Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Cinnamon 1.3 released!!

Postby z06gal on Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:44 pm

Love the improvements! Kudos to the Mint team!! :D :wink:
Last edited by z06gal on Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby zerubbabel on Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:49 pm

I installed the update as soon as it appeared in my update manager, an when the update completed, I did Alt-F2, r, and it logged me out. When I logged back in, there was no Cinnamon, but just some strange fallback Gnome interface. I rebooted, checked that Cinnamon was selected, and logged in. Still no Cinnamon. Now I am running Mate, hoping that this mess gets straightened out soon. If not, how can I revert to Cinnamon 1.2?
zerubbabel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:47 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby z06gal on Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:54 pm

glebihan is in xchat right now and I am sure he can answer that. When I updated and reloaded Cinnamon, 1.3 is what I got so I'm not sure what happened for you.
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby bimsebasse on Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:59 pm

Looking better and better - I like the everything-is-an-applet thing!

*off to update themes*
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby zerubbabel on Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:00 pm

z06gal wrote:glebihan is in xchat right now and I am sure he can answer that. When I updated and reloaded Cinnamon, 1.3 is what I got so I'm not sure what happened for you.


Don't know what xchat is, but I'm logged in with Jitsi as zerubbabel@jabber.org
zerubbabel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:47 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby z06gal on Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:01 pm

Click on menu > internet > xchat and that is where the help channel is. He is helping people in there right now :wink:
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby z06gal on Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:03 pm

bimsebasse wrote:Looking better and better - I like the everything-is-an-applet thing!

*off to update themes*




Me too bim. I am wondering though if we will need to remove and then reinstall extensions like the reload cinnamon one when they are updated to 1.3? Thanks :wink:
z06gal
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby bimsebasse on Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:07 pm

If anyone figures out how to drag-n-drap the window list give us a bell, got mine stock in the right side of the panel now :)
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby zerubbabel on Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:09 pm

z06gal wrote:Click on menu > internet > xchat and that is where the help channel is. He is helping people in there right now :wink:


Thanks, I'm on xchat now.
zerubbabel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:47 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby DoctorTyrell on Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:20 pm

Please remove the dependency of nvidia-common.
I have intel/ati, and yet when i go to upgrade cinnamon it requires nvidia-common.
DoctorTyrell
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby DementedSnake on Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:37 pm

Same here. I have Intel, not NVIDIA. I went to upgrade, it required the NVIDIA packages, and it ended up breaking Cinnamon, plus some of my games. I'm typing this from MATE because Cinnamon won't even start. I need to downgrade after posting this.


EDIT: Oh, I can't downgrade. Well now I'm stuck with a half-broken box. I guess it's my own fault for trusting the official repo to not break stuff. I've learned my lesson.


For anyone wondering, when I try to log into Cinnamon, I get this error: "failed to load session cinnamon"

If I try to play certain games, like S.C.O.U.R.G.E., for example, I get the error "Video mode set failed: Couldn't find matching GLX visual" in the terminal.
Last edited by DementedSnake on Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DementedSnake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:30 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby chazdg24 on Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:42 pm

Hmmm, sounds like I have the same issue as I have an ATI card. I think I'm screwed. :cry:
chazdg24
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:11 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby socrates_johnson on Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:00 pm

As a Gnome 2 nomad, I am cautiously optimistic and am really enjoying Cinnamon so far. I just updated to 1.3 and was wondering if there's a way to control which panels applets/extensions appear on. I use two panels and with Cinnamon 1.2 the show desktop and workspace switcher defaulted to the bottom. In 1.3, everything is on my top panel. Also, does the weather extension not work with 1.3? It's checked in my settings, but does not appear. Thank you for your help!
socrates_johnson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 2:55 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby joshuar9476 on Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:09 pm

when i log into cinnamon after updating, i'm getting just a solid black box on top and bottom ... none of the options or settings work ... i assume cinnamon just isn't loading and is instead defaulting back.
joshuar9476
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:12 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby DementedSnake on Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:30 pm

Waiting patiently in the IRC room. Described my problem. Gave some more info after a test. It's been thirty minutes since I joined. Not a single reaction. People who joined after me are getting help.

(sigh)

Just tried to start Cinnamon from a terminal, to see what errors I get. It complains about GLX missing on the display (NVIDIA broke something), and that Clutter can't start because the OpenGL version can't be determined.


I have no idea why the NVIDIA drivers are dependences for Cinnamon, but they broke my desktop.


Has anyone figured out a fix?
DementedSnake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:30 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby chazdg24 on Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:36 pm

DementedSnake wrote:Just tried to start Cinnamon from a terminal, to see what errors I get. It complains about GLX missing on the display (NVIDIA broke something), and that Clutter can't start because the OpenGL version can't be determined.


I have no idea why the NVIDIA drivers are dependences for Cinnamon, but they broke my desktop.


Has anyone figured out a fix?

How can Cinnamon require NVIDIA drivers? I didn't even look at the updates. :?
chazdg24
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:11 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby bimsebasse on Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:38 pm

My panel is a complete shambles and I will have to seek temporary asylum in Gnome Shell :)

Hope everyone in here understands Cinnamon is in alpha, under heavy development, and you can only expect quirks and bugs (though Cinnamon 1.2 was more stable than Gnome Shell!). For a fully developed working desktop you have to be a bit more patient.
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby DementedSnake on Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:39 pm

Finally got some help from Clem. Reload (update) your package list. Reinstall Cinnamon. The dependency should be removed and you can uninstall the NVIDIA junk. I just did. I need to test it now. Be right back.


EDIT: It worked. You should now be able to run Cinnamon and remove the NVIDIA crap if you need.
Last edited by DementedSnake on Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DementedSnake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:30 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby chazdg24 on Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:41 pm

bimsebasse wrote:My panel is a complete shambles and I will have to seek temporary asylum in Gnome Shell :)

Hope everyone in here understands Cinnamon is in alpha, under heavy development, and you can only expect quirks and bugs (though Cinnamon 1.2 was more stable than Gnome Shell!). For a fully developed working desktop you have to be a bit more patient.

Of course - that is a given, but I think the question is why were NVIDIA drivers included in the update?
chazdg24
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:11 pm

Re: Cinnamon 1.3 released and so nice!!

Postby DementedSnake on Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:45 pm

Oversight? I'm just glad the response was so quick. Normally things like this take a day or two.


I understand it's not exactly stable software, that's fine. I just expected the official packages from the distro's main repository to not break stuff like that. But I'm glad it was solved quickly. Thanks dev team.
DementedSnake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:30 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fgmint and 8 guests