problem mounting network shares with local name [SOLVED]

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

problem mounting network shares with local name [SOLVED]

Postby nspboarderdude on Sun May 27, 2012 1:50 pm

I just upgraded my desktop to LMDE 64-bit from Mint 10 Gnome 64-bit. I am trying to mount a network share on my home server. On Mint 10 I had /etc/fstab configured to mount the shares with the local name "fileserver.local." However, now on LMDE it will not mount. Mounting using an ip address, such as 192.168.1.2, works.

I suspect something is wrong with more than /etc/fstab. To double check, I tried connecting with vncviewer and got similar results (I was able to connect using the ip but not fileserver.local).

More clues: I am able to connect via vncviewer using fileserver.local with my laptop running Mint 12 (64-bit cinnamon). Also, mounting shares on my desktop with ip addresses did not work until I installed smbfs.

I am trying to use the local name over ips. Any ideas?
Last edited by nspboarderdude on Sun May 27, 2012 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
nspboarderdude
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:26 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: problem mounting network shares with local name

Postby altair4 on Sun May 27, 2012 3:29 pm

Is avahi running?
Code: Select all
sudo service avahi-daemon status

If not start it:
Code: Select all
sudo service avahi-daemon start


EDIT: It could also be that port 5353 is not open.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6278
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: problem mounting network shares with local name

Postby xenopeek on Sun May 27, 2012 4:40 pm

Moved here by moderator
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: problem mounting network shares with local name [SOLVED]

Postby nspboarderdude on Sun May 27, 2012 5:56 pm

Thanks for your response. It appears that it was a problem with DNS. For anyone interested, here is what I did:

I noticed a difference in the /etc/nsswitch.conf files of my laptop and desktop. My desktop had a line that read
Code: Select all
hosts:    files dns


and my laptop had
Code: Select all
hosts:   files mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] dns mdns4


I changed the the nsswitch.conf file of the desktop to match that of the laptop, which gave the desired result.
nspboarderdude
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 1:26 pm


Return to Other networking topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests