"could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutdown

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby marko_s on Mon Jul 09, 2012 5:20 am

Yeah, I also have the same "broken pipe" message three times on my Mint 13 MATE, and has been there since the first boot.

But it doesn't seem to interfere with my normal desktop usage in any way, so for me it is just a cosmetic thing. Ubuntu also used to spit all sorts of cryptic messages and even errors on me at shutdown, but still worked like a champion :)
Linux Mint 13 Maya (MATE)
marko_s
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:36 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby acron1 on Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:21 pm

I have the same issue with broken pipe upon shutdown with no apparent problems... curious for a solution though...
acron1
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:42 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby MR-X on Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:38 pm

The updates like a month ago seemed to have fixed the issue for me, It has been shutting down normal for like a month now :D
http://techroulette.blogspot.com/p/linu ... ps-and.htm <<< Linux Mint 13 Maya "Cinnamon" LTS Tips and Links (QuickGuide)!| My Blog >>> http://techroulette.blogspot.com <<< Tech_Roulette ;)
User avatar
MR-X
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby pepperminty on Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:36 pm

MR-X,
Do you mean to say that you don't see the "Could not write bytes: Broken Pipe" message anymore?
Using Mint 13 Cinnamon
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby ink_inc on Mon Jul 16, 2012 7:33 pm

I'm running Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon and I have the same problem, where TTY7 has the "Could not write bytes" message, and the actual display manager is running on TTY8. I've also noticed that whenever I restart the display manager (which I used to do a lot whenever I switched to TTY1 and couldn't figure how to get back to my windows), the display manager is started on TTY7, and TTY8 is left blank.
ink_inc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:01 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby marko_s on Fri Jul 20, 2012 11:50 am

Hmmm. Now when I think of it, I haven't seen this "broken pipe" message lately (at least it doesn't appear every time I boot or shut down the computer).

Maybe some update actually fixed it? :wink:
Linux Mint 13 Maya (MATE)
marko_s
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:36 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby webtarget on Fri Aug 03, 2012 10:06 pm

I'm getting the same problem too. LM 12 was fine. Happens on my 2 HP laptops. But, my system still shuts down. Hopefully it continues to shutdown.
webtarget
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 10:20 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby webtarget on Fri Aug 03, 2012 10:19 pm

andrewdonshik note on how to fix it seems to work. Just go to Package Manager and fix broken packages.
webtarget
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 10:20 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby webtarget on Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:41 am

Message came back today after Fixing broken packages in Package Manager.

I was looking at the post about Plymouth. Is that a critical package? Can I remove it to see if that fixes the error message?
webtarget
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 10:20 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby PurplePants on Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:01 pm

I get this message at boot but it don't seem to have any adverse affect on the performance of my machine....
PurplePants
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:33 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby andyf on Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:12 pm

Yes, it's another 'me too!', only with a bonus...

I see the message at shutdown for about a second before (from memory) the modem manager catches message 15 and shuts down. I'm going to leave it alone because I'm not seeing any ill-effects.

In other respects Mint13 (Maya 32bit) seems pretty good although I'm a bit surprised at how many updates had to be installed (over 300 as of yesteday).

Here's the bonus:
For anybody still being plagued by unwanted screensaver blank screen after ten idle minutes when the screensaver is disabled the cure is
Code: Select all
xset s 0 0

in a terminal window.

To make it permanent you need to go to Control Centre>Startup Applications - then click +Add and put the above code in the command box. Give the command a name and comment then finally click +Add.

You can put whatever you like in the name/comment boxes but essentially you are disabling the x-server screensaver so it might be a good idea to mention that in the 'Name' or 'Comment' box.

Once you have that set up it will execute the command every time you start your machine,
andyf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:57 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby c0dehunter on Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:22 pm

This problem is still persistent.
c0dehunter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:44 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby puigpuig on Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:36 am

For me too, I have the same "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" at shutdown, and after 1 second it stops suddently.

It is with a Linux Mint 13 Maya just installed.

Any suggestion to solve this?
puigpuig
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:32 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby Incentive I.C on Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:08 pm

This is also happening to me too although it is not causing problem i try to ignore it. Also whats even stranger for me is that when the message comes it seems to shut down a bit faster than when it doesn't come up. It just appears at shutdown most of the time but sometimes it doesn't.Maybe an update will come out and fix the problem or rather bug. But for now I would just ignore it.
The best way to learn from it is break it OS's (is there a plural for OS?) included.
User avatar
Incentive I.C
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:20 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby c0dehunter on Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:45 am

I also have this and it makes me nervous since newbie users would probably think there is something wrong although it isn't. Please fix it.
c0dehunter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 5:44 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby redeemed on Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:41 pm

Running Mint 13 Cinnamon on dual boot with XP. Motherboard is Gigabyte M68M-S2P (Nvidia chip sets)
Started with "Cannot write bytes, Broken Pipe" message at shutdown. Performed steps below:
1. Boot into recovery mode
2. Repair broken packages
3. Hit the continue boot button
4. Log in to the desktop
5. Reboot
6. Log in normally

Still shows message at shutdown, and now shows same at startup in larger letters. None of the log files mentions broken pipes. It doesn't seem to be hurting anything, other than maybe adding delays to boot startup and sgutdown, so will follow and see what happens.
Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon on Dell Dimension 3000 Intel P4 2.8ghz 2gb ram
Intel 82865 dram/graphics/usb controller, Linksys WMP54G/2 Wireless PCI
"It's what you learn after you know it all that really counts."
redeemed
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 5:39 am

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby pc49 on Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:16 am

I have the same "broken pipe " issue and it shows up on Maya Mate,Ubuntu 12.04 and Mageia .
Mageia and Maya hang quite often which requires restarts which are very inconvenient.
I lack the expertise to tackle this so I'm reverting to Isadora which did not fail and hope that Nadia has no such problems in November
pc49
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:29 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby muzzie on Sat Sep 22, 2012 9:40 am

Hi

I'am getting the same thing as well is it anything to get worried about and should I try and fix it.
Don`t think its affecting anything that I can see.
I'am new to all this is it just a bug in the system, it was a new mint 13 mate instilation 2 day's ago so I have still got my windows head on.

Many thanks
muzzie
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:25 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby NoDude on Sat Sep 22, 2012 11:30 am

Me too. I'm using XFCE version. I'm forced to hold my power button to be able to turn off my laptop often.
User avatar
NoDude
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:22 pm

Re: "could not write bytes: Broken pipe" is message at shutd

Postby AvanOsch on Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:24 am

Hi all,

I SEEM to have found a solution...
(As there have been some before, I won't get too excited... :wink: )

It seems to be a problem with both LightDisplayManager and MintDisplayManager (LightDM and MDM)

The following seemed to fix it:
1) Open Terminal, and go root
2) Run the following code: (Replace mdm with lightdm if you use LightDM)
Code: Select all
dpkg-reconfigure mdm

3) Reboot (And see the "Broken pipe" message for the last time)
4) At this time the message was gone, but the Mint desktop did not load properly the first boot (Don't know if y'all will get this too)
5) Rebooted again, after which the desktop loaded properly too...

This seemed to fix it for me...
AvanOsch
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:47 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], Windowsfree2013 and 31 guests