PCI Lan Card dropped from Gigabit to Fast Ethernet? [SOLVED]

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

PCI Lan Card dropped from Gigabit to Fast Ethernet? [SOLVED]

Postby colossus75 on Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:17 pm

Hello fellow LMDE users,

I have somewhat of a odd situation, and I don't know how it occurred.

3 or so days ago, I was running 1000mbps speeds via my Trendnet PCI LAN network card. when I use ethtool, it was reporting as 1000mpbs.
It is a Realtek RTL-8169 driven card.

Now when I use ethtool today it is reporting back as 100mbps.

I have not done any recent LMDE updates for like 2-3 weeks..at this time there are 336 recommended updates since my last update.

I am uncertain as to what has caused my network connection to suddenly change to 100mbps from 1000mpbs. It has a significant impact when I transfer data across my home network between my wired desktops.

Tho..when I am in terminal and use ifconfig, it oddly reports back 1000mbps..but ethtool reports back 100mbps.

This is what I get from ifconfig :
Code: Select all
ifconfig
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1f:d0:5a:31:9a 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:25 Base address:0xe000

eth2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:d1:18:3c:a4 
          inet addr:192.168.1.205  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::214:d1ff:fe18:3ca4/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1699 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1914 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1541448 (1.4 MiB)  TX bytes:323907 (316.3 KiB)
          Interrupt:17 Base address:0xe000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1956 (1.9 KiB)  TX bytes:1956 (1.9 KiB)


this is what I get from ethtool :
Code: Select all
 sudo ethtool eth2
[sudo] password for ranma:
Settings for eth2:
   Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
   Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                           100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                           1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
   Supported pause frame use: No
   Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
   Advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                           100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                           1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
   Advertised pause frame use: No
   Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
   Link partner advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                        100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
   Link partner advertised pause frame use: No
   Link partner advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
   Speed: 100Mb/s
   Duplex: Full
   Port: MII
   PHYAD: 0
   Transceiver: internal
   Auto-negotiation: on
   Supports Wake-on: pumbg
   Wake-on: g
   Current message level: 0x00000033 (51)
                drv probe ifdown ifup
   Link detected: yes


The nice/interface I am connected to is eth2. eth1 is the on-board network port.

Any thoughts on how I may correct this..without reinstalling? Any help appreciated. If any other screen printouts are required I will provide.

[UPDATE] 03-29-2012 Thursday
I solved this issue by completely blacking out all the power to my entire network and machines for 15 minutes, then powered everything up 1 by 1 starting with the modem, then the router then my gigabit switch. All hardwired machines recognized as gigabit again. Thanks to those who replied.
Last edited by colossus75 on Thu Mar 29, 2012 1:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
400GB x2 1st (main data drive xfs) 2nd(rsync'd data drive xfs)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Lisa/Maya/Qiana 64bit
User avatar
colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: PCI Lan Card dropped from Gigabit to Fast Ethernet??

Postby Aging Technogeek on Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:02 pm

If I am reading the ethtool output correctly, your card is capable of 10, 100, or 1000 Mbps

Supported link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full


and is advertising this to the network

Advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full


. The external system you are connecting to is only capable of 10 and 100 Mbps

Link partner advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full


so your card is adjusting its speed to that of the system it is communicating with.
Image

Registered Linux User 483387
User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4605
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: PCI Lan Card dropped from Gigabit to Fast Ethernet??

Postby colossus75 on Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:57 pm

The thing is tho. My two desktops are both connected to a gigabit switch, and have gigabit nics. Both machines were gigabit as of 3 days ago. My XP Pro system is still showing as gigabit when connected to the gigabit switch..yet my LMDE box is now only 100. I understand the auto-sensing to the environment, but it is a gigabit environment and I'm also using cat6 cables to connect to the the gigabit switch. Hence my confusion.
Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H
AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000 2.6GHz
4GB OCZ DDR2 800Mhz
500GB Seagate SATA 3.5" 7200.11 [OS/data]
400GB x2 1st (main data drive xfs) 2nd(rsync'd data drive xfs)
400GB (virtual machine drive xfs)
OS : Mint Lisa/Maya/Qiana 64bit
User avatar
colossus75
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:59 pm

Re: PCI Lan Card dropped from Gigabit to Fast Ethernet??

Postby jjaythomas on Wed Mar 21, 2012 1:00 am

Maybe stupid answer...BUT

have you tried a shorter cat cable. My 1000gigbyte showed 100 bit on a fresh LMDE but tried a shorter cable went back to 1000. (Maybe my cable got damaged tho.)

J.Jay
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm


Return to Ethernet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests