how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and MATE

how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and MATE

Postby TomRoche on Sun May 06, 2012 6:50 pm

After upgrading UP3->UP4 I note conky runs at startup only under MATE, not Cinnamon. How to make that work for both? I see a description here about making it work under Cinnamon, but I'm still evaluating both desktops.
TomRoche
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and

Postby azertywarrior12 on Mon May 07, 2012 7:31 am

I can confirm that conky runs fine under Cinnamon just by adding it on the Startup Applications program. Although I did have a small problem because in my conky script I used sudo hddtemp so the script would always fail on start-up (because it would ask for password) then I added hddtemp to the sudo no password list and everything has been working fine.

Are you using any commands which require elevated privileges on your conky script?
azertywarrior12
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:17 am
Location: Belgium

Re: how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and

Postby äxl on Thu May 10, 2012 7:01 pm

Tom, Cinnamon and MATE use different Window Managers. Could be that you have to set up different .conkyrc's as well.
Maybe it is running. Check with System Monitor or in terminal with pgrep.

Depends also on how you start Conky. If you have it in Startup Applications make sure it's not unticked in Cinnamon.
In terminal you could look at ~/.config/autostart/<conky>.desktop and make sure it doesn't contain something like:
OnlyShowIn=MATE;
X-GNOME-Autostart-enabled=false;
etc.
My Linux history: Ubuntu 10.04 - 10.10 - LMDE 201109 - UP4 My sources.list/preferences

Computers is not science. And it's not magic - it's something in between.
User avatar
äxl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Germany

Re: how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and

Postby ChickenPie4Tea on Mon May 21, 2012 8:07 am

I couldnt get it to show up in Cinamon but it runs fine in Mate - I am just sticking with mate it seems to have less quirks for now.
ChickenPie4Tea
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:44 pm

Re: how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and

Postby TomRoche on Mon May 21, 2012 11:02 am

äxl wrote:In terminal you could look at ~/.config/autostart/<conky>.desktop and make sure it doesn't contain something like:
OnlyShowIn=MATE;
X-GNOME-Autostart-enabled=false;


No: my ~/.config/autostart/conky.desktop has

Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Exec=/home/me/bin/conky-startup.sh
Hidden=false
NoDisplay=false
X-GNOME-Autostart-enabled=true
Name[en_US]=conky
Name=conky
Comment[en_US]=desktop system monitor
Comment=desktop system monitor
TomRoche
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and

Postby azertywarrior12 on Mon May 21, 2012 11:09 am

May I ask what's the content of your conky-startup.sh?

To be honest, I don't think you even need it. This is the content of my conky.desktop shortcut and it works fine under cinnamon. :S

Code: Select all
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Exec=conky
Hidden=false
NoDisplay=false
X-GNOME-Autostart-enabled=true
Name[en_US]=Conky
Name=Conky
Comment[en_US]=Auto run conky
Comment=Auto run conky.
azertywarrior12
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:17 am
Location: Belgium

Re: how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and

Postby TomRoche on Mon May 21, 2012 11:18 am

azertywarrior12 wrote:what's the content of your conky-startup.sh?


Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
# This makes conky 'window' truly transparent when run from Startup Applications.
# Otherwise, window 'has shadow' == {!transparent && alwaysOnTop}
# sleep 10 && conky
sleep 20 && conky
TomRoche
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and

Postby äxl on Mon May 21, 2012 9:27 pm

My Linux history: Ubuntu 10.04 - 10.10 - LMDE 201109 - UP4 My sources.list/preferences

Computers is not science. And it's not magic - it's something in between.
User avatar
äxl
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Germany

Re: how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and

Postby NotoriousPyro on Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:10 am

Sorry for bumping a somewhat old thread but I solved mine by putting the following in /home/<user>/.profile (you could also put it in /etc/profile)
Code: Select all
conky -c $HOME/.conky/conky_right&


Where anything after -c points to your conky configuration file (don't forget to put the & or you'll be stuck on a black screen with only Conky).
Image
NotoriousPyro
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:29 pm

Re: how to make conky run @ startup under both Cinnamon and

Postby JeffF73 on Thu May 30, 2013 6:31 pm

NotoriousPyro wrote:Sorry for bumping a somewhat old thread but I solved mine by putting the following in /home/<user>/.profile (you could also put it in /etc/profile)
Code: Select all
conky -c $HOME/.conky/conky_right&


Where anything after -c points to your conky configuration file (don't forget to put the & or you'll be stuck on a black screen with only Conky).


I am using Linux Mint 15 Cinnamon 1.8
I used this method but instead of using your Code this is what I used in my .profile

Code: Select all
conky -c $HOME/*Username Here*/.conkyrc &


It all depends on what your conky file is named but this method works thank you NotoriousPyro
JeffF73
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 2:47 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests