x1200, Dual boot, Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon, Windows 7
User avatar
Lumikki
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:21 pm

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby Sammaul on Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:12 pm

Nice :) You dual bootin Win and Linux in that? Or run a vm?
Sammaul
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:48 pm

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby chakramint on Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:19 am

Bought a barebone MSI 12" laptop in early '07; installed a 1.66ghz c2d, 5400rpm hdd, wifi, and 3gb ddr2. Just recently installed LMDE xfce for its rolling rels (and due to WinXP's eol in 2014?)
Ran HP dv-7se (my 4th laptop) for about 8mos b4 getting tired of fan noise which finally forced me to get a desktop--kinda, it's case-less, (2011) w/ entries everything: ASrock mobo, 8gb value ddr3, Athlon II x3 3.2ghz rana (unlocked to x4), 7200rpm laptop hdd, a cheap dvd-rw, cheap usb wifi card, antec 380watts 80+bronze, and an unusable Radeon HD 5670 (in linux), but pretty good w/ Sony VMS in WinXP.
chakramint
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:46 am

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby AlbertP on Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:05 am

My desktop is currently Asus P4P800SE motherboard plus Intel Pentium 4 HT 3.2GHz. But I'm going to build another desktop. I'll get an Asus M4N68T LE V2 motherboard soon, and will try to get a Sempron or Athlon II X2 CPU for it. The old desktop already has a GeForce 6600 GT AGP graphics card from XFX, and for the new desktop I've got a passively cooled PCIe version from Asus of the 6600 GT for €15.

By the way, I've also built a 100 MB ZIP drive into the old desktop. Don't think I'll use it much.
Last edited by AlbertP on Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby KittyKatt on Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:08 am

Desktop is pretty awesome, here's it's specs...

Motherboard: GigaByte P55A-UD3
Processor: Quad-core i5 760 series clocked @ 2.80 MHz
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS
Graphics #1: nVidia GT218 (GeForce 210 PCIe)
Graphics #2: nVidia G92 (GeForce 9600 GSO PCIe)
Audio #1: Creative Labs CA106 Soundblaster
Audio #2: Intel 5 Series3400 Series Chipset HDA
Audio #3: C-Media Electronics CMI8788 (Oxygen HD Audio)
Network: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCIe Gigabit Ethernet Controller
Disk Space #1: 500 GB HDD (SATA) SeaGate Barracuda 7200 RPM
Disk Space #2: 1.0 TB HDD (SATA) SeaGate Barracuda 7200 RPM


And the laptop's got the following...

Model: TOSHIBA Satellite L305D-S5934
Processor: Dual-Core AMD Turion X2 Mobile RM-70 (SMP)
Graphics Card: ATI RS780MC [Radeon HD 3100 Graphics]
Audio Card: ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
Other: 250 GB HDD, 3GB SDRAM
Image
[ My Blog ] | [ screenFetch ] | [ SilverIRC ] | [ SilverIRC GIT ] -
User avatar
KittyKatt
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 12:12 pm

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby BrianD on Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:18 pm

I just finished building a new desktop machine (replacing my previous "newest/fastest" machine - a 1.8GHz Intel Celeron D !!). This new machine is a few orders of magnitude better/faster, in any/all measurable respects:

System: Host helix Kernel 3.0.0-16-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Console tty 2 Distro Linux Mint 12 Lisa
Machine: Mobo ASUSTeK model P8H67-V version Rev X.0x Bios American Megatrends version 0806 date 10/26/2011
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-2500K CPU (-MCP-) cache 6144 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx)
Clock Speeds: (1) 1600.00 MHz (2) 1600.00 MHz (3) 1600.00 MHz (4) 1600.00 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller
X.org 1.10.4 drivers intel unloaded: vesa,fbdev tty size 237x63 Advanced Data: N/A out of X
GLX Renderer N/A GLX Version N/A
Audio: Card Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver HDA Intel
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: 1.0.24
Network: Card Atheros AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet driver atl1c
IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1160.2GB (18.4% used) 1: /dev/sda ST31000524AS 1000.2GB 2: /dev/sdb WDC_WD1600AAJS 160.0GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 145G used: 4.8G (4%) fs: ext3 ID:/home size: 917G used: 194G (23%) fs: ext4 ID:/boot size: 2.0G used: 80M (5%) fs: ext3 ID:swap-1 size: 0.13GB used: 0.02GB (13%) fs: swap
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 37.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes 154 Uptime 10 days Memory 928.7/7913.3MB Client Shell inxi 1.7.7
need I say more??
BrianD
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:22 am
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby Lippy on Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:26 pm

My computer gets smoked by nearly everything in here! :mrgreen:

I'm still using a system I built back in 2008. Haven't really had a reason to upgrade since then. It still runs games reasonably well.

Motherboard: DFI Blood Iron P35-T2RL.
PSU: Tagan 500W. Forgot which model it is...
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400.
GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 260.
RAM: 4 GB DDR2-6400. Forgot the brand now. Still have 2 empty DIMM slots which could take me up to 8 GB, but I've never needed it.
HDD1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1 TB. This actually died on me about 3 months after I bought it due to the infamous firmware corruption, before the issue became well-known. Managed to bring it back to life a few months afterwards using a very ghetto method. It has my ancient dinosaur of a Pentium III system to thank for that. I briefly brought it out of retirement as it was the only computer in the house with an RS232 port! Firmware has been patched and it has been fine ever since.
HDD2: Samsung Spinpoint F1 1 TB. Installed this initially to replace my dead Seagate. Now it is spare capacity.
LMDE (tracking Testing) with Cinnamon; Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 (using Nouveau)
Lippy
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:28 pm

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby bimsebasse on Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:31 pm

A hacked waffel iron. Graphics are poor.
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby dagon on Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:08 pm

Aspire 5741g: Dual core Intel Core i3 M 350 Kernel[-2.6.35-22-generic x86_64-] 4Gig HDD 320GB Mint 10

It's been less than optimal for the current linux kernel with overheating and its generally flaky with the power outlet starting to crap down. I'm getting ready to do some serious surgery (the kind of job that both removes dust and the warranty at the same time... )
Image
User avatar
dagon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:33 am
Location: Kungälv, Sweden

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby squeezy on Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:23 am

An older than old box I built about 15 years ago and updated last about 2004. Hooray for homebuilts!

The nice thing is that anything installs on it with no problem and all the (old) hardware is supported out of the box on most distros.

Code: Select all
steve@squeezy ~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host squeezy Kernel 3.0.0-1-686-pae i686 (32 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
CPU:       Single core AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (-UP-) cache 512 KB flags (lm nx sse sse2) bmips 2042.82 clocked at 1000.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card nVidia NV44A [GeForce 6200] X.Org 1.10.4 Res: 1280x1024@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on NV4A GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.11.2 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio:     Card VIA VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller driver oss_via823x at port d800 BusID: 00:11.5
Network:   Card VIA VT6120/VT6121/VT6122 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter driver via-velocity at port d000 BusID: 00:0e.0
Disks:     HDD Total Size: 580.1GB (22.1% used) 1: /dev/sda ST3500418AS 500.1GB
           2: /dev/sdb ST380817AS 80.0GB
Partition: ID:/ size: 71G used: 6.4G (10%) fs: ext4 ID:swap-1 size: 3.22GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 56.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes 114 Uptime 1:46 Memory 307.9/3040.8MB Runlevel 2 Client Shell inxi 1.4.23 
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: What hardware ya using??

Postby Macmeister on Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:38 pm

I'm running a Dell Dimension DXP061 that I liberated from Windows Vista recently by installing Linux Mint. It has an Intel Core 2 CPU, 1.86 GHz, and 4GB ram. It's sort of slow, but I'm gearing up to build something better!
User avatar
Macmeister
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:15 pm
Location: Fort Worth

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Open chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests