LMDE '12 regression => No audio/sound/volume control

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

LMDE '12 regression => No audio/sound/volume control

Postby tkteun on Thu May 03, 2012 1:15 pm

I recently upgraded my LMDE machine to the newest version and I didn't do anything about the 121 obsolete packages which seem to be normal on Mint machines. I also installed the XFCE desktop since the other default desktop is just ridiculous.

Now I don't have any mixer program left.
There's no sounds configuration anymore (system sounds etc.)
There's no audio configuration tool (default cards etc.)
There's no way of configuring the mixer which is linked to my volume buttons and AVRCP.

The only audio I can get is by using programs like VLC which allow me to circumvent Pulseaudio and let me select which channel actually works.

Tips like pavucontrol or the rather similar 'gnome-control-center sound' started from CLI of course, only show "Internal Audio; 1 in / 1 out; Duplex" which isn't physically linked to any of my three onboard Ac'97, nor any of my six Creative SB channels. Or any channel from my TV card or CCTV card.

My problems seem rather similar to this 4 year old bug and I refuse to believe I'm going to have to manually look up which card I want to use and put it in /etc/pulse/client.conf or any of the ~/.pulse/ jungle files.

I've never had any of these problems before the upgrade.

Is Pulseaudio new on LMDE?
Isn't there any GUI way of configuring Pulseaudio?
tkteun
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:09 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE '12 regression => No audio/sound/volume control

Postby äxl on Thu May 10, 2012 6:12 pm

Your snotty tone let's me do this: http://letmebingthatforyou.com/?q=pulseaudio+xfce ;)
What's so bad about some Gnome or MATE dependencies? I hope you haven't removed gksu!

And what is "121 obsolete packages"?

Your chips are recognized correctly, right?
Code: Select all
cat /proc/asound/cards
My Linux history: Ubuntu 10.04 - 10.10 - LMDE 201109 - UP4 My sources.list/preferences

Computers is not science. And it's not magic - it's something in between.
User avatar
äxl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Germany

Re: LMDE '12 regression => No audio/sound/volume control

Postby mungoman on Fri May 11, 2012 9:44 pm

You probably aren't in the audio group anymore.
That happened to me after an update.
Open up the "User and Groups" admin gui, highlight yourself, click on "Advanced Settings", authenticate, click on the "User Privileges" tab, and then check all the permissions you need, in this case "Use audio devices".
To do it from the command line....

usermod -a -G audio <username>

I also lost my membership to the mail group which meant dovecot couldn't clear my mailbox after my pop3 client downloaded my mail, so I kept the receiving the same messages over and over again.
mungoman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 9:22 pm

Re: LMDE '12 regression => No audio/sound/volume control

Postby koll apraas on Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:04 pm

mungoman wrote:You probably aren't in the audio group anymore.
That happened to me after an update.
Open up the "User and Groups" admin gui, highlight yourself, click on "Advanced Settings", authenticate, click on the "User Privileges" tab, and then check all the permissions you need, in this case "Use audio devices".
To do it from the command line....

usermod -a -G audio <username>

I also lost my membership to the mail group which meant dovecot couldn't clear my mailbox after my pop3 client downloaded my mail, so I kept the receiving the same messages over and over again.


mungoman, that was a great piece of information. Thank you very much. :D
? = 2b / 0 2b
Could this be 1 of those times when 0 comes 2 mind ... ... ...?
That's IT! I'm hitting the hay :)


Image
User avatar
koll apraas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:18 pm

Re: LMDE '12 regression => No audio/sound/volume control

Postby B2oka on Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:27 pm

mungoman wrote:You probably aren't in the audio group anymore.
That happened to me after an update.
Open up the "User and Groups" admin gui, highlight yourself, click on "Advanced Settings", authenticate, click on the "User Privileges" tab, and then check all the permissions you need, in this case "Use audio devices".
To do it from the command line....

usermod -a -G audio <username>

I also lost my membership to the mail group which meant dovecot couldn't clear my mailbox after my pop3 client downloaded my mail, so I kept the receiving the same messages over and over again.


You are the man.
Thanks
B2oka
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:23 pm


Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests