Cinnamon's memory usage

Please post suggestions for improvement of Cinnamon here
https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon

Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby Forkjulle on Fri Apr 06, 2012 5:48 am

Compiz tends to hog memory, but Cinnamon seems to use quite a bit too. Unless I'm wrong.

Does this look about right? (Cinnamon in 2nd spot.)

Image
Forkjulle
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:38 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby Oscar799 on Fri Apr 06, 2012 5:58 am

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8815
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby esteban1uy on Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:00 pm

Mine is not that memory hungry:
Image
Sorry, I only speak Spanish
User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby AlbertP on Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:08 pm

I've done a pull request to fix a small memory leak, but there are probably more memory leaks left.

By the way 78MB is also way too much. It should be possible to get 40 to 60 MB memory usage.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby Morrog on Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:10 pm

is that smaller or bigger than a default gnome-shell? there hasn't been much publicized data about the memory performance of cinnamon (in comparison to gnome-shell, gnome 2 and maté)
Morrog
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:15 am

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby esteban1uy on Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:23 pm

The same machine running Gnome-shell:
Image
Sorry, I only speak Spanish
User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby AlbertP on Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:38 pm

That's presumably still Mint's default Gnome 3.2.1. A lot of memory leaks have been fixed since then. Mint 13 will have Gnome 3.4 which is probably a better comparison.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby esteban1uy on Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:52 pm

Same machine running Gnome-classic (3.2.1, same as the other captures):
Image
Sorry, I only speak Spanish
User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby cwwgateway on Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:43 pm

My Cinnamon is running at 43 MiB. On the same machine Gnome Shell runs at about 39 MiB, and Gnome Fallback runs at 10.4 MiB.

Note: I say about for Gnome Shell because it fluctuates around 39 MiB.
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid
cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby AlbertP on Fri Apr 06, 2012 4:26 pm

If you are counting Gnome classic or 2 memory usage you also have to count gnome-sound-applet, metacity and probably more things which are a seperate process on gnome 2 or classic but integrated in shell/cinnamon. Just gnome-panel isn't really a fair comparison.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby cwwgateway on Fri Apr 06, 2012 4:38 pm

AlbertP wrote:If you are counting Gnome classic or 2 memory usage you also have to count gnome-sound-applet, metacity and probably more things which are a seperate process on gnome 2 or classic but integrated in shell/cinnamon. Just gnome-panel isn't really a fair comparison.

You're right. And even worse, I run gnome classic with compiz and I'm not counting compiz, so it would probably be a lot more. I'm impressed by Cinnamon's low memory usage, though.
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid
cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby Kelley_Green on Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:01 pm

cwwgateway wrote:My Cinnamon is running at 43 MiB.


When I start LM12 I have about the same memory usage.

But after an uptime of only 1.5 days it's at 395 MB
Attachments
cinnamon.png
cinnamon.png (78.25 KiB) Viewed 5923 times
Running Linux Mint on two Netbooks, one Dell laptop and one Quad-core Desktop.
Kelley_Green
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:41 pm

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby Kelley_Green on Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:11 pm

Kelley_Green wrote:
cwwgateway wrote:My Cinnamon is running at 43 MiB.


When I start LM12 I have about the same memory usage.

But after an uptime of only 1.5 days it's at 395 MB


Now it's up to 627.3 MiB after 4+ days.
Running Linux Mint on two Netbooks, one Dell laptop and one Quad-core Desktop.
Kelley_Green
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:41 pm

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby esteban1uy on Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:25 pm

AlbertP wrote:I've done a pull request to fix a small memory leak, but there are probably more memory leaks left.

By the way 78MB is also way too much. It should be possible to get 40 to 60 MB memory usage.


Well, this is LMDE "live" 64bits with Cinnamon desktop (yes, iso images are out):
Image

And this is LMDE "live" 32bits with Cinnamon too:
Image

Being live images you can be sure this represents the system in its most pristine state, even though, under 64bits with an pretty new kernel (3.2), newer xorg, drivers, etc, there is no significant difference with my actual LM12 Cinnamon installation.

But there's something for sure: Cinnamon and Gnome3 are pointers hell (from the processor's perspective). The 64 bits versions almost doubles the memory usage of the 32 bits ones (take Nautilus as reference).
Sorry, I only speak Spanish
User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby ramartz on Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:20 am

I just notice now that I have the same issue also, I'm running LM12 on Dell Inspiron N7010.
I think more uptime hours makes the memory usage grow even bigger; could be a general memory leak issue?
ramartz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:36 am

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby Kelley_Green on Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:44 pm

More up-time hours definitely makes the memory usage grow bigger.
Is anyone working on this?
Is there a way to restart Cinnamon, without restarting the PC, to reset Cinnamon back to lower memory usage?
Running Linux Mint on two Netbooks, one Dell laptop and one Quad-core Desktop.
Kelley_Green
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:41 pm

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby esteban1uy on Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:54 pm

Kelley_Green wrote:"(...) Is there a way to restart Cinnamon, without restarting the PC, to reset Cinnamon back to lower memory usage?

Of course, just look at Cinnamon's settings applet.

This is before restarting Cinnamon:
Image

And this is after restarting it:
Image
Sorry, I only speak Spanish
User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby AlbertP on Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:59 am

Kelley_Green wrote:Is there a way to restart Cinnamon, without restarting the PC, to reset Cinnamon back to lower memory usage?
Press Alt-F2, type r in the box, and press Enter. That restarts cinnamon (and yes it works for Gnome Shell as well).
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby Kelley_Green on Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:14 pm

AlbertP wrote:
Kelley_Green wrote:Is there a way to restart Cinnamon, without restarting the PC, to reset Cinnamon back to lower memory usage?
Press Alt-F2, type r in the box, and press Enter. That restarts cinnamon (and yes it works for Gnome Shell as well).


Thanks!
Running Linux Mint on two Netbooks, one Dell laptop and one Quad-core Desktop.
Kelley_Green
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:41 pm

Re: Cinnamon's memory usage

Postby Therion87 on Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:18 am

That is a pretty nasty memory leak or group of. I noticed it before I would start my machine up around 600 MiB total memory usuage in no time it would be up above 1 Gb. Are these issues being addressed? There aren't really any places to check Cinnamon development and changelogs a really minimal from a techincal standpoint.
Processor: i7-2860QM
Memory: 16 GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Graphics: Nvidia 560M 1.5GB - 313.18
Operating System: Linux Mint 13 Maya
HDD: 120 GB SSD & 500 GB HDD
Kernel: 3.9
User avatar
Therion87
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:07 pm
Location: Youngstown, OH

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Cinnamon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: harlekein, lestcape and 4 guests