Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Releases and other announcements.
Please don't post support questions here
Forum rules
Section reserved for the team. You can reply to announcements here but not post new topics.

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby ChrisOfBristol on Mon May 28, 2012 5:33 pm

momist wrote:holiday tomorrow

Ian Thanks for explaining things simply and enjoy your holiday. Chris
Mint-17 MATE
ChrisOfBristol
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:01 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby ChrisOfBristol on Mon May 28, 2012 5:37 pm

cwwgateway wrote:gnome-session-properties

Adding it to the startup list doesn't work unfortunately, maybe other things happen afterwards which interfere with it. I tried it with and without the ampersand.
Mint-17 MATE
ChrisOfBristol
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:01 am

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby ChrisOfBristol on Mon May 28, 2012 7:06 pm

Ian

Your post all makes good sense and I think that is the way I would approach it if possible, but there isn't the room on the disk.

I given some thought to an alternative, and I could create a new / partition which includes a very small /home, and have my old /home as another partition called /realhome. After installation I could copy all the .config directory and all files in /home but not the directories into /oldhome over the dodgy ones that are there. Then reinstall but wipe out all of / including /home and use /oldhome as /home.

It wouldn't need much space and would be less risky than wiping partitions and relying on backups (not that you were suggesting that), but it's not guaranteed to cover the dodgy files.

Overall, your way would work but I haven't got room to do it, and there is room for my way but it wouldn't be sure of working and would still involve an element of risk.

I have found that Gnome3 works and although I would far prefer to use MATE I don't think it is sensible to risk my data to solve a configuration problem with it. I think I would prefer to wait until someone comes up with some utility or shell script that cleans out old configuration files for old desktop/window manager setups and maybe current ones. Even just a list of files and directories which could be tediously typed in and removed one-by-one would do!

So I'll stick with Gnome3 until there is a less drastic solution.
Mint-17 MATE
ChrisOfBristol
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:01 am

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby egabrum on Tue May 29, 2012 1:22 am

(1) Is it just me or the Software Manager is much slower in this release?

(2) Where should I report bugs?
I am sure this is an old question, but it's quite confusing with all the Launchpads, GIT, fora, Community, etc... I never know where to report bugs for Linux distributions and packages.


Thanks
egabrum
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:29 pm

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby xenopeek on Tue May 29, 2012 7:26 am

Problems you have are best first asked about on the forums for help. If it is then clear it is indeed a bug in the software, you submit bugs for Linux Mint developed applications to Launchpad. Except for Cinnamon, that goes to GitHub.

For applications not developed by Linux Mint, you may submit a bug in Launchpad, but it may be more effective to submit the bug to the developers of the application.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14540
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby RobertLM78 on Tue May 29, 2012 4:16 pm

I want to whole-hearted thank the Mint development team for another job well done on Mint 13 Maya :D . I just did my first test drive of Maya MATE Edition in a virtualbox last night, and I have to say- I am very, very impressed. I like that alcarte is there by default, and I like the Control Center - it seems very comprehensive. I had to install gnome-system-tools on Lisa to even get user management through the Control Center, and I see that user management is available by default in Maya - excellent. Thanks again to everyone that made this project possible :) !
Dell Dimension 4600i, ATI Rage 128, 1 GB RAM, Linux Mint 13 32-bit, MATE edition
Dell Latitude D400, Intel Graphics, 1 GB RAM, Linux Mint 13 32-bit, MATE edition
Gateway DX4860, Sapphire Radeon HD 5450, 6 GB RAM, Linux Mint 13 64-bit, MATE edition
User avatar
RobertLM78
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 4:19 am
Location: US

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby water spirit on Thu May 31, 2012 4:12 am

I have installed the Cinnamon 64 bit release on a Dell Laptop which has the optimus system and have both the Intel and Nvidia Graphics working and working really well. So I am very impressed with this release and intend to keep it in place for a long time. Thank you Linux Mint. :D
Image
Image
water spirit
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:32 am
Location: Queensland

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby kmb42vt on Thu May 31, 2012 12:07 pm

qhris wrote:What about gnome3, is it not to be implemented now? I kinda am used to it. :)


Gnome 3 is already installed for the Cinnamon version of Maya (Cinnamon is a shell for Gnome 3 like cwwgateway says in another reply). You're referring to "gnome-shell" which can be installed via the Synaptic of you wish.
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby unkilbeeg on Thu May 31, 2012 5:22 pm

I have the same question/problem about LM 13 that I had with LM 12. I never got a response when I asked about it on LM12.

Here's the issue: I've got local respositories for Debian and Ubuntu on my network, but only the amd64 architecture. I've installed LM13 (amd64) with MATE (which looks really good, by the way.) When I added in the local repository, the update manager barfs over missing i386 binaries.

Does the AMD64 edition of LM13 (and LM12, for that matter) require i386 binaries?

I've currently got about 100 copies of LM10 running, all 64 bit, and it seems to work fine with 64bit repositories. Do I really need to include binaries for an architecture I'm not using in order to make LM13 happy? What i386 packages are necessary?

I hope someone who knows the answer sees this question. I'm not sure where the best place to ask it is, since the places I tried before got no responses.
unkilbeeg
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:02 pm

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby theupendra on Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:26 am

I am sorry if I am posting this reply to wrong thread. I am new to Linux as well as new to Linux Mint Forum. Why this time Linux Mint 13 Maya don't have individual Gnome Shell Edition? It was great to get Linux Ming Gone Edition on Linux Mint 12 Lisa edition. I enjoyed it's looks and feel even it's been just 2 months. I tried to install Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon and then tried to install Gnome Shell but it lead me to many problems and it was almost impossible to use the desktop. Now, I again switched to Linux Mint 12. Is there any chances to release Linux Mint 13 in Gnome Environment like in Lint Mint 12?
Thank you!
Actually Mint is great to use! Fed up with Windows!
theupendra
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:15 am

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby ChrisOfBristol on Fri Jun 01, 2012 12:18 pm

theupendra wrote:Gnome Shell Edition?
I am using Mint 13 with Gnome Shell and it works fine for me, I didn't do anything clever, I think I just did
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install gnome-shell
then selected it when I logged in. I also had to install the menu editor to get the right applications to appear. I'm afraid I can't give you any more help, I can only tell you that it does work nicely and is worth persevering with - perhaps someone else will be able to help.
Mint-17 MATE
ChrisOfBristol
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:01 am

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby ausminter on Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:12 pm

I've just installed it and I love it.
How do I install extra applets ?
I tried by using add extra applets which took me to the spices site where I found what I wanted (touchpad indicator) then I clicked download, but it isn't showing up as an available applet.
Edit where do I extract it to ?
User avatar
ausminter
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:04 am

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby cwwgateway on Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:35 pm

ausminter wrote:I've just installed it and I love it.
How do I install extra applets ?
I tried by using add extra applets which took me to the spices site where I found what I wanted (touchpad indicator) then I clicked download, but it isn't showing up as an available applet.
Edit where do I extract it to ?

Extract it too ~/.local/share/Cinnamon/applets. ~ means your home folder and a folder with a "." in front of it is hidden, so you need to press "ctrl+h" to show the hidden files.
Dell XPS 15 l502x - Debian Testing 64-bit NetInst Xfce, SolydX 64-bit Debian Testing, SolydK 64-bit SolydXK Testing
Old Gateway Pentium 4 Desktop - Arch Linux 64-bit Xfce and SolydX 32-bit Sid
cwwgateway
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:44 pm

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby ausminter on Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:52 pm

cwwgateway wrote:Extract it too ~/.local/share/Cinnamon/applets. ~ means your home folder and a folder with a "." in front of it is hidden, so you need to press "ctrl+h" to show the hidden files.

Thank you very much.

This is the best Mint yet - congratulations to the crew
User avatar
ausminter
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:04 am

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby theupendra on Sat Jun 02, 2012 1:45 am

ChrisOfBristol wrote:
theupendra wrote:Gnome Shell Edition?
I am using Mint 13 with Gnome Shell and it works fine for me, I didn't do anything clever, I think I just did
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install gnome-shell
then selected it when I logged in......

I also did the same and selected Gnome while entering my password. But I got some kind of error and it took me to default desktop. I have no problems on default Cinnamon Desktop.
Any ideas?
Thanks!
theupendra
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:15 am

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby ChrisOfBristol on Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:53 am

theupendra wrote:I got some kind of error
It's difficult to know what the problem might be without a bit more information. Can I suggest that you try it again and make a note of exactly what the error was?
Mint-17 MATE
ChrisOfBristol
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 12:01 am

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby grml4d on Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:19 pm

i use the maya3d version : very good release , the menu is perfect , PERFECT .
next thing to do is to build drivers for all the hardware , like having an ati and a nvidia gfx using "proprietaries drivers" at the same time [with fedora i can have the proprietary ati and nouveau showing a f8 on the nvidia display] [ with current MintMaya3d i see a prompt on the nvidia screen]
i need that and a driver for my audio xfi hd from auzentech to deliver sound via hdmi .

like ubuntu and all others distro , you could try to recognize the hvr2200 http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/site/product ... 200mc.html and be able to set the correct value in the options file for the firmware and the card works
i edited the section : Making it Work Easily at http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/H ... V-HVR-2200
the kernel needs the firmware file : NXP7164-2010-03-10.1.fw and a value setting from 0 to 8 in the options file .
grml4d
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby chrnoble on Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:52 pm

Well, more frustration with Cinnamon.
I updated the Nvidia driver, and all was well... until reboot. At which time, things were messed up again. Looking at Nvidia-settings, under "x server display configuration", the resolution of 1024x768 saved, but "auto" did not. It switches back to 87 Hz (interlace), and I have to keep switching it back.
Incidentally, MATE has the same issue when downloading AWN.
Sigh. I'm going to have to give up on Nvidia, aren't I? The list of distro's that work smoothly with my driver is dwindling. Nothing wrong with nouveau, I can do 3D with it. But Nvidia just looks sharper.
chrnoble
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:31 pm

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby rfraser3 on Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:30 am

Using 32bit Cinnamon on a Novatech netbook; works great - thanks guys! :)
rfraser3
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 3:18 pm

Re: Linux Mint 13 "Maya" released!

Postby sdim on Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:35 pm

Great work, everyone.
Another polished release, this time with the long-awaited Cinnamon desktop,
which I must admit has blended in really superbly with all the other usual stuff.

Our thanks from the Linux Mint Greek Community.
MB:MSI 770 C-45 / HD1:500 GB-->Windows / HD2:320 GB-->Mint 17 Cinnamon
CPU:AMD X4 640 3.00 GHz / RAM:4.0 GB / VGA: NVidia GeForce GT630
User avatar
sdim
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:19 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Releases & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests