wifi not working

Questions about WIFI networks and devices
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

wifi not working

Postby 2weiX on Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:03 pm

hi all,

i did use the necessity to buy a new comp to switch from windows to linux. mint13 was advised and now i am having some trouble getting the wifi running. it did connect for a minute using WEP, then disconnected. upon searching the web, i read that WAP should be used and then PRESTO, but that didnt work, obviously.

cpu: i3-2100
board: P8H77-I
bios: AMI v0307
wifi adapter: TP-Link TL-WN823N

now if I make a wifi connecton in the network applet, it wont even show up in the connections icon in the status bar.
so I knew this wouldnt be easy, but please be nice, I'll try to learn.

mintWifi with ethernet connected and without any wireless connections configured in the applet:
Code: Select all
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
eth0      no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 10:bf:48:7b:8d:da 
          inet addr:192.168.178.20  Bcast:192.168.178.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::12bf:48ff:fe7b:8dda/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:252972 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:147555 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:369824465 (369.8 MB)  TX bytes:11859595 (11.8 MB)
          Interrupt:43 Base address:0x6000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:412 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:412 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:35754 (35.7 KB)  TX bytes:35754 (35.7 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 64:70:02:08:6b:56 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2064 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1795 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:2513858 (2.5 MB)  TX bytes:234664 (234.6 KB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
utility, e.g. service smbd reload

Since the script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an
Upstart job, you may also use the reload(8) utility, e.g. reload smbd
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server:      192.168.178.1
Address:   192.168.178.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.102
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.113
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.138
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.139
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.100
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.101
2weiX
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: wifi not working

Postby remoulder on Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:40 pm

2weiX wrote:if I make a wifi connecton in the network applet

This is not how network manager works, do not manually create connections. You should select the network from the drop down list in the panel (tray) icon, the connection is created automatically.
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: wifi not working

Postby 2weiX on Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:58 pm

well,

since it would never work, i deleted all connections and made new ones. i also did some stupid stuff i read on the internet. now i reinstalled mint so i could walk the nice people of these here forums through my ordeal.

what i did:

- remove the wifi-USB
- remove the LAN cable
- install mint
- plug in the LAN
- run the updater
- google for "TL WN823N LINUX"
-- read some posts on the webs and didnt really know what to do (kernel updates what?)
- returned to here
- run mintWifi.py

here's the output:

Code: Select all
[sudo] password for dennis:
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 10:bf:48:7b:8d:da 
          inet addr:192.168.178.20  Bcast:192.168.178.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::12bf:48ff:fe7b:8dda/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2752 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2435 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:2640317 (2.6 MB)  TX bytes:377574 (377.5 KB)
          Interrupt:43 Base address:0x6000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:148 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:148 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:14113 (14.1 KB)  TX bytes:14113 (14.1 KB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
utility, e.g. service smbd reload

Since the script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an
Upstart job, you may also use the reload(8) utility, e.g. reload smbd
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server:      192.168.178.1
Address:   192.168.178.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.101
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.102
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.113
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.138
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.139
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.100



so needless to say, no WiFi connections found.

NOW

I will put in the USB WiFi stick. Watch!

So now my local WiFi network shows up in the lowe right hand tray icon pull-down (which goes UP, haha).
I righ-click, choose the SSID and it prompte me for a password which I happily supply.
Note: I have yet to be asked / confugured wether WEP or WPA or whatnot.

The icon in the tray still shows a LAN connection. If I rightclick it, it will show my WiFi network and an option to disconnect. When I chose "edit connections" it will correctly show that the connection is WPA/WPA2 Personal and the passwod supplied is correct. I will run mintWifi again for your (and my) entertainment:

Code: Select all
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"daibernet" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: C0:25:06:DB:E5:8E   
          Bit Rate=1 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=63/70  Signal level=-47 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:1   Missed beacon:0

eth0      no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 10:bf:48:7b:8d:da 
          inet addr:192.168.178.20  Bcast:192.168.178.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::12bf:48ff:fe7b:8dda/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4862 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3880 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:5218651 (5.2 MB)  TX bytes:524618 (524.6 KB)
          Interrupt:43 Base address:0x6000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:148 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:148 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:14113 (14.1 KB)  TX bytes:14113 (14.1 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 64:70:02:08:6b:56 
          inet addr:192.168.178.30  Bcast:192.168.178.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::6670:2ff:fe08:6b56/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:121 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:26471 (26.4 KB)  TX bytes:9528 (9.5 KB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
utility, e.g. service smbd reload

Since the script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an
Upstart job, you may also use the reload(8) utility, e.g. reload smbd
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...]
Server:      192.168.178.1
Address:   192.168.178.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.138
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.139
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.100
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.101
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.102
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.113


So there ya go.

I will now try the following: Unplug the Ethernet cable and see if I connect through WiFi.
I will continue my adventures in a reply to this post.
2weiX
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:25 pm

Re: wifi not working

Postby 2weiX on Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:06 pm

This is a continuation of the post above, for the whole story, read both posts plz!


So i works!

For about 20seconds. Then the connection to the web simply times out. I did get to watch 10 seconds of a Fedora Youtube Installation Vid tho. The Wireless connection keeps aking for my password again and again which I supply about 4 times, always ending up as "being disconnected" after not being able to establish contact.

Here's what mintWifi had to say:

Code: Select all

* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"daibernet" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: C0:25:06:DB:E5:8E   
          Bit Rate=150 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=63/70  Signal level=-47 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:210   Missed beacon:0

eth0      no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 10:bf:48:7b:8d:da 
          inet6 addr: fe80::12bf:48ff:fe7b:8dda/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4938 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3969 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:5251242 (5.2 MB)  TX bytes:553312 (553.3 KB)
          Interrupt:43 Base address:0x6000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:148 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:148 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:14113 (14.1 KB)  TX bytes:14113 (14.1 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 64:70:02:08:6b:56 
          inet addr:192.168.178.30  Bcast:192.168.178.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::6670:2ff:fe08:6b56/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4492 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2814 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:6363147 (6.3 MB)  TX bytes:314392 (314.3 KB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
^C-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached



I have plugged in the Ethernet cable and dismissed the next popup from my wireless connection.

Three other devices (a netbook, two android phones) are connected to the internet via this router (Fritz!Box72xx) without a problem.

Any ideas?

To round it up, another mintWifi output:
Code: Select all
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
eth0      no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 10:bf:48:7b:8d:da 
          inet addr:192.168.178.20  Bcast:192.168.178.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::12bf:48ff:fe7b:8dda/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:6025 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4646 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:6319405 (6.3 MB)  TX bytes:639697 (639.6 KB)
          Interrupt:43 Base address:0x6000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:169 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:169 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:15984 (15.9 KB)  TX bytes:15984 (15.9 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 64:70:02:08:6b:56 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4492 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2845 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:6363147 (6.3 MB)  TX bytes:324190 (324.1 KB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
utility, e.g. service smbd reload

Since the script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an
Upstart job, you may also use the reload(8) utility, e.g. reload smbd
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server:      192.168.178.1
Address:   192.168.178.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.139
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.100
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.101
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.102
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.113
Name:   google.com
Address: 173.194.69.138


2weiX
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:25 pm

Re: wifi not working

Postby 2weiX on Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:32 pm

I'm still feeling kinda dumb laying out a 20m LANcable thru the hallway each night.

2 Bitcoin for he who solves my problem.
2weiX
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:25 pm

Re: wifi not working

Postby paraipan on Sat Aug 11, 2012 4:09 am

Reposted from https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic ... msg1091851

As you can see here, and being able to see a 10 second video, the adapter works just fine:

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 64:70:02:08:6b:56  
         inet addr:192.168.178.30  Bcast:192.168.178.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
         inet6 addr: fe80::6670:2ff:fe08:6b56/64 Scope:Link
         UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
         RX packets:4492 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:2814 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
         RX bytes:6363147 (6.3 MB)  TX bytes:314392 (314.3 KB)


But you're doing a few things that aren't exactly optimal:

- you are connecting to the same network by cable and wifi, which confuses the OS at kernel level having to decide which gateway to use when sending the packets, so you get timeouts or lack of connectivity. Solution: stick with only one method from OS start-up, and I mean don't connect the Ethernet cable at all if you want to connect through Wifi

- your router is configured to use channel 2 "Frequency: 2.412 GHz" which isn't optimal at all, always try to use odd numbers so you don't get interference with neighbor's AP using channel 1 for example

- I don't know your channel usage from other neighbour AP's, but it matters. I see your getting very poor quality
Link Quality=63/70  Signal level=-47 dBm

Solution: change AP channel to a less used one, so you get a better signal and forget about disconnects. If that doesn't help and you are to far from the AP maybe you need another router in repeater mode.

Hope it helps.
paraipan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 4:07 am

Re: wifi not working

Postby 2weiX on Sun Aug 12, 2012 2:27 am

Fritz! WLAN USB Stick works flawlessly.
The biggest, most expensive and ugliest of them all.
2weiX
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:25 pm

Re: wifi not working

Postby debmat on Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:19 am

I can confirm that TP-LINK TL-WN832N does not work correctly with GNU/Linux.

I could establish a connection on xubuntu 12.10 64-bit but it was lost again after a few minutes. My notebook and android devices have no problem with the wifi connection.

There are also some (german) comments on Amazon indicating that at least v3 of the stick does not work with Linux.
debmat
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:59 am

Re: wifi not working

Postby MaverickJester on Sat Nov 17, 2012 12:03 pm

I'll throw in my two cents here and try to help.

I was reading another post on the same kind of problem. User keeps getting prompted for wifi password and disconnects. You also mentioned you were running Windows previously. Did yo see if your router was set to use WPS? This is probably on by default and it is supposed to make connecting to wifi "easy" but its not. Maybe for Windows users it is ok. May not help but I would turn that feature off in your router and give it a shot.
User avatar
MaverickJester
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:16 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests