Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby xenopeek on Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:06 am

If you are using Cinnamon on Linux Mint 12, but prefer the classic mintMenu as it was available on Linux Mint 11, dalcde has written an applet you can install on Cinnamon to get that functionality. See here: http://cinnamon-spices.linuxmint.com/applets/view/46

You can also use bimsebasse's Cinnamon Extras PPA to easily install it, in one go with a lot of other themes, applets and extensions :wink: See here: viewtopic.php?f=208&t=98316

Edit: credit to esteban1uy for bringing the applet and PPA to my attention, and for suggesting it should be stickied here :wink:
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14996
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby esteban1uy on Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:44 am

That applet is amazing!
Take a look at this (click to view fullsize):
Image

Image
Sorry, I only speak Spanish
User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby mank_in on Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:22 am

Great news :D
I am rarely using cinnamon because the lack of " traditional Mint Menu "
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby bimsebasse on Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:33 am

This should really just replace the current default menu.
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby Monsta on Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:40 am

I second that. Scrollbars need a little fixing though, but the overall impression is: this is cool. 8)
I saw Clem said "wow!! :))" in the comments to this applet, so maybe... who knows :)
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby bimsebasse on Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:48 am

Yes the scrollbars are merely indicative of vertical overflow at the mo - I think the very early MGSE/Cinnamon menu had the same issue so maybe the solution is the same.
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby esteban1uy on Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:57 am

Match this applet with a proper implementation of Mint Classic Cinnamon Theme and you'll get an almost perfect reproduction of the good ol' Gnome2 Mint desktop: no more complaints!!!
Thanks dalcde :D :D :D
Sorry, I only speak Spanish
User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby xenopeek on Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:40 pm

And thanks esteban1uy! I've added the credit you deserve as well :mrgreen: I am one happy Cinnamon user 8)
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14996
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby Monsta on Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:48 pm

esteban1uy wrote:Match this applet with a proper implementation of Mint Classic Cinnamon Theme

BTW, have you seen one? I personally think this classic theme is the closest one, but maybe I've missed some similar ones. :)
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby bimsebasse on Thu Apr 12, 2012 1:08 pm

I thought about doing a Mint-Z Cinnamon theme at some point (imitating the window theme and the classic gnome 2 look, not the MGSE theme). The cinnamon-classic theme Monsta links to doesn't look like Gnome 2 at all, at least my Gnome 2 Mint default panel menus were not semi-transparent grey. It just copies the default theme popups and the White theme panel, not much creativity or originality going into it, I don't think it lives up to the name much.
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!
User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby funnyman on Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:35 am

I tried it and it didnt work, here is log:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/add-apt-repository", line 65, in <module>
if not sp.add_source_from_line(line):
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/softwareproperties/SoftwareProperties.py", line 630, in add_source_from_line
(deb_line, file) = expand_ppa_line(line.strip(), self.distro.codename)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/softwareproperties/ppa.py", line 47, in expand_ppa_line
sourceslistd = apt_pkg.Config.find_dir("Dir::Etc::sourceparts")
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'Config'


help me please. that ugly menu was a reason for me to give away ubuntu and go for a mint, now I have the same problem... I dont want to give mint away
funnyman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 6:23 am

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby esteban1uy on Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:52 am

It's only an idea, but it would be interesting to have a "switch users" button in Classic Menu as it is present in the out-of-the-box Gnome shell (Cinnamon's default menu doesn't have it). There are users asking for that: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=208&t=99198

As an experiment I did this (I'm sure dalcde can do it much better):

I edited the file /usr/share/cinnamon/applets/classicMenu@dalcde/leftPanel.js to add just a couple of lines:
Code: Select all
    addButtons: function(){
   this.label = new St.Label({text: "System", style_class: 'largeBold'});

        this.packageItem = new LeftBoxItem(_("Package Manager"), "synaptic", "Util.spawnCommandLine('gksu synaptic')", this.menu, false);
        this.control = new LeftBoxItem(_("Control Center"), "gnome-control-center", "Util.spawnCommandLine('gnome-control-center')", this.menu, false);
        this.terminal = new LeftBoxItem(_("Terminal"), "terminal", "Util.spawnCommandLine('gnome-terminal')", this.menu, false);
        this.lock = new LeftBoxItem(_("Lock"), "gnome-lockscreen", "screenSaverProxy.LockRemote()", this.menu, false);
        this.logout = new LeftBoxItem(_("Logout"), "gnome-logout", "session.LogoutRemote(0)", this.menu, false);
        this.switchusers = new LeftBoxItem(_("Switch Users"), "system-users", "Util.spawnCommandLine('gdmflexiserver --new')", this.menu, false);//<----ADDED LINE
        this.shutdown = new LeftBoxItem(_("Quit"), "gnome-shutdown", "session.ShutdownRemote()", this.menu, false);

    this.actor.add(this.label);
        this.actor.add(this.buttons);

        this.buttons.add(this.packageItem.actor);
        this.buttons.add(this.control.actor);
        this.buttons.add(this.terminal.actor);
        this.buttons.add(this.lock.actor);
        this.buttons.add(this.logout.actor);
        this.buttons.add(this.switchusers.actor);//<---------ADDED LINE
        this.buttons.add(this.shutdown.actor);
    }
}


Then restarted and voilà... new functionality. So it seems possible.
As I said, it's only an idea.

Image
Sorry, I only speak Spanish
User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby Monsta on Sat Apr 14, 2012 6:22 am

esteban1uy wrote:As an experiment I did this (I'm sure dalcde can do it much better):

I edited the file /usr/share/cinnamon/applets/classicMenu@dalcde/leftPanel.js to add just a couple of lines

I hope dalcde will someday make all these System items adjustable in the menu settings (like it was in the old mintMenu) so one would be able to turn each item on and off. :)
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby GeneC on Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:30 pm

I've posted this on the Cinnamon applet site, but might get quicker help here.

I've used an earlier version on another partition with great success, but I just installed the latest ver. 2.6 on a fresh LMDE - Cinnamon installation, and can't add/delete items from 'favorites'? Can someone point me in the right direction?


I have installed this applet a couple of times with no trouble. But just installed a newer version (2.6) on a brand new LMDE Cinnamon partition. I have it working ok, but can't add/subtract anything from the "Favorites" area? I un-installed and re-installed with no success.

I followed the intructions =
Other users:

Extract the classicMenu@dalcde file to ~/.local/share/cinnamon/applets

Then, as root, copy org.cinnamon.applets.classicMenu.gschema.xml to /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/

Finally, as root, run the command
Code: Select all
glib-compile-schemas /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas


No workie? :?
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Gnome 3.14 (SID)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby esteban1uy on Thu Apr 26, 2012 8:41 pm

You can install dconf-editor and then navigate to org.cinnamon and you'll see an entry named favorite-apps. There you can edit that entry to have the favorites you want.
Or, if you don't want to install dconf-editor, you can use a terminal to get or set the values:

Code: Select all
gsettings get org.cinnamon favorite-apps


Code: Select all
gsettings set org.cinnamon favorite-apps "['mintInstall.desktop', 'cinnamon-settings.desktop', 'virtualbox.desktop', 'gedit.desktop', 'gnome-screenshot.desktop', 'libreoffice-writer.desktop', 'gnome-system-monitor.desktop', 'gcalctool.desktop']"
Sorry, I only speak Spanish
User avatar
esteban1uy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:20 am

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby GeneC on Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:13 pm

Thanks esteban

I'll do that when I re-install 2.6.
In the mean time I grabbed an earlier version of 'Classic Menu' from another partition of LMDE, and that one lets me configure 'favorites' straight from the menu (right click-add to favorites).
This must be a bug in 2.6.. Or a 'feature'... :lol:

EDIT:
Actually your tip was a big help in re-organizing the 'favorites', in the old Classic Menu as well.
Good Tip.
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
Sparky Gnome 3.14 (SID)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby barryp on Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:21 am

@funnyman

Are you using LMDE?

Your error message looks like one I've seen. You need to make sure that you add the ppa using the correct address. I got a message like that when I tried to add a ppa using the Ubuntu style address, but that won't work with Debian.


ppa:bimsebasse/cinnamonextras


needs to be



You can read about it here:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=208&t=98316&hilit=cinnamon+ppa

I hope that this helps!
User avatar
barryp
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:14 am

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby moorewarner on Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:33 am

I agree with the sentiment to just make this the default menu in M13. The current Cinnamon menu has any? advantages, none that I can see. The Mint Menu was actually one of the first details of Mint that gave me a strong preference for Mint.
moorewarner
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 5:18 pm

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby craig10x on Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:38 am

Let me add another "wow" (like Clem said on his comments for this...lol)....you know, if you take this, and make it the same color as the original mint menu...and add some transparency... it would be the PERFECT default menu for Cinnamon (instead of the current default one)...Then it would look about the same as the original gnome 2 mint menu except on Gnome 3... :D
craig10x
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Classic mintMenu on Cinnamon

Postby DeanoBravo2zero on Sat May 19, 2012 2:27 pm

Loving the classic menu, works like a dream and is very fast, but would like to resize the whole overall size of the classic menu to make it larger.

Have tried the right-click on the menu box, menu settings. This only changes the size of the application/categories and favorites icon, Which doesn't work for my cinnamon DE anyhow (don't know if this is because im using the LM13 RC?)

Tried looking in usr/share/cinnamon/applets classMenu@delcde stylesheet.css but it looks to me it only changes the icon that i have just mentioned above?

Anyone know how to do this please?

Thanks
Dean
DeanoBravo2zero
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 5:15 am
Location: UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Shankaraya, snapman and 16 guests