No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby wshyang on Sat May 26, 2012 9:40 am

Hi all,

I've just installed LMDE on one of our old systems, and when it boots up all we get is a "Beep" sound. There is no sound at all, and no speaker icon displayed in the taskbar also.

Is there some process that I can follow to work out how to load the right driver for it? Thanks!
wshyang
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 3:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby xenopeek on Sat May 26, 2012 5:11 pm

Please open a terminal and share the output of the following command:
Code: Select all
inxi -SAxc 0
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15447
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby Oscar799 on Sun May 27, 2012 4:07 am

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8968
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby markymark12 on Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:25 pm

Hey All, can anyone in this thread help me? I have another thread going but I'm hoping that by sharing my information someone here can help me. Oh, and I've tried virtually ever solution posted but I'm open because I've been without sound for a week or more now.

Audio: Card nVidia MCP61 High Definition Audio BusID: 00:05.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24
markymark12
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 1:27 am

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby georgezilla on Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:13 am

Have no sound problem also.

inxi -SAxc 0 gets me:

System: Host: linux-desktop Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.6.3) Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Audio: Card-1: VIA VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller driver: snd_via82xx port: dc00 bus-ID: 00:11.5
Card-2: Creative Labs SB Audigy driver: snd_emu10k1 port: c000 bus-ID: 00:0b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.24

Have no sound on either "Card".
georgezilla
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:08 pm

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby zerozero on Mon Jun 11, 2012 8:31 am

georgezilla wrote:Have no sound problem also.

inxi -SAxc 0 gets me:

System: Host: linux-desktop Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.6.3) Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Audio: Card-1: VIA VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller driver: snd_via82xx port: dc00 bus-ID: 00:11.5
Card-2: Creative Labs SB Audigy driver: snd_emu10k1 port: c000 bus-ID: 00:0b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.24

Have no sound on either "Card".

you are in the wrong :lol: part of the forum, this topic is about sound problems in lmde and you are using maya. please open a topic to troubleshot your particular problem.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby georgezilla on Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:12 am

" ... sound problems in lmde ... "

Wow. No unicorns!

I can not leave further comment without being banned.

So.....

Wow. SIMPLY WOW!
georgezilla
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:08 pm

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby georgezilla on Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:19 am

Wow!
georgezilla
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:08 pm

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby Oscar799 on Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:55 am

georgezilla wrote:" ... sound problems in lmde ... "

Wow. No unicorns!

I can not leave further comment without being banned.

So.....

Wow. SIMPLY WOW!


???
No-one said anything at all about being banned - you were simply advised that you had posted in the wrong section and would be much more likely to get your question answered if you posted it in the Main Edition Support section
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8968
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby georgezilla on Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:29 am

Ok so let's try this again ......

No sound on either device. And inxi -SAxc 0 gets me:

System: Host linux-desktop Kernel 3.2.0-2-486 i686 (32 bit) Distro Linux Mint Debian Edition
Audio: Card-1 VIA VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller driver snd_via82xx at port e800 BusID: 00:11.5
Card-2 Creative Labs SB Audigy driver snd_emu10k1 at port d000 BusID: 00:0b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24

I have already tried completely removing Pluse ( as per instructions in viewtopic.php?f=197&t=60485&p=547731#p547731) and still no sound. So ......

Any Ideas?
georgezilla
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:08 pm

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby BostonPeng on Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:14 pm

Did a nuke and pave on my laptop to install the LMDE KDE respin, after the install I have zaro sounds. inxi gets me
Code: Select all
$ inxi -SAxc 0
System:    Host katia Kernel 3.2.0-2-486 i686 (32 bit) Distro Linux Mint Debian Edition
Audio:     Card Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller driver snd_hda_intel BusID: 00:1b.0                                                                                 
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.24   
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby zerozero on Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:33 pm

BostonPeng,
having a different card here (but google shows that for yours the "fix" is similar) the way i got it working is this >> http://www.webupd8.org/2010/11/fix-hda-intel-realtek-alc887-no-sound.html#disqus_thread
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: No sound in LMDE, how should I start debugging?

Postby BostonPeng on Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:29 am

Thanks ZZ. I wasn't sure where the best place to ask was. It turns out it fixed itself somehow because when I booted up this am my sound works fine. I'll definitely remember that link if I end up needing it again. How many rounds do I owe you now? :lol:
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Sound, Multimedia & Codecs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests