[SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby xircon on Sat May 19, 2012 5:05 am

Thanks MT, I still can't compile Cinnamon here:
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/ld: warning: libffi.so.5, needed by /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/4.7/../../../../lib/libmuffin.so, may conflict with libffi.so.6
cinnamon_real-main.o: In function `cinnamon_prefs_init':
/home/molly2/Cinnamon/src/main.c:139: undefined reference to `meta_prefs_override_preference_schema'
/home/molly2/Cinnamon/src/main.c:141: undefined reference to `meta_prefs_override_preference_schema'
/home/molly2/Cinnamon/src/main.c:143: undefined reference to `meta_prefs_override_preference_schema'
/home/molly2/Cinnamon/src/main.c:145: undefined reference to `meta_prefs_override_preference_schema'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status


Did you encounter this?

And have never managed Muffin (think it is an AMD/ATI thing).
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Sat May 19, 2012 1:53 pm

xircon wrote:Did you encounter this?
No, just a harmless warning:

Code: Select all
$ grep -nr libffi.so logs/
logs/build-muffin.log:1317:dpkg-shlibdeps: warning: package could avoid a useless dependency if debian/muffin/usr/bin/muffin debian/muffin/usr/bin/muffin-theme-viewer were not linked against libffi.so.5 (they use none of the library's symbols).
logs/build-muffin.log:1349:dpkg-shlibdeps: warning: package could avoid a useless dependency if debian/libmuffin0/usr/lib/libmuffin.so.0.0.0 was not linked against libffi.so.5 (it uses none of the library's symbols).
logs/build-cinnamon.log:1149:dpkg-shlibdeps: warning: package could avoid a useless dependency if debian/cinnamon/usr/lib/cinnamon/libcinnamon.so debian/cinnamon/usr/bin/cinnamon were not linked against libffi.so.5 (they use none of the library's symbols).
Is there any chance you picked up libffi6 from experimental?

Edit: nevermind, I see the problem. You're building the `master` branch. You need to checkout `stable` instead.
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Sun May 20, 2012 9:52 am

The latest UP is just a couple lines of js.

patch-systray-applet
patch-magnifier
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby Cobinja on Sat May 26, 2012 2:38 pm

xircon wrote:Did you encounter this?

I did and I found the reason.

There are changes merged in src/main.c in the cinnamon repo on github (commit 7798c6a2e84f5c13d0bcbbdae917e7381b7a3e03) that refer to changes in mutter 3.4. Those changes are included in the contributor's muffin repo, but not (yet) included in mint's muffin repo. Because muffin is based on mutter 3.2.1, cinnamon can't handle stuff that is new in mutter 3.4.
Building cinnamon's stable branch (1.4UP3) is succesfull (for me).
Of course I'm out of my mind. It's dark and scary in there.
Cobinja
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 3:52 pm

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby xircon on Sun May 27, 2012 4:27 am

Thanks everyone, successfully built the stable branch and am now running UP3.

Cheers

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:14 pm

latest builds (muffin 1.0.4, cinnamon 1.4-UP3)

32-bit

64-bit
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby xircon on Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:19 pm

Thanks MT, downloaded and installed OK. Didn't notice much difference, new options in the settings program, that was all.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:12 pm

xircon wrote:Thanks MT, downloaded and installed OK. Didn't notice much difference, new options in the settings program, that was all.
I meant to package the NEWS file... and forgot. 8) :lol:

I noticed there's an option for "Cinnamon 2D" at login, and panel launchers bounce. Hopefully no more 800MB memory leaks.
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby Lippy on Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:09 pm

Thanks mockturtl! Works nicely on here. Weird padding on the text-based applets is fixed now (yay!). Things seem a little more polished. I'll have to experiment with the new Cinnamon 2D tomorrow. All in all, good stuff! :)
LMDE (tracking Testing) with Cinnamon; Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 (using Nouveau)
Lippy
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:28 pm

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby iLobster on Wed Jul 11, 2012 2:34 am

Thanks for the new cinnamon build -- now there is no more packets hold and I have evolution updated to 3.4.3 :)
iLobster
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:07 am

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:31 am

Latest builds (muffin 1.0.4, cinnamon 1.4-UP3). I haven't used it much yet; new features include notifications, expo applets. Check the included NEWS file.

32-bit

64-bit
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby xircon on Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:39 am

Thanks MT, all installed and working.

Steve

:Edit: Hover on expo applet does not appear to work, but not a biggie.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:54 pm

After a reboot, the UP5 cinnamon version (1.4.0-lmde2UP3) isn't working on my wheezy boxes (no panel, no window theme). It does run well on my incoming/UP5 machine. Anybody else?

A fresh build fixes me.

muffin 1.0.6, cinnamon 1.5.2@afe2029

64-bit
md5: 5d8b4563759efd9a274fb6b3369478b8

32-bit
md5: fce92a52e1e56c0d83aae794ccdbc506
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby squeezy on Fri Aug 03, 2012 12:27 am

mockturtl wrote:After a reboot, the UP5 cinnamon version (1.4.0-lmde2UP3) isn't working on my wheezy boxes (no panel, no window theme).


I took my UP5 test machine up to Sid this morning. Cinnamon is working OK, just the same problems I reported in the UP5 feedback thread. Settings and menu editor won't launch. Everything else seems fine so far.
squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby xircon on Fri Aug 03, 2012 4:05 am

Cheers MT, fixes minor problem of blank panel appearing (until mouse-over, when it populated and hid). My panel is at the top and set to autohide.

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby Lippy on Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:58 pm

Thanks for the update, mockturtl. Just upgraded from your July 3rd package, and all is well. :)

The glitchy systray icons appear to be fixed now. Was only a minor annoyance, but I couldn't find any other noteworthy bugs to mention, despite it being a snapshot build. The new notifications applet is awesome. It's reminiscent of the notification-daemon in Gnome 2 which I've missed.

There's only one bug I can find so far, but it's arguably a beneficial one. I have the panel set to Flipped (so it appears at the top) and the menu button on the top left of the screen. I also have the hotspot on the top left and set to Scale. Now, if I click on the menu button to open it, then bring the cursor to the hotspot at the top left of the screen, then click on the menu again to close it while keeping the cursor at the top left, the hotspot is then triggered, but I get the Expo view instead of Scale. Pretty cool bug imo. :lol:

Clem and the team have really outdone themselves with Cinnamon 1.5. Definitely the best version yet! :)
LMDE (tracking Testing) with Cinnamon; Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 (using Nouveau)
Lippy
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:28 pm

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby cmost on Sat Aug 04, 2012 1:24 pm

I just installed the latest builds, thank you! But, I notice that when I use the 'Classic Menu' and then try to add icons to either Favorites or the panel, Cinnamon crashes. After two or three such crashes, Cinnamon tanks and I have to log out and then back in. Any ideas?
AMD Phenom II 64 X6 1090T Black Edition Hexa-Core
8 GB DDR2 RAM
nVidia GeForce GTX 660
Sabayon Linux - KDE 4.x
Linux Kernel 3.14
cmost
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Newport, Kentucky

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby xircon on Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:09 pm

cmost wrote:I just installed the latest builds, thank you! But, I notice that when I use the 'Classic Menu' and then try to add icons to either Favorites or the panel, Cinnamon crashes. After two or three such crashes, Cinnamon tanks and I have to log out and then back in. Any ideas?


Sorry can't help, no problems here (MT's 3rd August build).
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby xircon on Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:12 pm

squeezy wrote:
mockturtl wrote:After a reboot, the UP5 cinnamon version (1.4.0-lmde2UP3) isn't working on my wheezy boxes (no panel, no window theme).


I took my UP5 test machine up to Sid this morning. Cinnamon is working OK, just the same problems I reported in the UP5 feedback thread. Settings and menu editor won't launch. Everything else seems fine so far.


Squeezy, what errors do you get if you run cinnamon-settings from a terminal?

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: [SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby iLobster on Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:57 am

I've installed latest builds of muffin and cinnamon, but there is a problem: no text at all in all elemets related to cinnamon -- menu, bars, etc.
iLobster
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:07 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: titianmom and 15 guests