"could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutdown

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

"could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutdown

Postby pepperminty on Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:39 pm

Hello,

I've just done a fresh install of Mint 13 MATE on my computer. When I shut it down for the first time, I got this message:


could not write bytes: Broken pipe



What does this mean? It seems to be slowing down my shutdown process.

Thanks.
Attachments
broken pipe.JPG
broken pipe.JPG (67.91 KiB) Viewed 16857 times
Last edited by pepperminty on Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" <--message at shutd

Postby mf-linux on Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:17 pm

Same problem here with fresh install Mint Maya MATE x64 in a laptop Dell Inspiron XPS15.
Any help will be appreciated.
P.S.: Anyway, great distribution! Congratulations to the Mint team.
mf-linux
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:36 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" <--message at shutd

Postby andrewdonshik on Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:54 pm

I have that problem too on Cinnamon 13 x64
andrewdonshik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:35 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" <--message at shutd

Postby squeezy on Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:23 pm

I'm using a custom-built Mint 13 MATE setup and do not have this issue. I'm using the same Ubuntu base, kernel, etc. I have seen it on the two times I installed the regular Mint 13 ISO, so it must be something to do with one of the apps installed that I do not have.
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" <--message at shutd

Postby CtrlAltDel on Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:54 pm

I have this same issue, also. Is it a problem or not is the question. This message only flashes for a second or two and then proceeds with shutdown or restart and I notice no ill effects other than, of course, the message.

Mint 13 Mate 64bit
Image
i3-2120 Processor
Intel HD Graphics 2000
8 GB Memory - 1 TB HD
Mint 16 Cinnamon 64bit
User avatar
CtrlAltDel
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 7:01 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL., USA

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" <--message at shutd

Postby andrewdonshik on Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:49 am

I seem to have fixed it.

1. Boot into recovery mode
2. Repair broken packages
3. Hit the continue boot button
4. Log in to the desktop
5. Reboot
6. Log in normally

And it's gone!
andrewdonshik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:35 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" <--message at shutd

Postby piedradelnilo on Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:23 pm

Hello, I have the same problem, do not shut down properly and I sent the message can not write bytes: Broken pipe, nm-dispatcher-action Caught signal 15, shotting down. Modem manager [640] after [670]. I did the steps and there was Andrew. Somebody help me! I have a Toshiba laptop computer AMD64 1 Gb ram me gusto LM Maya
piedradelnilo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 7:39 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby andrewdonshik on Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:06 pm

It worked for me, and it seems to have worked for other people, but maybe not for everyone. That's all I have.
andrewdonshik
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:35 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby ilkaisha on Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:27 pm

Would you mind, andrew (or someone), breaking it down into even more basic steps?

Linux overwhelms me a bit. Usually my boyfriend helps, but my laptop keeps crashing on me and I'm working under a deadline. What do I do to repair the broken packages, or will it seem obvious when I get into recovery mode?

Aid for the noob appreciated most kindly. Thanks.
ilkaisha
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:23 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby ilkaisha on Thu Jun 07, 2012 7:59 am

Why, yes. It was very clear once I got there.
ilkaisha
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:23 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby kissinger on Fri Jun 08, 2012 9:16 am

I'm having the same problem - fresh Maya install last night with a few apps installed.
kissinger
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 10:53 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby MR-X on Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:46 pm

I had the same problem but after I Updated the problem went away. now it just hangs at shutdown with some funky errors talking about processor cores, sucks because I have had to do hard shutdowns because of it.
Last edited by MR-X on Mon Jun 11, 2012 8:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://techroulette.blogspot.com/p/linu ... ps-and.htm <<< Linux Mint 13 Maya "Cinnamon" LTS Tips and Links (QuickGuide)!| My Blog >>> http://techroulette.blogspot.com <<< Tech_Roulette ;)
User avatar
MR-X
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby Emegra on Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:42 pm

I get the same message although it doesn't seem to have any ill effect on the system so I'm happy just to leave it as is for now, this has to be a bug of some sort I'm sure it will be fixed in good time
Emegra
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:20 am
Location: Dundee, Scotland

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby MR-X on Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:32 pm

MR-X wrote:I had the same problem but after I Updated the problem went away. now it just hangs at shutdown with some funky errors talking about processor cores, sucks because I have had to do hard shutdowns because of it.


EDIT: Spoke too soon problem came back, did a repair packages, problem fixed for 1 shutdown, problem is back, cant even shut down my Machine without a hard shutdown :evil: im about to just go back to KDE and 7, seems Linux Mint 13 is becoming nothing but a Hemorrhoid, one bug after the other, ill be back using Linux Mint 13 when they decide to finally give a real fix for these bugs.
http://techroulette.blogspot.com/p/linu ... ps-and.htm <<< Linux Mint 13 Maya "Cinnamon" LTS Tips and Links (QuickGuide)!| My Blog >>> http://techroulette.blogspot.com <<< Tech_Roulette ;)
User avatar
MR-X
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby fl_rider on Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:40 am

I am getting a similar message on my new install.

could not write bytes: Broken pipe
modem-manager[805]: <info> Caught signal 15, shutting down...

Mint 13 Maya - Mate - x64
Toshiba Satellite - L305D-S5928
AMD Athlon X2
4 GB RAM
Conexant Modem

Other than this one issue I am totally pleased with Mint 13.

I can't leave anything alone so...

I went into Package Manager
Searched for modem
Found modemmanager
Marked it for Reinstallation and applied the changes
Told the system to "Shut Down"
I saw a whole bunch of lines looking for different modems on screen and then the system shut down.
I restarted the system and now when I tell the system to shut down I get the following error:

could not write bytes: Broken pipe
modem-manager[823]: <info> Caught signal 15, shutting down...

Hey, at least it isn't 805 any more ;-)


It's just conjecture on my part but I don't think my modem is being identified by the system.
Last edited by fl_rider on Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
fl_rider
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:04 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby dagon on Mon Jun 18, 2012 1:02 pm

When I do a search for "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" many hits are for bugs in Launchpad concerning Plymouth.
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/plymouth/+bug/521298
Got plymouth?
Image
User avatar
dagon
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:33 am
Location: Kungälv, Sweden

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby agoldenquill on Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:24 pm

fl_rider wrote:I am getting a similar message on my new install.

could not write bytes: Broken pipe
modem-manager[805]: <info> Caught signal 15, shutting down...


....when I tell the system to shut down I get the following error:

could not write bytes: Broken pipe
modem-manager[823]: <info> Caught signal 15, shutting down...

Hey, at least it isn't 805 any more


I'm getting the same message (not sure whether 805 or 823). Fresh install last night; received error every time I shut down/restart.

Running Mint 13 Maya 32-bit on Gateway L21 series netbook.

Tried the recovery/pkg repair above; still getting "caught signal 15" at shutdown.

BTW, not running Plymouth, never had it. This is an upgrade from Mint 8.
agoldenquill
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:27 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby Sleautzy on Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:34 pm

I'm on a fresh Mint 13 Cinnamon install, for the first couple of days I got the same error message, now the thing is, I installed Xfce and its what I've been using lately, and the message is gone, the computer shuts down normally, not sure if the problem fixed itself or is it because I haven't logged into a Cinnamon session.

I mean at first I would have ruled it out as beign a Cinnamon thing, but I see Mate users are having the same problem, so I don't know.

Later on I will try shutting down from a Cinnamon session and see what happens.

EDIT: Well now the error also appears when login out of Xfce, it seem what triggers the bug is not the shutdown itself, but the process of login out of a session.

Every time I logout I see this:

could not write bytes: Broken pipe
could not write bytes: Broken pipe
could not write bytes: Broken pipe

Yes, the message repeats three times, what could this be?
Sleautzy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby PN85 on Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:53 am

I have the same problem. :x

Thinkpad T400 (P8600, 4GB Ram, ATI HD 3470) with Maya (Cinnamon 64bit).

Edit: Ok, that was easy. Disabling the modem in the BIOS helped. :lol:
PN85
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:46 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby rtimai on Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:56 am

I have the same error message, also on a fresh install Mint 13 MATE/Maya.

Actually, MATE is starting in TTY8, not the standard TTY7, which appears to be not available. This can be verified after a cold start-- press Ctl-Alt-F1, and you should find yourself at the login prompt for TTY1. Press Ctl-Alt-F2, then -F3 and so on up to Ctl-Alt-F8. I think others will see the "cannot write bytes: Broken pipe" message in TTY7, and find that the desktop is running in TTY8, instead of the normal console TTY7. Apparently shutdown takes us back to TTY7 where we see the message that has been there since startup.

Right now this doesn't seem to be a serious issue for users, but it definitely appears that something is wrong. I don't know where this bug should be reported, because I don't understand anything about the console.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:
rtimai@HP-dv6-3012he ~ $ cd /dev
rtimai@HP-dv6-3012he /dev $ ls -la tty?
crw--w---- 1 root tty 4, 0 Jul 5 04:40 tty0
crw-rw---- 1 root tty 4, 1 Jul 5 04:40 tty1
crw-rw---- 1 root tty 4, 2 Jul 5 04:40 tty2
crw-rw---- 1 root tty 4, 3 Jul 5 04:40 tty3
crw-rw---- 1 root tty 4, 4 Jul 5 04:40 tty4
crw-rw---- 1 root tty 4, 5 Jul 5 04:40 tty5
crw-rw---- 1 root tty 4, 6 Jul 5 04:40 tty6
crw--w---- 1 root tty 4, 7 Jul 5 04:40 tty7
crw--w---- 1 root tty 4, 8 Jul 5 04:40 tty8
crw--w---- 1 root tty 4, 9 Jul 5 04:40 tty9
rtimai@HP-dv6-3012he /dev $

I changed the tty7 file's group permissions to rw as in tty1-6, but on restarting the tty7 file permissions are restored as above again. I think this is why the MATE desktop cannot start in tty7. Hopefully someone will see this and explain. Or fix it?
rtimai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:56 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 29 guests