Grub2 information & Links.

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby DeanoBravo2zero on Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:28 pm

A little How to restore Grub2, which worked for a fool like me
http://martinwebster.eu/2011/04/28/how-to-restore-grub-bootloader-on-linux-mint-10/
DeanoBravo2zero
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 5:15 am
Location: UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby sunewbie on Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:02 am

may I add a community tutorial #245 Reinstall grub2 from LiveCD
Linux Beginners Search Engine | more details | Google CSE Page
Acceptance = Relief, Resistance = Stress | Strength become Habit, Habit becomes Weakness
Be not a traitor in your thoughts. Do everything that is necessary in Proper time.
User avatar
sunewbie
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:55 pm
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby hal8000 on Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:40 pm

This maybe of interest to anyone who has more than one linux distro installed.

I normally choose Grub legacy to control the boot as it is far easier to control with a single
configuration file /boot/grub/menu.lst (IMHO)

Whenever I switch to Grub2, the os-proper always makes a mess and I end up with some bootable
systems that use grub2 e.g. Ubuntu, but a total mess is made of any system using grub legacy
e.g. PCLinux , Arch etc.

After using grub_customiser in Ubuntu and changing various settings in grub2, the automatic probing was still
failing to properly load systems using grub legacy.

Any menu entry in Grub2 that tried to load a distro (that would normally use grub legacy) would
crash.
Examing the entries in Grub2 I found the problem ... and its the counting problem.

Grub leagcy starts counting at 0 for both drives and partitions.
Grub 2 starts counting at 0 for drives and 1 for partitions.

In the case of a probed grub2 entry that fails, press c for the console and you will probably find
that the script has identified the drive but NOT the partition. In my case for PClinux it tried
to load the initrd from an invalid partition. Entry looked like

menuentry "PCLinux" {
linux (hd1,1)/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb1 quiet splash
initrd (hd1,0)/initrd.img
}

Partition 0 cannot exist in Grub2 as it counts starting at 1, changing (hd1,0) to (hd1,1) and
for the first time, I had a grub2 os_probed distribution that works.


My alternative solution was to disable probing in /etc/default/grub and add all custom entries.

The prober script is too much for me to fix, anyway and my choice is grub legacy.
I have custom menu fonts, colours, a large 1024x768 splash in grub legacy anyway, so dont miss
anything from grub2.
User avatar
hal8000
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby banjoman on Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:32 pm

:?:
I have just installed Mint12 on my Acer TravelMate. It came with Windows 7so I want to create a dual boot machine. I installed Mint from live DVD, however the installation menu did not give me an option to install alongside Windows (as is my usual experience when installing a Ubuntu Linux distro).

I therefore deleted a ntfs partition and created a linux partition and installed to that.

One problem is apparent on reboot, the computer goes straight to Windows, so presumably I have not installed a grub menu. How can I boot up Linux? Does the link in previous post apply to my situation?

Secondly I was warned that I had not created a swap area, but I went ahead with the installation anyway! Do I need to create a swap area and if so, how?

Thanks for help and advice...
banjoman
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 4:46 am

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby sunewbie on Fri Apr 06, 2012 1:44 am

banjoman wrote::?:
I have just installed Mint12 on my Acer TravelMate. It came with Windows 7so I want to create a dual boot machine. I installed Mint from live DVD, however the installation menu did not give me an option to install alongside Windows (as is my usual experience when installing a Ubuntu Linux distro).

I therefore deleted a ntfs partition and created a linux partition and installed to that.

One problem is apparent on reboot, the computer goes straight to Windows, so presumably I have not installed a grub menu. How can I boot up Linux? Does the link in previous post apply to my situation?

Secondly I was warned that I had not created a swap area, but I went ahead with the installation anyway! Do I need to create a swap area and if so, how?

Thanks for help and advice...


Linux needs SWAP partition to function properly. But I have read some posts where people have not used SWAP and things are working fine. If you have RAM more than 8 GB, then it might work.

Links provided at the end of this thread are new ones and are useful, like I have posted and the one posted earlier than me on same page.

In case of Windows 7, if you want to play safe, you can install EasyBCD in windows 7. it's a boot loader, which identifies Linux. So even if you remove Linux, you can boot into windows. Alternatively, GRUB should identify Linux. You can make use of LIVE CD and try for links provided by my in earlier post to recover GRUB. Else Ubuntu GRUB 2 help page has given tutorial on how to reinstall GRUB using chroot / chmod method. It worked for me.

If you are planning to use easyBCD, please refer this link:

http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2011/06/11/du ... windows-7/

since I have never tried it (I have XP) so I wont be able to help. Maybe someone else can help you.

In case you install GRUB in MBR and want to remove Linux Mint, you can repair bootloader, by using the repair option of windows 7 recovery DVD
Linux Beginners Search Engine | more details | Google CSE Page
Acceptance = Relief, Resistance = Stress | Strength become Habit, Habit becomes Weakness
Be not a traitor in your thoughts. Do everything that is necessary in Proper time.
User avatar
sunewbie
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:55 pm
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby banjoman on Fri Apr 06, 2012 4:45 pm

:D

thank you so much for your helpful advice, the article you linked to is excellent, very informative, it explains the technical aspects in a straightforward and helpful way, at the same time detailing the steps along the way - and illustrating them

this was just what I needed, I found it easy to set up my laptop to dual boot by following this tutorial - now to install my favourite software and I am perfectly set up...
banjoman
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 4:46 am

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby sunewbie on Sat Apr 07, 2012 1:50 am

Nice to know things are working for you :)

Enjoy Linux Mint ;)
Linux Beginners Search Engine | more details | Google CSE Page
Acceptance = Relief, Resistance = Stress | Strength become Habit, Habit becomes Weakness
Be not a traitor in your thoughts. Do everything that is necessary in Proper time.
User avatar
sunewbie
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 12:55 pm
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby breaker on Mon May 28, 2012 1:29 am

A bit of good info here; http://www.supergrubdisk.org/wiki/SuperGRUB2Disk
Mainly the part about loopback.cfg; http://www.supergrubdisk.org/wiki/Loopback.cfg

The main one I like has been split, now we have some basics still here; https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2
but all about installing/reinstalling here; https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/Installing

Also be sure to check the "related links" at the bottom of the above mentioned link;

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/Submenus
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/Upgrading
rtfm - read the fine manual...
Boot info script: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1291280
grub2 https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2
PC-BIOS based booting, mbr, boot records; http://thestarman.pcministry.com/
breaker
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:28 am

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby breaker on Mon Jun 11, 2012 4:09 am

Don't forget the good version 1.99 manual from the terminal -

Code: Select all
info grub
rtfm - read the fine manual...
Boot info script: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1291280
grub2 https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2
PC-BIOS based booting, mbr, boot records; http://thestarman.pcministry.com/
breaker
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:28 am

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby javamaan on Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:21 pm

FYI to people with grub2 problems.

I have 2 linux flavors installed. Fedora and Linuxmint. Whenever I install/upgrade Linuxmint, grub2 creator has parsing issues.
I think the parser looks for the latest version of vmlinuz and uses that image. So everytime i install/upgrade, it would use the Fedora vmlinuz and try to boot. As fedora tends to have latest kernels.

Can somebody change the parser to look for fedora vmlinuz? it usually ends as *.fxx.i686.img ("*.f17.i686.img or *.f16.i686.img)

You have to manually change the entry in grub.cfg in /boot/grub directory.

Hope this helps someone.
javamaan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:09 pm

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby Fragment on Wed Aug 07, 2013 9:47 pm

Keywords: fakeraid and grub, grub on fakeraid, grub on raid, grub on raid0, raid and grub, raid0 and grub, installing grub on raid

Okay since I was really pissed off by this problem, I will post my solution for installing GRUB2 on a RAID0 system.
I have an AMD Raid Controller on my Southbridge and had the problem that after the main install of Mint the Grub install would fail with error messages like
"Executing 'grub-inst /dev/sda' failed."
"Executing 'grub-inst (hd0)' failed."

The trick to install Grub then is by installing it via chrooting into the installed Mint OS (you can just stay in your Live CD session where you just installed it and open up a terminal).

Follow this Walkthrough:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2 ... via_ChRoot

BUT KEEP IN MIND

1.) Use the mdadm tool ONLY if you have a software raid (a fakeraid = southbridgechip raid or a hardware raid are NO software raids)
2.) You can determine your partition by just opening up a gparted window and check the names of the devices
3.) Your RAID devices will 100% NOT have names like /dev/sda1, /dev/sdb1, /dev/sda2, (in general /dev/sdXY) or /dev/md0 (in general /dev/mdX), etc...
4.) Your RAID devices are always found @ /dev/mapper/ and may look like this: /dev/mapper/pdc_dfehifhebe1, /dev/mapper/pdc_dfehifhebe2, /dev/mapper/pdc_dfehifhebeX (in general /dev/mapper/pdc_XXXXXXXXX)
or /dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1, /dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc2 (in general /dev/mapper/nvidia_XXXXXXXXX) depending on the manufacturer of your RAID controller chip type/integration manufacturer
Use those anytime the Tutorial wants you to mount disks...

--- VERY IMPORTANT
5.) Also as stated in the Tutorial, reinstall grub like this - EXAMPLE:

Code: Select all
grub-install --recheck /dev/mapper/pdc_dfehifhebe


NOT like this:

Code: Select all
grub-install --recheck /dev/mapper/pdc_dfehifhebe5


Only if you have a software RAID you should install grub on ALL disks in the RAID array
--- VERY IMPORTANT

Good Luck!

Also... should you have boot up problems right after successfully installing Mint + GRUB2 -> chroot into your installation again and do this

Code: Select all
apt-get install --reinstall dpkg upstart


But before you need to mount the critical virtual filesystems again, like in the Tutorial. (Step 8)
Simplified its always the same:

Code: Select all
sudo mount /dev/[...] /mnt
for i in /dev /dev/pts /proc /sys /run; do sudo mount -B $i /mnt$i; done
sudo chroot /mnt


then do you stuff like (re-)install or delete packages

then reboot

Hope I could help at least some people who have this very special problem when installing directly on a RAID0 setup which is no software RAID
Fragment
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:00 am

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby MartianStorm on Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:50 pm

I pulled off other HDDs during install to avoid having grub be set up for dualboot, no luck, updates updated grub and it found my Windows partitions. I want to manually boot into Windows from the BIOS if I need it (doesn't happen often) and I don't want grub to wait for selecting the OS. I don't mind having Windows in my boot menu, but I don't want grub to wait for user input. How can I do that? Where should I look for the solution? Sorry, I don't have much time to research it at the moment. Thanks for any help.
User avatar
MartianStorm
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 4:21 pm

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby ogandou on Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:22 am

I recently got an error message "Error unknown filesystem grub rescue" when booting up my laptop. I googled it and found that Ubuntu Boot Repair could help. So I booted the live CD and ran boot-repair from there and sure enough it solved my issue, but now when I boot, instead of going straight to Mint like it used to, I have an interface asking me to pick between Ubuntu and Ubuntu advanced config. Which is odd because I don't have Ubuntu. Anyway, after a few seconds my computer boots into Mint, and it does too if I select Ubuntu. So no big deal, but I just wonder if there's a way to get rid of that choice. I just want to boot straight into Mint like I used to. Can someone help me do that please? Thanks!
ogandou
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:50 am

Re: Grub2 information & Links.

Postby hallergard on Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:56 am

This might be of interest if you are considering dualboot or multiboot: http://goo.gl/vzVJ7l
hallergard
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 4:11 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests