Big problem: no mint menu, cant do anything after fresh inst

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Big problem: no mint menu, cant do anything after fresh inst

Postby Kozz on Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:30 pm

So I did a dualboot option trough windows with wubi.

When it loads it says something like AU.... (i forgot) mintmenu cannot load. And something with Ice.

And that caja needs read and write acces.

But yeah, i cant do anything, dont have a menu. And when i tried to load firefox trough alt 2 it didnt boot.

So there must be some serious issues. Tried twice, same problem. And cannot switch to gnome desktop even on login, only mate, last session and something with user i think.

Is it because I encrypted the files?

It was a "custom install" for the 32bit version to get wubi to work, found here:

viewtopic.php?f=42&t=106922

Did everything it said and installed it into /dev/loop2 root disk

Mint works fine from live cd and had a previous hd install without any problems
Kozz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:28 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Big problem: no mint menu, cant do anything after fresh

Postby oobetimer on Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:23 am

User avatar
oobetimer
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:53 pm
Location: Finland / above the Arctic Circle

Re: Big problem: no mint menu, cant do anything after fresh

Postby Kozz on Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:18 am

so wich one do i choose here? I want it on the 160gb one. Windows 8 loader or dev/sdb2.

Cause the other guy in the tut said it needed to be installed in loopx where it says ext4

Image
Kozz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: Big problem: no mint menu, cant do anything after fresh

Postby Kozz on Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:25 am

Ok, so just on ata st3xxxxxx I guess

But if i want to unistall mint, is the mbr reverted to normal as well?
Kozz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:28 pm

Re: Big problem: no mint menu, cant do anything after fresh

Postby Kozz on Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:05 pm

It was indeed the encryption that caused a problem. Now it works fine inside windows mbr.
Kozz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:28 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests