[SOLVED] How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby Niks on Thu May 17, 2012 7:13 am

Well the title says it all. :)

Before I switched to LMDE I had a simple network in my home .
One main "server" running on mint 10 sharing media / software accessed by a few mint 9/10 PC's,an LMDE32, Windows XP,VIsta via eithernet and a few phones and laptops via wifi.
Of course each machine was able to share folders and files with each other as well.

This was done very simply and worked almost the same as the Windows work group network.
Since I have been using LMDE (32 and 64) I have been un able to connect anything at all. :roll:

Now I don't mind getting my hands dirty but no matter how much Googling I do I have as yet not found a single doc/vid which says " How to set up a network in LMDE " :|
Oh and this goes for Debian sites as well and I have given up with chat forums due to lack of knowledge or on some Debian chat groups just pure arrogance! :cry:

Now I understand that maybe a simply home network is not so interesting to many people but with the number of multi pc /consoles / handhelds in homes these days I think there should be some documentation / tutorial for LMDE on a MINT site!

So if anyone would write one or know where one is please let me know here then maybe someone else looking for it could find it! :mrgreen:

:idea: On a personal note I think in this day and age there should be a simple to use automatic network set up by DEFAULT and if your worried about security then just select "off at start up" !
Last edited by Niks on Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:40 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby altair4 on Thu May 17, 2012 7:55 am

My advice is to go through the following checklist first:
Samba Browsing Problems Checklist: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=88146&start=0

And the Debian section of this HowTo: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=23169&p=315218#p315218

If that doesn't do much for you then post the output of the following commands so we can see how you are set up:
Code: Select all
testparm -s

Code: Select all
smbtree
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6131
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby Niks on Sun May 27, 2012 7:08 am

Thanks altair4 :D

Thanks for link but for me it's back to square one....would be quicker to go to night school and learn how to create UNIX networks ( :idea: )

Below is the output from testparm -s your asked for ( all names have been replaced with fake ones for this post )

Code: Select all
NIKS@livingroom:~$ testparm -s
Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
WARNING: The "null passwords" option is deprecated
WARNING: The "password level" option is deprecated
Unknown parameter encountered: "update encrypted"
Ignoring unknown parameter "update encrypted"
WARNING: The "idmap uid" option is deprecated
WARNING: The "idmap gid" option is deprecated
Processing section "[homes]"
Processing section "[netlogon]"
Processing section "[profiles]"
Processing section "[printers]"
Processing section "[pdf-documents]"
Processing section "[pdf-printer]"
Loaded services file OK.
WARNING: You have some share names that are longer than 12 characters.
These may not be accessible to some older clients.
(Eg. Windows9x, WindowsMe, and smbclient prior to Samba 3.0.)
Server role: ROLE_DOMAIN_PDC
[global]
   workgroup = NIKSHOME
   netbios name = LIVING ROOM VIA SAMBA
   server string = Samba file and print server
   interfaces = 127.0.0.1/8, 192.168.0.0/24
   bind interfaces only = Yes
   security = ADS
   client schannel = No
   server schannel = No
   allow trusted domains = No
   null passwords = Yes
   obey pam restrictions = Yes
   guest account = anyone
   passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd '%u'
   passwd chat = *New*password* %n\n *ReType*new*password* %n\n *passwd*changed*\n
   passwd chat timeout = 120
   username map = /etc/samba/smbusers
   password level = 6
   username level = 6
   unix password sync = Yes
   log file = /var/log/samba/samba.log
   max log size = 1000
   name resolve order = wins lmhosts bcast
   time server = Yes
   client signing = No
   client use spnego = No
   socket options = TCP_NODELAY SO_RCVBUF=8192 SO_SNDBUF=8192
   printcap name = cups
   machine password timeout = 120
   add user script = /usr/sbin/useradd -d /dev/null -c 'Samba User Account' -s /dev/null '%u'
   delete user script = /usr/sbin/userdel '%u'
   add group script = /usr/sbin/groupadd '%g'
   delete group script = /usr/sbin/groupdel '%g'
   add user to group script = /usr/sbin/useradd -d /dev/null -c 'Samba User Account' -s /dev/null -g '%g' '%u'
   delete user from group script = /usr/sbin/userdel '%u' '%g'
   add machine script = /usr/sbin/useradd -d /dev/null -g sambamachines -c 'Samba Machine Account' -s /dev/null -M '%u'
   logon script = %G.bat
   logon path = \\%L\profiles\%u
   logon drive = m:
   logon home = \\%L\homes\%u
   domain logons = Yes
   os level = 80
   preferred master = Yes
   domain master = Yes
   dns proxy = No
   wins proxy = Yes
   wins support = Yes
   remote announce = 192.168.0.255
   remote browse sync = 192.168.0.255
   template shell = /dev/null
   winbind separator = @
   winbind cache time = 360
   winbind use default domain = Yes
   winbind trusted domains only = Yes
   winbind nested groups = No
   winbind nss info = no
   idmap config * : range = 16777216-33554431
   idmap config * : backend = tdb
   hosts allow = 127., 192.168.0.
   cups options = raw
   follow symlinks = No

[homes]
   comment = Home Directories
   path = /home
   read only = No
   locking = No
   strict locking = No

[netlogon]
   comment = Network Logon Service
   path = /home/netlogon
   locking = No
   strict locking = No

[profiles]
   comment = User Profiles
   path = /var/samba/profiles
   read only = No
   create mask = 0600
   directory mask = 0700
   browseable = No
   locking = No
   strict locking = No

[printers]
   comment = All Printers
   path = /var/spool/samba
   printable = Yes
   print ok = Yes
   browseable = No
   locking = No
   strict locking = No

[pdf-documents]
   comment = Converted PDF Documents
   path = /home/pdf-documents
   read only = No
   guest ok = Yes
   locking = No
   strict locking = No

[pdf-printer]
   comment = PDF Printer Service
   path = /tmp
   guest ok = Yes
   printable = Yes
   print ok = Yes
   printing = bsd
   print command = /usr/bin/gadmin-samba-pdf %s %u
   lpq command =
   use client driver = Yes
NIKS@livingroom:~$




And then we have smbtree

Code: Select all
Ignoring unknown parameter "update encrypted"


Hummm now that's interesting :wink:
User avatar
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby altair4 on Sun May 27, 2012 8:04 am

Step 1: Don't ever use gadmin-samba again.

Step2: Start over with a factory fresh copy of smb.conf:

[] Make sure the following file exists: /usr/share/samba/smb.conf

[] Make a backup of your current smb.conf
Code: Select all
sudo cp /etc/samba/smb.conf /etc/samba/smb.confMOD

[] Copy the backup copy to the working location:
Code: Select all
sudo cp -a /usr/share/samba/smb.conf /etc/samba/

[] Correct a mistake in the new one:

Find the line:
encrypt passwords = false

Could also be listed as No
and change it to:
encrypt passwords = true

Then restart samba:
Code: Select all
sudo service samba restart


Step3: If you want to actually create shares on the Linux machine for others to access you have a little more work to do because you are using Debian:
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=23169&p=315218#p315218

Step 4: I don't think so:
Thanks for link but for me it's back to square one....would be quicker to go to night school and learn how to create UNIX networks

Had you implemented or checked the things in the linked HowTo: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=88146&start=0

I would not see the following in the output of testparm:
netbios name = LIVING ROOM VIA SAMBA

It's 21 characters long - 6 characters longer than it should be - and please no spaces. The 15 character limit is a Windows rule not a Linux rule.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6131
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby Niks on Mon May 28, 2012 11:52 am

First and foremost thank you altair4 for your full reply.
It's nice to finally find someone that doesn't say "I DON'T KNOW" :roll:

Step 1: Don't ever use gadmin-samba again.

Then why is it in the Software list ? :roll:
Step2: Start over with a factory fresh copy of smb.conf:

I used sysnaptics to completly remove then install.I hope that's what you mean by a fresh copy ?
sudo cp /etc/samba/smb.conf /etc/samba/smb.confMOD

Returns
    unable to resolve host livingroom
as does
sudo service samba restart

but both commands seem to do what they we supposed to do.

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=88146&start=0
and
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=23169&p=315218#p315218

were the FIRST docs I read ....yes I missed the 15 character limit and I think the netbios name was changed why using Gadmin-Samaba which was my last resort because everything I had tried failed .

So I followed you said to the letter and got to this point.
niks@livingroom:~$ sudo service smbd status
sudo: unable to resolve host livingroom
[sudo] password for niks:
smbd: unrecognized service


Which like I said in the beginning "back to square one"

I do not find typing in 20 to 30 commands a easy way to "Simple File Sharing in Mint" and still don't understand why it has to be so difficult to set up something so simple in most operating systems.

Anyway I'll have another go with your procedure and see if I haven't made a mistake and try this on two other lmde PC's I have to make comparisons.
If you have any comments or tips to add please do .

Thanks for your help :mrgreen:
User avatar
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby altair4 on Mon May 28, 2012 12:17 pm

niks@livingroom:~$ sudo service smbd status
sudo: unable to resolve host livingroom

You didn't change the netbios name in smb.conf as I suggested you changed your hostname and you did it incorrectly. 2 files have to be changed not one and you may have to go to a LiveCD to fix it now becasue your ability to use sudo is not working correctly. The 2 files are:
/etc/hosts
/etc/hostname
I used sysnaptics to completly remove then install.I hope that's what you mean by a fresh copy ?

Completely remove and then install what? The Samba package? Smb.conf does not come from the the samba package. What I meant by fresh copy is exactly what I wrote after the ":". "[] Make sure the following file exists: /usr/share/samba/smb.conf ........"
smbd: unrecognized service

You're using Debian not Mint Main so it's not "smbd" it's "samba" as I stated in the HowTo:
Debian users should use "samba" which contains smbd and nmbd in one service.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6131
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby kwisher on Mon May 28, 2012 12:17 pm

If I am reading correctly, you had a LM-10 system acting as a Samba server and you have now switched to LMDE on this same system. Although my Samba server runs on LM-11, there should be no distro difference for Samba. Below is a working smb.conf file. The most important detail is to add each user to the server system and then add each user as a samba user, making sure their username and password match. You can use the gui "Users and Groups" app to add your users to the system but you will need to use the following cli command to add samba users.
Code: Select all
sudo smbpasswd -a [samba username]

ex. - if I am adding samba user john the command would be: sudo smbpasswd -a john. You would then be prompted for your password and then you would have to enter john's password twice.
Working smb.conf file:
Code: Select all
[global]
   workgroup = [name of choice]
   server string = [name of choice]
   log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
   max log size = 1000
   syslog = 0
   panic action = /usr/share/samba/panic-action %d
   socket options = TCP_NODELAY SO_RCVBUF=8192 SO_SNDBUF=8192
   preferred master = Yes
   hosts allow = 192.168.1.
   dns proxy = no
   security = user
   username map = /etc/samba/smbusers
   encrypt passwords = true
   guest ok = no
   guest account = nobody

[server]
   path = /media/server/server
   writeable = yes
   valid users =
   write list =

I have used this same smb.conf for years on various distros and it works for me.
Last edited by kwisher on Mon May 28, 2012 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby altair4 on Mon May 28, 2012 12:22 pm

Although my Samba server runs on LM-11, there should be no distro difference for Samba.

There's actually quite a bit of difference between the 2 mostly centered around guests: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=23169&p=315218#p315218
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6131
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby kwisher on Mon May 28, 2012 12:43 pm

altair4 wrote:
Although my Samba server runs on LM-11, there should be no distro difference for Samba.

There's actually quite a bit of difference between the 2 mostly centered around guests: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=23169&p=315218#p315218

Since I don't enable the guest account, I did not know about this difference. I only allow the users on my network access and I specify what file permissions they get. For example, I share out our digital pictures folder and I give full access to myself and my wife but I only give read access to my kids.
Last edited by kwisher on Mon May 28, 2012 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby altair4 on Mon May 28, 2012 12:51 pm

kwisher wrote:Since I don't enable the guest account, I did not know about this difference.

I figured that the moment I saw you had "map to guest = Bad User" missing from your smb.conf.

I'd be willing to bet most users are in a more peer-to-peer setup with samba so all they will do is open up Nautilus, right click a file they own, and select "share this thing" ( I'm paraphrasing a bit :) ) - Just like they did on WinXP. Mint Main allows that to happen - Mint Debian does not for a number of reasons. This process allows for an authenticated share but I would guess most users don't use it that way. If everything else is set up correctly they would never have to create a share in smb.conf itself.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6131
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby kwisher on Mon May 28, 2012 1:00 pm

I created a Samba How-To years ago when I was using LM-5. It is kind of dated but may be useful to our op.
http://www.kwdesign-consulting.com/Files/Samba%20How-To.zip
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
User avatar
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby Niks on Sun Jun 10, 2012 8:26 am

Ok almost solved and the story so far is :-

I can access my windows 7 PC and read/write from my LMDE 32/64 PC's :D
Can access my LMDE32/64 PC's from each other and Windows PC's :D
BUT can not share anything or my LMDE PC's as Nautilus only mentions the word share other then in the 'help" files. :cry:

Till now I have read every post and viewed every link and tried as many "possibly relevant" commands as I can find. Of course I must have missed something but I am applying all this knowledge to 2 LMDE64 and 2 LMDE 32 PC"s. In terms of hours it's a full days work now!!!!! :evil:
I know that LMDE is experimental and I have a list of issues which I accept need time to get sorted but a basic "simple network" that any numbskull can use should be default !

I'd be willing to bet most users are in a more peer-to-peer setup with samba so all they will do is open up Nautilus, right click a file they own, and select "share this thing" ( I'm paraphrasing a bit ) - Just like they did on WinXP. Mint Main allows that to happen - Mint Debian does not for a number of reasons.


YES altair4 that is what I am trying to point out here in the first place and had you read what I wrote in the beginning clearly you would have not repeated it 6 or so posts later :?
Plus kwisher was just offering an alternative solution and you "bit his head off" so to speak :|
Like I say I have read many of your postings and your knowledge is astounding and I'm sure everybody,including me are very grateful for your help :D
However please remember many people who read your posts do not speak English as their first language and may well come from very different cultures, therefore could very easily be offended by your "bed side manner".And if your are one of them then you should know better and reconsider some of your phrasing.
I have no intention to insult you with this post,in fact I would like to thank you the time and effort you spend,the help your provide on this forum and your support in the mint community this but having 11 stripes does mean your can be quite scary to newbs that come in and ask where's "start" button?

I really hope the mint team understand that losing the ease of a basic network set-up to communicate with Windows networks in LMDE will cost them users to standard mint or an other distros.
If you haven't noticed it seems you can't by anything these days that does not connect to a wired or wifi network so please make it a basic/default requirement!


Bye the way kwisher that's the best GUI (for people that read pictures not text ) "how to" I have ever seen online . In my last employ I made mine the same way in WYSIWYG= What You See Is What You Get . Even a 5 year old can use docs like that as it is not required to understand anything !
Maybe we should collaborate to make a new one for LMDE and let altair4 check it :?: I still have 1 32 bit PC and a 64 PC I want to update to Gnome 3 / Cinnamon :!:
User avatar
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ?

Postby altair4 on Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:29 am

Niks wrote:Ok almost solved and the story so far is :-

I can access my windows 7 PC and read/write from my LMDE 32/64 PC's :D
Can access my LMDE32/64 PC's from each other and Windows PC's :D

* You can access Win7 from your Linux boxes.
* You can access your Linux boxes from each other and from Windows.

It would seem to me that the issue is solved. So I don't understand the following quote:
BUT can not share anything or my LMDE PC's as Nautilus only mentions the word share other then in the 'help" files. :cry:

Please explain.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6131
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ? [SOLVED]

Postby Niks on Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:04 pm

Well I did everything that I should have but forgot one stupid detail at the end after I had done

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install nautilus-share
( why that is not installed when Samba is I do not understand :roll: )

Because I have a problem using SUDO in a terminal which I have not yet resolved I forgot to use the root terminal for
Code: Select all
sudo gpasswd -a your_user_name fuse


:oops:

I have now shared some things between a LMDE 64 and a LMDE 32 PC and seem to be cooking :D

Only one question, if I don't select Guest access then what name and password should I use to use that as a way of password protecting some maps on the system ?
User avatar
Niks
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to set up a network in LMDE (32,64) ? [SOLVED]

Postby altair4 on Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:08 pm

You need to create a user on the server.

Then you need to add him to the samba password database:
Code: Select all
sudo smbpasswd -a user-name


You can use your own user-name if you wish.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6131
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Ethernet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron